what 0.5 watt uhf pack should i get ? dse,uniden,exc
Submitted: Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 19:00
sxc_thing
hey guys (girls) what pack should i get??? dunno wat do i go for not buying online from dse or big w!!!! looking at uniden two for 55 bucks or 4 dse brand for 148bucks so much radios out there
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 20:25
Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 20:25
Didn't you have another thread about this going elsewhere?
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 20:27
Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 20:27
what do you expect from it? Cause you wont get much at all for $50 for 2....
Reply By: Exploder - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 20:57
Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 20:57
Neither, spend $300-$400 and get a good GME or Uniden unit that will serve a purpose.
0.5-Watt UHF, what is the point??
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:04
Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:04
I agree..
Although we actually use these cheap crap units at the club property for the kids when they go walkin down around some of the tracks..
Sometimes some of the
young teens take kids walkin round the tracks (they are almost in yelling distance of the hut) its pretty much their purpose.
Follow Up By: Utemad - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:28
Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:28
The small units have heaps of uses. Most recently we used them to keep in contact on a ski field.
Great for listening int the vehicle conversations when 4wheeling while taking photos etc.
Reply By: TassieDave - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:28
Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:28
G'day
I actually have the uniden two for 55 bucks
uhf radio's and find although they work quite
well they flatten the batteries even when they are switched off, next time I would buy the uniden rechargable twin pack which can be left in the charger till required.
Follow Up By: Michael O'Reilly - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 19:13
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 19:13
Thanx Tassie Dave. Have the same set and am so over switching flat batteries. I've been blaming my 5 year old but seems it's not his fault. Why do they go flat when they're off??????
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:50
Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:50
I have the dse twin pack which was about $79. What ever u get make sure u get one with rechargable batteries or u will be cursing a lot.
Mine has a twin cradle to recharge the units.
Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:20
Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:20
We used to use ,5 watt uniden( the older bigger unit same wattage), they are great between vehicles, but if you get a few bends between them and 500..600metres, they drop out fast. general car to car is clear and good cheap communication.
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:48
Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:48
Don't get the half watt ones.
Try the 2 watt Uniden.
Shop around a bit. A colleague bought one last week and haggled at Retravision getting the rechargable version (can still take AA's too) for about $148.
2 watt is much more usefull.
I have one in the glove box as do many I travel with. Just the ticket for coordinating a retrieval by HEMS for a trail bike rider with a fractured leg in the high country earlier this year. Gadge parked his truck up where CDMA reception could be had, went down and treated and packaged the patient and took the hand held and relayed info to another colleague back at the truck who coordinated the winch extraction of the patient via HEMS via CDMA with the
Ambulance control center in Wang.
Worked a treat. Course travelling with paramedics does have it's advantages...
Reply By: sxc_thing - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 07:35
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 07:35
yes i did but im going to a daytrip which im help running and there will be about 500 kids there just want them for the leaders cause there is bad recption on a mobile unless cdma like me so we can talk and if sum one gets hurt or exc every one will know then we have about 15 now need 20 as there is 20 leaders going to be there thnaks for the help
Follow Up By: Member - John C (QLD) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 08:12
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 08:12
Just a small point sxc, but I find your emails hard to read.
Could you please use some full stops and commas for older eyes like
mine?
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 10:50
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 10:50
I've got both the Uniden UH036 with the AAA batteries and an older Uniden UH-040 with the AA batteries.
The UH040 unit with the AAs lasts for ages on batteries or rechargables - much better radio.
I find them very useful when you're out of the vehicle, and want to listen; Also I'll put one on scan when out in
the desert and theres a few people around.