Reversing buzzers in a bulb
Submitted: Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 17:13
Member - Bill S (NSW)
HI Guys, came accross a nifty thing and safety minded,fitted a bulb with a buzzer into my 80 srs every time reverse is engaged the buzzer sounds. Has anybody else came accross this little bit of beaut safety bulb????
Regards BILLS
Reply By: robak (QLD) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 17:37
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 17:37
try post 25597
Reply By: crewser - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:08
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:08
are they the ones from repco for $13??
Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:45
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:45
Will it improve my fuel economy??
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 10:04
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 10:04
What a stupid question... of course it will..
Follow Up By: cokeaddict - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 11:49
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 11:49
Fairdinkum ...u guys r nuts...but a grat laff anyway.....ty
Ange
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:58
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:58
Opposite Lock in
Adelaide have them for $7. Saw one there yesterday. I use one and its fine.
Most auto accessory
places stock them at anything up to $20. You can also just buy a buzzer from Jaycar and wire it in.
phil
Reply By: Ray Bates - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:58
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 18:58
Yes had one for about a year now in my 80. Got it from SCA. Still going strong
Reply By: Russel & Mary - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 20:02
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 20:02
I hooked one up to my handbrake cause I was always driving off with it on. The kids hated it but after 12 months it packed up and I've now been cured. Rus.
Follow Up By: See You - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 20:10
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 20:10
Your handbrake must have been stuffed. I can never drive off if it is put on properly.
Maybee you should get your handbrake adjusted so it actually works.
See You NT
Follow Up By: Russel & Mary - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 20:36
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 20:36
It is a Navara. Unless you jamb it on hard you could get to top gear before you realise you've no-where to put your stubby. Rus.
Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 13:03
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 13:03
Crikey, for a moment there Russell, I thought you'd hooked one up to Mary :)
Reply By: gforse - Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 20:42
Friday, Aug 26, 2005 at 20:42
HI BILLS WE USE THEM IN MINING 4X4 ALL THE TIME 1 HINT IS TO PUT A DOB OF SILASTIC ON END OF BULB SO IT TOUCHES THE PLASTIC PART THIS STOPS ANY MOVEMENT WHICH SEEMS TO CAUSE BULB TO BLOW HAVE HAD OURS IN LUX NOW FOR 2 YEARS CHEERS MATE GARRY
Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 09:59
Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 09:59
Why are you shouting mate? I'm not that hard of hearing.."What's that? " "Come again" I know I'm a pain :-) Have fun RockyOne
Reply By: arthurking83 - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 00:49
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 00:49
If there is one wish I could have............
I wish all car makers connected those annoying buzzers to the brake pedal.
Then all those morons that drive on freeways with their foot on the brake every 2 minutes might realise what they're doing!!! (wrong)
They would possibly be connected to a front mounted sensor that would be calibrated to indicate that THERE IS NO CAR IN FRONT OF YOU FOR 1 KILOMETER.....STUPID!!!
I feel better now that's off my chest :)
I reckon go to Jaycar/DSE and get a piezo buzzer for $1.50 connect it to the reverse light and save yourself some 'dough'.
I hate those, beep...beep...beep, buzzers :(
Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 02:47
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 02:47
You have so nailed that, if there is anything that causes more havoc on a highway than your average "brake tester" I'm yet to find it.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: G-wizz - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 09:07
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 09:07
So they shouldn't use their brakes to stay below the speed limit?
Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 12:01
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 12:01
Of course not. That would cause havoc amongst those who like to
check the rear of your vehicle for microscopic scratches in the paintwork. Just being helpful of course :)
Follow Up By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 13:36
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 13:36
Hello G-wizz & gramps,
Just re-read my post and realised it probably caused more confusion than clarity.
I was more referring to those two rare beasts we all meet on the highway,
The one that's right foot is never still. It continually cycles from full throttle to full brake as a means of controlling speed.
And then there's the other variety where the brake lights are never off. You know the one, so safety concious the right foot is on the loud pedal and the left is always on the brake. Usually the left hand is on the handbrake as backup. They'll only ever drive an automatic because a clutch forces the left foot to be somewhere else.
Enjoy your travels,
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: gramps - Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 14:14
Saturday, Aug 27, 2005 at 14:14
You're fine Geoff. I agree with you about the 'nutters' you've described. There's all types out there from leadfoots to those who can barely outrun a speed hump. I just try to smile and enjoy the scenery whenever I encounter one ( starting to get a sore mouth though! ).