Info Req'd

Submitted: Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 19:40
ThreadID: 25945 Views:2565 Replies:5 FollowUps:26
Evening all

I need assistance with a slight conniption in my 1997 Troopy's Heater control system.

The airflow controler linkage's on the drivers side of the interior heater box came 'unglued' 2 days ago.

Just stiffened up and went bang ( I know! don't go there) for no obvious reason.

An inspection by hanging upside down under the dash using a mirror and torch, revealed that the linkage system had disengaged cams and a metal slider thingo way up the top in 'no mans' land was bent at right angles and hanging in mid air plus the controller cable had disengaged from the retaining clip. (that was the Bang I think).

Whatever, I now have to get the sucker out and fix it.

(1) has anyone done this.

(2) if so, can you get that module of the heater/set up out without having to take the whole dash out.

(3) it appears that the section directly between the gear sticks/selectors and the fire wall area may be seperate from the rest and designed to come out without taking the whole dash out.

Any advice/info is welcomed and thanks in advance.

Ken Robinson

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 20:25

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 20:25
Trade it on a patrol. :P
AnswerID: 127227

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 20:30

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 20:30
Shyte Truckster....you took the words right outa me mouth!!!!!

His troopie has got more gadgets on it than anything I could even dream of.... Poor bloody thing; no wonder it has chit itself at last!! ...Blew it's pooofer valve by all accounts.....hahahaha

Never mind Ken, you should be able to find a 2nd hand patrol....."any" patrol would be an improvement on what you've got now..hahaha

FollowupID: 381745

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:04

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:04
Yes, that sounds like a sure fix :)
FollowupID: 381749

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:37

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:37
Unbelievable

A simple cry for help instantly reaches the 'anti yota antennae' of the 3 Muska-idiots and they just can't help themselves.

I'm a bit gob smacked actually that your brother-in arms, the dux of the Terang College Of Anything and Everything hasn't joined you.

However, don't stress as I am going to take your advice and get me one of those 2001 3.0L GU's that are going real cheap.

I'm told I can get more S H I T, expensive gizzmo's that don't do anything in one of those 3.0L than Roachie has in his 4.2, and they have this great inbuilt physiotherapy plan where you have to strip the whole vehicle back to a bare chassis to get at the Headights so that you can put your El Cheapo 1c Blue meanie globes in. Then put it all back together again. Hell! your muscles, dexterity etc etc all get a work out for free.

And apparently they come with wheel nuts so tight, you have to get your best mate around at midnight to take them off for you, just so the neighbours and kids can't see you going red in the face and doing rude things in your pants because you can't get the Nissan approved anti theft wheel nuts off. Ooooooooooooh I love Nissan

Also the good old GU is a bonus here in Melbourne, has it all over the poor old Toyota when it comes to providing heat to keep you warm. You have convinced me Roachie that I really need one of these 'hot' GU mothers just like yours here in Melbourne.

Oh! nearly forgot, the Nissans are a very tough machine, especially when a little old tyre decides to shred itself, hell! you only lose the back quarter of your rig that costs an arm an small leg to fix, not to mention the stress on Mum and kids who think its their last breathing moment.

Yep! tomorrow morning first thing I'm off to the Local Nissan dealer to find me one of these GU 3.0L suckers so that I can ROtheFandLMAO and walk next door to the Yota dealer and find out how to fix my heater controller.

PS

the EX-OZ BBQ at Cardinia (VIC) today had a good turnout, great weather and very nice people.

Eric and Nick turned up so we were all entertained to their high standard as usual.
FollowupID: 381755

Follow Up By: G-wizz - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:42

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:42
Woah! Chill out Lucy. They have Toyota envy.
FollowupID: 381757

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:54

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:54
G-whizz you are on the money.

However Roachie doesn't have yota envy, I have consulted my psychiatrist about Roachies penchant for one of every thing, especially those expensive ones that don't do much, like the 'water wetter', the red or green coolant fiasco, Shuu-Roo (the list just goes on) and the Psych said he definitely has an envy complex that can only be best described on this forum as part of the male personna starting with a 'p'. (little in his case.

Brew well the aliase and profile pic says it all ( and Dawn has him completey under her spell)

Truckie, well he gave up a perfectly good EX-OZ B-B-Q today to take his son bike riding, which I thought was excellent as it shows he really is one of those SNAG guys and as we all know NISSANS were designed for the SNAG market.
FollowupID: 381759

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:20

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:20
PMS?
FollowupID: 381761

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:37

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:37
It's past your bed time, now git off there pronto.

I can feel a drinks and fine dining night coming on(SNAG-ese for you), so when the anitbiotics finish (2-3 weeks I think) for this elbow thing I currently have, I'll drop a post about Capt A's where I'll tell you how I fixed Japans finest piece of 4WD technology ever - the Troopy.

FollowupID: 381764

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 14:08

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 14:08
Ok.... I'll bite.... who is he??? "the dux of the Terang College Of Anything and Everything hasn't joined you."

Oh.... and I was going to ask about the "conniption" but someone beat me to it, however dictionary.com didn't come up with anything on it at all!!!

And.... sorry, but I can't answer the original question, I didn't think anything on/in Toyota's break anyway????
FollowupID: 381814

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 14:50

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 14:50
I think the reference may be to the venerable Mr Bonz, Brian.
FollowupID: 381816

Follow Up By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 18:39

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 18:39
I was serious.
FollowupID: 381845

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 19:11

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 19:11
Yeah! Brew, and thats the scary bit.

Have you cleared this with Dawn. I mean, is she aware of what you get up to on the Net, or do you keep her in the 'dark' so to speak.

I have to stop right now otherwise I will be at it all night.

Catch you for a beer in a month or so. Need more Kms on that fine piece of American technolgy.

K
FollowupID: 381850

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:11

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:11
IT is a well known fact that anything and everything has its use by date. On a yota this date is approx 6 weeks before it hits our shores. On a troopie its about 8 milliseconds before it hits the ground after jumping a cattle grid on the Eldee road.

Ken, I would never be so trite as to suggest you replace the venerable with the undestroyable, rather it is more fun watching as you cram an ever increasing array of gadgets and gizmo's into something designed to take the lot.

Roachie may have one of everything, but a small p i doubt.

FollowupID: 381971

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:23

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:23
So Geoff, are you suggesting that Roachie doesn't have a 'p' at all, or just that it's not a small one. And how do you know so much about it?
FollowupID: 381980

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:28

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:28
HOW I know isnt the point Mr Bat, first name Wom.

What I do know is that someone with such a revered following in the banking trade cannot would not and does not have anything inferior in that capacity. I base this on his good wifes great judgement.

FollowupID: 381982

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:38

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:38
So . . . . what the luverly Mrs B is saying is that anyone senior in the banking industry is either
a) a really big 'P'
or
b) has a really big 'P'?
FollowupID: 381983

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:41

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:41
Well not Mrs B but Mrs R but same outcome.

FollowupID: 381985

Reply By: G-wizz - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:34

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:34
Real men (Toyota owners) don't need heaters.
AnswerID: 127236

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:41

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:41
Its not the heater so much as the airflow direction thingo.

You know ! the one that has a series of levers and cams to open and shut the internal vents so that you can get air in your mush when the dog
F A R T S , or on the wind screen when it fogs up.

Right now there tain't much of an air flow at all.
FollowupID: 381756

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:21

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:21
My camper had a simular problem but as i recall it had the selector fairly easy to reach so it could be changed without too much hassel but i just put it in one position and left it (aircon never worked but thats another story)
FollowupID: 381762

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:40

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:40
Thank you for the sane answer Davoe.

It must be something about me being born in S-Cross and living my earlier life in ML to the sth.

I think we speak the same language not like my ' 3 wise men' friend over here in the East.

FollowupID: 381766

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 23:02

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 23:02
That's as weak as cat's pyss...blaming the poor phryggin dog for the F A R Ts that YOU do......

And as for the direction and temperature of the airflow in your troopies cabin.....well what can I say.... it comes out where the sun don't shine and it's always hot as hell and has a green tinge about it....hahahaha
FollowupID: 381771

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:17

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:17
Can you get to it by removing the glove box

FollowupID: 381975

Reply By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:55

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 21:55
"conniption"????

I have a fair command of our language but had never heard this one.

According to my (sorry, my Son's prize for academic achievement) very large Collins English Dictionary this word is US/Canadian slang for a fit of rage.

If you're going to use slang (and of couse I would never do so LOL), how about something Australian?

I have numerous suggestions, none of which I will submit here.

Cheers you old bastard/sod/mongrel/wanker/ etc LOL,

AnswerID: 127240

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:13

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:13
Jimbo

Missed your ugly puss at the EX-OZ BBQ at Cardinia today, especially seeing as how it was right in your backyard so to speak and you said you WERE coming. Very nice it was.

Now! I reckon you are going to have adopt the nick of FIG-JAM from now.

Why! because if you had been there when it happened and the subsequent hanging upside down under the dash in the drivers side whilst I was determining what had happened, you would have experienced the 'conniption' first hand.

What I really need is for someone to tell me what I asked in the first place , however I think its going to be a trip to Lanes first thing tomorrow and I might try a few 4WD wreckers (No! not Tructster or Crazie) and see if they have any ideas of a 'slick' fix.

Catch U at the next beer & burger/pizza night

FollowupID: 381760

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:44

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:44
More yank slang.

Ugly "puss"?

I'll happily accept being called ugly, because I am.

Seriously though, sorry I missed it today. I left a message with Adam. Jenny has not recovered well from surgery and we had her specialist out at his rooms this morning to attend to her.

She had been looking forward to the Picnic and I had to force her to stay in bed, as per Doctor's orders.

We'll definitely make the next night out.

FollowupID: 381767

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:26

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:26
Conniption is actually taken from a Warner Brothers cartoon, featuring Daffy Duck as "Duck Dodgers in the 21st and a half Century" and Marvin the Martian.

It has been colloquially linked to the process of doing something that one considers unnerving and unprovoked, or unexpected.

It is most definitely not American as an Australian ex-patriot was working for WB at the time the phrase was coined, he went on to become famous for the Aeroplane jelly jingle amongst others.

FollowupID: 381981

Reply By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:57

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 22:57
Ken whilst I have not had this particular problem I have taken out sections of the dash to fit various gadgets etc and have looked at the heater / air control levers and stuff.

I think you may have to find your trusty screwdriver and start to disassemble the dash, also as you mention the air module is also in several bits so it should not be to difficult to get out.
Being a Troopy (Thank God) its no big hassle they are easy as to get behind so you won't have to many dramas.

AnswerID: 127243

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 23:03

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 23:03
Thanks for the reply and I'll let you know how it goes.
FollowupID: 381772

Follow Up By: Member - John (Vic) - Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 23:12

Sunday, Aug 28, 2005 at 23:12
Cheers Ken, Good Luck.

FollowupID: 381773

Reply By: flappa - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 14:31

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 14:31
Cant really help with a cure , but share your pain.

the Heater controls in my old Pajero have suffered the same/similar fate.

Cant get to the bugger to fix it.

Heater works fine , just cant direct it. Defrosting the windscreen in Winter mornings here in Canberra is a real task.
AnswerID: 127307