Submitted: Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:19
Member - Roachie (SA)
G'day all,
Hoping somebody can save me from having to figure this out for myself.....
I'm gunna make up a loom for when I put in these new globes I got off ebay for 1 cent (plus $11.50 postage from Hong Kong).
What I need to know is which pin on the H4 globe is the earth/negative/common. I'm looking at the back of the globe.....there is a vertical pin at the 9 o'clock position, another at the 3 o'clock position and a horizontal pin at 12 o'clock position. It won't really matter which is high beam or low beam as those 2 wires will be easy to wire up to the dual output relay I will buy. (one of those New Era relays with 2 separate outputs).
Thanks in advance
Reply By: Outnabout David (SA) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:31
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:31
I don't know the answer to your question Roachi but at 1c. each I hope you found a bank manager for a loan.........lol
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:53
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:53
Not 1c each David...........1 cent for the pair!!! lol
They are blue coloured glass. The main metal body is stamped "60/55"; but the packaging stipulates "130/110w.....Warning only to be used off road or in show cars etc etc"
They came in the same fancy plastic box that you see in auto leccy shops etc.
I don't know any good bank managers....hahaha
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:49
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 10:49
No time for this Roachie, get back to work!!! LOL..
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:09
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:09
Can always find time for 4by talk Michael..... lolol
Reply By: rolande- Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:09
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:09
G'Day Roachie,
This may help
H4 wiring
Rolande
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:14
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:14
Thanks Rolande, that is perfect.
Follow Up By: rolande- Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:23
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:23
Roachie,
Would be a little concerned about the difference in wattage between the globes and the packaging.
Mine were definitely described as being ADR Compliant, yet had the same small sticker on the box you mentioned. The globes are stamped 100/90W though
Rolande
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:29
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 11:29
Rolande,
I know what you mean and I share your sceptisism. However, I reckon that even if they only turn out to be 60/55, if I take the time to put in a better loom with heavier wiring than the cotton-like stuff that manufacturers use these days, I've gotta get a brighter light result (hopefully).
Thanks again mate
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 12:14
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 12:14
you can buy proper 130/90's for $12ea... saw some at the servo the othernight
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 12:18
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 12:18
hope070 ( 4427) this the seller he has heaps for 1cent!
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 13:59
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 13:59
the sdtring is actually not too bad, the insulation is highly compressed xlpe, so it doesnt need to be so thick and the wire is low resistance so not so large.
Ihave the 130/90's in
mine theyre pretty good
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 14:07
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 14:07
Bonz,
Obviously you have no problem with the higher wattage melting the light body/reflectors etc?? That has been the only thing concerning me about putting in these higher wattage globes.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 14:10
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 14:10
Nah no problem at all mate, and I tested the plugs I pulled off to work out what did what
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 14:57
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 14:57
Bonz (Vic) posted this followup
the sdtring is actually not too bad, the insulation is highly compressed xlpe, so it doesnt need to be so thick and the wire is low resistance so not so large.
did anyone understand that? But I did get a techno chubby from it.
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:14
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:14
hahah T-man what I meant was, size doesnt matter....these days
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:26
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 15:26
im not touchin that one
Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 21:04
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 21:04
You can buy pre wired looms from pirahna. Not cheap, but
well made and all bits included. (Superloom)
Reply By: Exploder - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 16:43
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 16:43
Gday Roachie
I suspect that the globes you have brought are a copy if not Philips Crystal Vision, these globs put out a colour temperature of 4300K or equivalent wattage of 130/120.
Remember colour temp is not the same as lumina basically how far the light will travel so the globes will not throe light much further than the standard globes, but it will illuminate the coverage area much, much better than standard globs.
4300K is almost the same colour light as the sun’s light.
They take a little getting used to, also the darker it gets the better they work so around town where there are street light’s they are not that good but out in the bush they are excellent, that is until you put the spotlight’s on and that basically drowns them out.
Just a note. A guy I know used to run 100W globes in his bike he then put the Crystal Vision in and he said the light did not go as far but the distance that was coved was brighter and clearer than with the 100W globs in. This was on night runs between Kalgoorlie and
Perth.
Reply By: Utemad - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:32
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:32
Hi Roachie,
We had a Narva rep come to one of our club meetings once. I am 99.9% sure he said that you can't put higher wattage globes in a GU Patrol. The headlights are made of polycarbonate or something and will melt. Not just the reflectors but the whole headlight.
I'd be double checking as those lights look expensive.
Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 19:43
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 19:43
Utemad, you are correct, they will melt or distort over time if they are polycarbonate reflector’s, How ever his follow up post say’s that they are stamped 55/60W that is the wattage of the globe, in these globes they use a different gas and a special glass that put out a higher colour temperature of 130/120W or 4300K. So the wattage is the same as regular globes, but the colour/ frequency of the light produced is equivalent to a 130W globe.
This dose not mean the globs are the same as 130W globes far from it it just means that the frequency of the light is the same as a higher wattage globe, The globes lumina (Strength/ distance the light will travel) out put is still the same as a standard 55/60W globe.
Put simply it is a 55/60W globe that will produce a brighter/ stronger light.
Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 01:02
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 01:02
I doubt the polycarbonate lenses will last long enough to be affected by the extra heat generated by the globe anyway!!
They will yellow and scratch to the point of being unroadworthy within 1 year ;)
And by then, you'd want the 130W globes as a minimum!
polycarbonate ??
*sheesh!*
Follow Up By: Utemad - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 07:59
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 07:59
The rep showed us various polycarbonate headlights that had been used with higher wattage globes. All the lens parts were as Arthurking83 described.
Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 18:23
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 18:23
ill have a set as well please ill post you 2cents plus postage
thanks mate.