buying a cape york trailer

Submitted: Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 16:32
ThreadID: 25963 Views:7643 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
hi folks,

has anyone out there had any experience with cape york trailers( extreme explorer ). it's a lot of money, and would like to hear any pros & cons that might help us in our final decision.

thanks,johno.

Reply By: mfewster - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 17:34

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 17:34
G'day Big Red
We have an Adventurer with TJM 2000 suspension, heavy duty brakes, water tank, awning, toolbox and stone guard on front. This is a seriously well built trailer. Extra heavy duty and pretty well bomb proof. We live in Central Oz and nothing we have been over, or have been game to go over, is a problem for it. Really, and I mean really, solid.
Some design issues however. The locking system on the back swing out tailgate is strong, but the twin bolt action is a pain to use, especially as the door almost always fouls on the tent covering and you are trying to slide upper and lower bolts in(against spring resistance) while pushing tent cover up clear of the door. Needs three hands.
I reckon the stone guard at the front is too vertical plus the tool box and spare carrier need a rethink as the wind resistance is considerable.
The plastic cover over the tent top when travelling billows too much. I'm going to copy another owner who I saw who had a piece of shadecloth cut to size of folded down tent top with eyelets in each corner and half way along each edge. They pulled this down tight with big OKKIE straps and reckon that solved the problem.
The lifter springs that assist in raising the camper top to access storage work very well and I think are essential.
The tregg coupling on ours requires the pin to be pushed down though a poly block and this can be very hard to push though. Must be kept clean and lightly greased.
Check the metal protection around the tail lights on the model you are getting. I wouldn't have minded some protection below the lights as well as above.
The weight on the front draw seems a bit high. I could be wrong about this, but i feel the water tank underneath should be a fraction further back. More on the water tank, we got a lot of stones and mud lodged between the plastic tank and the steel bash protector. We gave sealed the gaps up and that seems to work. There is no way of telling just how much water is left in the tank. This is an issue because for H/way running you probably want to minimize weight by not carrying more water than you want.
Be aware of the weight of these units. This thing is heavy. If you need that sort of strength, it delivers. If you don't, it's a lot to drag around. Get a decent sized Jockey wheel on the front, it helps when manouvering by hand, especially on uneven ground
It tows, reverses and brakes beautifully. Stabilty on really rough stuff and corrugations is outstanding. Things just don't get shaken up inside.
The canvas quality seems excellent (we have had ours 4 years. Waterproofing, ventilation are excellent.
I have looked at many campers and I haven't seen another model that is stronger.
We'd get another, but I think it will outlast me.
AnswerID: 127329

Follow Up By: big red car - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 18:42

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 18:42
Dear mfewster,
Thanks for the reply, we are looking at the extremem explorer- which is a hard floor rear folder - so we should not have the tail-gate issues nor will we have the plastic cover over the tent problem. Our spare tyre is on swinging carrier on the back of the trailer, that should take some weight off of the draw bar.
On the front of the kitchen unit is a water tank level indicator so we should know how much water is on board. I will have a look at the angle of the front stone shield as you mentioned. It is fitted with the large size 10inch swing away jockey wheel. The over all weight of the camper trailer is approximately 920kg plus gear. That should not be a problem because we are towing it with a 62 series cruiser fitted with a 6.5lt V8 diesel motor.
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. As I said it is alot of money so the more information I can gather the better. Regards Big Red Car.
FollowupID: 381847

Reply By: Paul - OzRoamer Camper Trailer - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 18:48

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 18:48
Hi Johno
We are the National Distributors for CYT. I own the Extreme Explorer myself and also hire out a fleet of Hard Floor models including the Extreme. The quality of these trailers gives us the protection and peace of mind to be able to HIRE these to customers. We have had 4 do Cape York this year without problems.

With the 60mm stub axle, 12 Inch Electric Brakes and 3300kg rated parallel bearings we offer the strongest running gear on the market. The Extreme now comes in an Alloy body which drops 120kg in weight.

Consider the second 100Amp battery, the battery management system and the Alloy storage rack when you are thinking options - these are necessary in my opinion.

If you have any questions or would like to inspect the Extreme please dont hesitate to give me a yell.
AnswerID: 127337

Follow Up By: big red car - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 18:57

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 18:57
thanks paul,

We will keep you in mind, but I put up the post to see if there were any reasons why we should NOT buy an extreme explorer , thanks again.
FollowupID: 381849

Reply By: Elsewhere9 - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 20:47

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 20:47
Hi Johno,

Why are you looking at the Cape York over Aussie Swag and Kimberly Camper etc?

All very similar, with some subtle differences. I know it doesn't answer your question.....just curious.

AnswerID: 127355

Follow Up By: big red car - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:23

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:23
We are looking at the Cape York over most others (we short listed the Cape York and the Odyssey ZR) mainly because of some of specifications
such as 60mm stub axles, parelle bearings,rated at 3300kg, 12inch brakes, 50mm x 150mm x 3mm draw bar, 30amp built in battery charger, duel 100amp hour batteries under the floor above the axle for better weight distribution to name a few.
Don't have any problems with Aussie Swag or Kimberley - we tend to buy things and keep them for a long time - thus most of the above specs tend to lend themselves to a long and happy life with mininual failures.
The Odyssey has a built in hot shower - we already have a shower unit in the car.

FollowupID: 381864

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:05

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:05
Johno,
No reason why you wouldn't get a Cape York. We did extensive research before selecting a trailer. Short listed about 5, then reduced to 2, Cape York and Odyssey.

We went with the Odyssey which is also a great trailer. One of the reasons for the selection was that the Odyssey is made in SE QLD and we dealt directly with the business owners. This made getting the mods we wanted done during manufacture quite easy.

That said, the Cape York is great product and we found Paul from Oz Roamer to be very helpful and not pushy.
AnswerID: 127359

Follow Up By: big red car - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:28

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:28
Norm
Thanks for the feed back, we seem to be like minded. We are deciding out of the Odyssey ZR or the Cape York Extreme Explorer, at the moment leaning towards the Cape York because of the more robust construction.
FollowupID: 381865

Reply By: Jfish - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:52

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:52
Johno,

We got so close to getting a Cape York (extreme explorer) but the price was just out of reach. After looking around and putting a wish list together (hard-floor) we opted for a custom job. Australian RV Trailers was the way to go at Caboolture QLD.
We got our wish list and plus more for less $$$ the crew from Aust RV Trailers are more than helpful. Construction and quality superb.
With your 4x4 they can really set you up.

Tell them shane sent you.. www.austrvtrailers.com

PS Check out the september RV downunder mag and you will see what I am talking about.

Jfish..
AnswerID: 127514

Follow Up By: big red car - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 21:44

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 21:44
jfish,
Thanks for the reply. Have had a look at Austrvtrailers on the web.
Yes you are right it is alot of dollars, that is why I am not rushing into a decision and doing lots of homework first.
FollowupID: 382035

Reply By: Member - smiley and kell (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:59

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:59
g'day johno,

just wondering how the 6.5 goes and if you would recommend one who a 75 series.

thanks mate..... smiley
AnswerID: 127519

Follow Up By: big red car - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 21:52

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 21:52
Smiley,
Have had the 6.5 in the car for 2.5 years has run sweet since day one!
Motor was fully rebuilt with new ceramic coated pistons and fully balanced (balancing is the best $600 you could spend).

We run 35inch tyres with the standard diff ratios (4.1), The car weighs 2.5tonnes, most of the time I average 22mile per gallon, the best I have done is 25mile per gallon. We have been very happy with the rebuild, it is a great tow vehicle. Not to mention the brilliant sound out of a 3 inch system. If you after a lazy motor with no computer dramas I don't think you can go wrong with a 6.5. We had ours professionally rebuilt and fitted by Lindsay & Guy at Linquip in Gympie Qld(formally in Brisbane).

Ps - You will need a fat wallet
FollowupID: 382041