Want more power outa TD6i Patrol

Submitted: Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:11
ThreadID: 25851 Views:2491 Replies:9 FollowUps:4
I have just returned from a 5 month trip around Aus and found my Td6i could of done with a bit more grunt( pulling 17.6" coramal full size offroad van roof rack ect),B4 i left i fitted 3" exhaust and drop pipe made a noticeable difference but feel i could do with a bit more,i have been told injection timing on gu has been slightly retarded from my old gq4.2 td,does anyone know of a diesel fuel pump shop in WA who has done this type of after market upgrading any advise would be apreciated
Maurie

Reply By: ACDC - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:27

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:27
Standard turbo is to small for the job.
AnswerID: 126683

Reply By: Sarg - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:52

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 20:52
probably worthwhile having a talk the the blokes at United Fuel Injection at 479 Gt East, Hwy Redcliffe 9479 7400. seen some pretty good results come out of there
AnswerID: 126690

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:32

Wednesday, Aug 24, 2005 at 21:32
Maurice,

I had my 2000 4.2 turbo Patrol upgraded, by MTQ in Toowoomba but aparently they are supposed to have distributors all over Oz. Maybe a check on google will inform you if there is a distributor near you.
Like you I already had the 3" pipe and dump pipe installed before MTQ went to work on it, to me it made a difference (better) in power but the greatest difference was in the torque, much much better.
I mainly had my vehicle worked on to stop the overheating, which so far has worked. I also got the added benefit of greater pulling power from the engine. I could not be happier with the result in the 25 - 30 000 km travelled so far since the upgrade.
I have no association with MTQ and do not benefit from this opinion of mine.
It is an expensive excercise to get, in your case somewhere between 10 and 20% increase in power. These figures are at a guess with the exhaust mods already undertaken by you, they are similar to what I got from my upgrade with same exhaust on my vehicle before I started.

Regards Trevor.
AnswerID: 126702

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 01:35

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 01:35
G'day Trevor

Just wish Roachie would follow your example Trev and stop clogging the forum with his cooling/heating diatribe.

If I have told him once, I reckon I have told him umpteen dozen times about your situation and the fix that finally did it.

Must be the Kadina water or something. (ROFLMAO)

Ken Robinson
FollowupID: 381302

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:58

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 14:58
Onya Ken......keep telling me ; I might eventually learn. (after all, I'm still working for the same employer after 35 years, so it would be fair to say I don't pick things up real quick ;-))

Hooroo

FollowupID: 381375

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 15:03

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 15:03
G'day Ken,

Good to hear from you again. I think Roachie is waiting to see how mine goes this summer before he thinks about shelling out another 2.5K on his truck. Why not when you have someone else as the guinea pig.
Defineately feel the work done on mine is money well spent, so far.

Cheers and will talk soon.
Trevor.
FollowupID: 381377

Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 15:54

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 15:54
Roachie,

I think it takes most of us that long for some things to sink in. HaHa

Cheers mate.
FollowupID: 381387

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:10

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 11:10
Give Denco an email.
They are a site sponsor, they would be able to put you onto someone who can help you out. They also have agents round the place.

They were the only ones out of 4-5 so called experts that could actually get more neddies out of my GQ 4.2.

Denco Diesel
364 Edward St Wagga Wagga NSW 2650
Phone: (02) 6925 4348 Fax: (02) 6925 3314
Email Query Web: a href="http://www.dencodiesel.com/">DENCO DIESEL WEBSITE
AnswerID: 126775

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 16:08

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 16:08
Maurice,

Check back through the archives....... Bloke on here (from Qld) did a LOT of work to his brand new TD6 right from the time he bought it, kept if for a while then had to flog it (to another EO Forumite in Melbourne from memory). He got it running beautifully and was not happy to sell it.

AnswerID: 126817

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 18:19

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 18:19
Maurice

Posts 23809 and 23300 will lead you to what Roachie is talking about.

Check out Browny's rig pic of the new TD6i
AnswerID: 126832

Reply By: JR - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 20:21

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 20:21
Maurice,
I support the MTQ Toowoomba upgrade, increased power and torque by around 20-30% (on the dyno), and drives really well. Before this I also wasted money on two fuel pump shops with little benefit.
Do the job right the first time, these guys do a great job, they have dealers around the country
JR
AnswerID: 126854

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:09

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:09
why is everyone telling home about a joint in Toowoomba,

This bloke is in West Aussie.
AnswerID: 126888

Reply By: at4x4 - Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:50

Thursday, Aug 25, 2005 at 22:50
There is also a pump mod which fits the nissan pump with toyota internals, for some extra fgrunt along with doing a 4" dump pipe, 3" exhaust, and the turbo upgrade.

Cooma Diesel in Canberra are some of the most switched on guys out there, and use Denco, may be worth a call, Zdave webster is always happy to speak techo on the phone.
AnswerID: 126903