Plastic Jerry Cans

Submitted: Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 01:00
ThreadID: 2594 Views:1443 Replies:6 FollowUps:4
Has anyone experienced any problems carrying 20ltr plastic jerry cans (such as the rheem ones) horizontally on a roof rack ie. leaking seals etc. Not sure whether this is a stupid question as maybe this is the only way to carry them up top?? Anyone have thoughts on multiple 10ltr v's 1/2 as many 20ltr cans?

Reply By: ray91 - Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 01:00

Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 01:00
I have used them before, they swell up, expand a lot left in the sun and you have to remove the caps to let the pressure out several times a day otherwise they burst (Rheem black ones). Ray
AnswerID: 9656

Follow Up By: Moggs - Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 01:00

ray91 - would you use them again, or would you recommend another brand?
FollowupID: 4997

Follow Up By: Axel + Karen - Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 01:00

Yep, had the same problem, now use steel.
FollowupID: 5002

Axel + Karen - By changing to steel jerries - does this remove the need to vent the cans completely and the associated expansion problems??
FollowupID: 5005

Reply By: ray91 - Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 01:00

yes the steel cans dont blow up like ballons.
AnswerID: 9666

Reply By: ROX - Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 01:00

Are we talking fuel or water or both?
AnswerID: 9668

Unleaded Petrol - looking for alternate storage to long range tank.
FollowupID: 5006

Reply By: bruce.h - Friday, Dec 13, 2002 at 01:00

Gday Moggs
probably not a good idea to carry such heavey items on your roof as it increases your centre of gravity making your 4x4 less stable to drive, better off puting in a second tank if you can fit it,also if it is plastic i would check on the legality of carring fuel in plastic containers
Regards Bruce
AnswerID: 9676

Reply By: felix - Monday, Dec 16, 2002 at 01:00

Monday, Dec 16, 2002 at 01:00
i used to carry leaded fuel in black plastic jerry can and, yes,it did expand but i found that filling it up to its recommended level meant it never burst. in fact i have never had one burst but maybe i was just lucky.
AnswerID: 9777

Reply By: Member - Keith - Monday, Dec 16, 2002 at 01:00

Monday, Dec 16, 2002 at 01:00
Mate, Consider 10ltr stored upright (I use the Rheems) rather than the 20ltr stored on their side. Reason: lower profile, no worries about leaking caps and easier to handle. Because my truck is on LPG, I need the extra unleaded fuel for some trips. I carry these (5x10ltr) on the roof rack in a specially constructed metal tray...never, never in the cabin! Sure the centre of gravity is affected, but I always use the roof rack fuel as soon as possible on a trip. Hope this info helps. And by the way, as indicated in previous replies, the containers do expand in the heat if not full....and contract in the cold....so easy off the cap if the containers are stored empty.
AnswerID: 9792