mt skene snow

Submitted: Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 19:43
ThreadID: 25967 Views:2036 Replies:4 FollowUps:16
did anyone get to mt skene on the weekend & if so was there any snow up there im heading up there this weekend & was wondering if we will see any thankyou

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 19:56

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 19:56
Hi Pjd

WAsnt up there on the weekend, but 3 weeks ago we had to get to around 1500m to get snow, then there was a snow dump and 1 week ago we went through near there and there was snow around 1100m,

Have a great weekend

crazie
AnswerID: 127348

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 20:15

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 20:15
Was up there Saturday, there was a little around but only really sightseeing. We did find a small area where the little kids could muck about on taboggans and the Landcruiser club found just enough to build their igloo but that was pretty much it. I expect by this weekend there will be very little up there unless they get some cold weather this week.
AnswerID: 127351

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:14

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:14
www.lcool.org not the cruiser club.

i was in the red nissan ute.
FollowupID: 381871

Follow Up By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:22

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:22
Sorry for misrepresenting you, mutterings within our group led to the conclusion that it was the cruiser club. We peeled out when you had about 3 or 4 feet of wall up. Did you spend the night in them? Ute looks a capable unit, there were a few green eyes on it as you guy's passed us.
FollowupID: 381873

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 08:02

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 08:02
No worries,

we ended up with 3 igloo's and a wall for a wind break, was a cosy night camping.

The ute goes ok ;-)
FollowupID: 381892

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 10:28

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 10:28
at least there was one classy lookin vehicle there from the photos you showed me last night dags..
FollowupID: 381923

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:37

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:37
I was up there on the weekend and we managed 3 igloos, not much snow driving but some hair raising water crossings.

Check BOM there is a weather change on the way around Wednesday

AnswerID: 127366

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 09:22

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 09:22
Hi Steve

Which rivers did you cross?? I see it is flowing a bit up there. Ddi you go for the weekend, I see some of the guys are up there for a week. I would be interested it the route you took.

ads
FollowupID: 381904

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 10:23

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 10:23
Adam,

One of them is the same spot where a Nissans from overlander forum there crossing a weekend earlier I believe... Still lots of water there
as you can see.

Stan
FollowupID: 381921

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 10:59

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 10:59
Hi Stan

But where is it ? Is that where your reig pic is from?

I think Wazza went up with lcool as well, but he is up there for a week. Would be keen on the route. Did you save thr track/route??

Ads.
FollowupID: 381925

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 12:31

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 12:31
Hi Adam,

Yes, the rig pic is from the same spot where the Nissan's were crossing.
I though Moggs should know where it is as he was there at the same time as the overlander guys... These are the tracks near Jamieson and Mount Skene. All the routes and maps are in the car, so I'll check tonight :) And yeah, Wazza was there too.

Stan

FollowupID: 381932

Follow Up By: Moggs - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 13:35

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 13:35
Hi guys,

Nup, I wasn't up there when the OL guys were there - no idea where the crossing is.

Stan, any pics of the igloo adventure??
FollowupID: 381937

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:17

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:17
these are th photos but no igloos
FollowupID: 381943

Follow Up By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:20

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:20
Click on the arrows at the top of the page there are seven pages, and the igloos are on the following pages

Sandy
FollowupID: 381945

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:23

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:23
suppose I should have read it, though tit was images not pages..
I really am bored here :(
FollowupID: 381947

Follow Up By: Crackles - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 18:12

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 18:12
Stan your rig pic is actually at the Blue Hole on the Goulburn river. The OL guys in the video were upstream at Holylands link track near Knockwood. Both tracks will be out of the question for at least a few weeks following todays heavy rain.
Crazie the route was from Jamieson up Sappers, left onto the lookout track then up the Skene road to the camp on the summit. Sunday out the Licola road then right down Lazarini's, right up Holylands, left down Snake Edwards to the Woods Point road. It's really only a day trip but with 14 cars having a play we took our time.
Cheers Craig..............
FollowupID: 381993

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:46

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:46
Hi Craig

Thanks mate, know the area, thank you

Adam
FollowupID: 382010

Follow Up By: Member - Howard (ACT) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:49

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:49
Hi Steve,
was that your rig at Jacko's at Dickson last Thursday or Friday ? I spotted the exploroz sticker when it was on the hoist . wondered whose vehicle it was
Howard
Resigned to Retirement

FollowupID: 382011

Follow Up By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:51

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:51
Bugger, the one time someone on here spots my 4wd and it's on a bloody hoist!!!

Yeah mate was me, steering rack rubber being replaced

FollowupID: 382012

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:02

Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:02
it wont really matter whats there today, takes less than a day for it to disappear up there.
wait till friday to make your decision.
AnswerID: 127373