Submitted: Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:33
Terryfied
For the last 3 years I have owned a td Jackaroo which has served me
well and now is in the care of my wife.I have purchased a 1995 troopy for its size because with 5 in the Jack plus 2 weeks of fuel,
water and food it capacity was limited.
When I went to buy accessories for the Jackaroo I was at times treated as a lesser person because of my vehicle.Since buying the troopy the difference in service and people having the time to talk to me is amazing.
My point is that my money is just as good for one car as the other and yet service was so different, however the store that spent the time with me when i bought the Jackaroo now has my business again.
Terry
Reply By: Matt (W.A.) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:40
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:40
Terry,
I totally agree with you there mate had the same Experience with my Pajero and a mates Lux got treated like chalk and cheese It was all too hard for the Salesman who shall remain nameless from a 4x4 Store here in
Perth, But when we went back to ARB Ozzy
park they couldn’t do enough for my mates Lux!!! Why is this so??
Matt
Follow Up By: angler - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:59
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:59
Maybe they reckon they will get more business from toyota owners?
Helmet ON.
Follow Up By: IT Dr - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 01:53
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 01:53
I find the same when I go shopping for my Pajero but the Guys at Opposite Lock in Balcatta were more than welcoming, they said they didn't care what anyone drove as long as it was a 4WD of some sort. They get my vote.
Reply By: Jimbo - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:40
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:40
Well put Terry.
Your motto is "treat them as they treated you".
Reminds me of something about "coming home to roost".
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:58
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 21:58
G'day Tezza,
Mate, while I don't agree with what they do, I reckon to a certain extent is "sort of" understandable. They (ie: the salesmen at your ARBs, TJMs, Opposite Locks etc) have a huge range of gear to select from for Cruisers, Patrols and HiLuxes. I guess the reason is that, in the main, these are the vehicles that "most" people who are intending to do "serious" modifications/accessorising, are buying. I'm not saying I agree with their mentality, but this is just how it is.
At one extreme (for example), I would imagine there is not a lot of call for a long-range
tank for a Terracan. However, I fully acknowledge and agree that the likes of the Paj and the Jack are closer to the "mainstream" of four wheelin' and I can only assume that the aftermarket sector are either ignorant to this potential market, or have chosen to ignore it as they perceive it to be too "hit & miss".
Just my thoughts.
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:19
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:19
Bill,
You wouldn't believe the demand for a long range
tank for a Terracan.
It is the number one issue on the Terracan
forum.
I'd buy one tomorrow.
Just shows how perceptions and owner needs are not aligned.
No offence mate.
Follow Up By: Shane (QLD) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 09:21
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 09:21
Jimbo,
Had a similar slap in the face from TJM at Burleigh when I asked them about a Bullbar for the Jerrycan. Answer was not about to make one as there would be very little demand. I think that statement will come back to haunt them.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 09:24
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 09:24
Working on % sold, there would not be enough demand for either LRT or Bbar.. yes with the small % on the
forum maybe, but in real $ terms, nope.
have a word to Al, see what he can do, hes a fab man, could be a nice little $ earner for him there.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 10:05
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 10:05
ECB must make the ugliest bars on earth.. Check teh one for the new lux!
Follow Up By: slyonnet - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:48
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:48
Totally disagree with you on that Truckster.
Well from a general point of view anyway, cause I did not had a look at the bar they do for the new hilux which may
well be the ugliest thing on earth. But I fitted an ECB bullbar on my vehicle after spending weeks shopping around before I found something that looked good and was actually practical for the Challenger. indeed from all the ones I saw there the only one that covered the windscreen whipper
water tank that sit low behind the standard bumper. All the other manufacturers bars let this bit fully apparent sticking below the bar and it seems to be impossible to relocate elsewhere from what I was told.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:16
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:16
take a look at the photos. it looks like 1 bar fits all to me...
and remember, there is nothing that cant be relocated! ;)
Follow Up By: slyonnet - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:10
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:10
First of all, of course it looks like one bar fits all. That's the case for most manufacturers no? They have a base design that they slightly adapt to fit as many cars as they can.
Now I agree with you the ecb bull bar fitted on the hilux does not look very appealing to me. But that's a personal choice. And now if you look at the ecb bull bar fitted to a challenger I'm sorry but I love it. Again a matter of personnal choice. At the end of the day it depends of which bar you try to fit to which car. For me the ecb bar is not compatible with the new hilux but it is with the Challenger.
Finally, I know that it would have been possible to relocate the gizzmo somewhere else but the effort involved for the bar fitters to do it would have translated into huge $ to me so from my point of view this is an item that is impossible to relocate. Plus I didn't want to lose any space elswhere in case I decide to fit a spare battery or a diff lock compressor later.
Follow Up By: garrycol - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 21:38
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 21:38
Why wouldn't ECB make an ugly bar for the new HiLux, after all the new HiLux ain't the best lookin car on the road - in fact Butt Ugly comes to mind - I think the ECB bar suits it!!
Gazz
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 10:56
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 10:56
I think you hit it there Gary!
more flammin US influence on our dying culture .. :(
Follow Up By: slyonnet - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 10:57
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 10:57
LOL.
Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 11:45
Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 11:45
I have never been a fan of the Hilux as I always considered it to be ruff riding and low powered however it WAS a great vehicle for what it was designed to do as a ute - it WAS capable, reliable and really good offroad - and dare I say it reasonably pleasant on the eyes - but I think the recent models have gone too far to satisfy the latte set and become a bit soft. As delivered off the showroom floor - they are not nearly as capable as before, effective ground clearance is reduced and are they really any different now to the Navaras, Trytoos, Couriers etc? As I said, I would never have bought a Hilux but I always respected their capabilities - they stood out capability wise - now they are just one of the bunch but stand out because of the Camry type styling. AUV doesn't come to mind but SUV - soft utility vehicle does.
Gazz
Reply By: ev700 - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:12
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:12
Some salespeople are in the wrong line of work.
Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:18
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:18
Most likely because they know Shi* about your car and it is all too hard to make a effort. The only thing I have brought from a 4WD store is tyre repair kit, apart from the B/Bar and side step’s, which were fitted by TJM when car was new.
My UHF, Spotlight’s,
suspension, Tyres and so
forth I brought from retailer’s who specialise in each. In-Fact I got my ARB snatch strap at auto One.
The only time I have been into ARB (Will not name the store) is when a friend was getting his ARB bulbar fixed up as it was built wrong and the spotlight’s would not fit on, and they even stuffed that job up, then did a shi* job of wiring the spotlight’s up, Stuffed up the Duel battery set up and the external fridge plug stoped working after 6 month’s, and he and his family are
well know to the owner of the store and the workman ship was still less than adequate, some times it amazes me how these people keep customers.
I am not having a go at ARB, TJM, ETC. I am suer there product’s are all quality just some of the people who fit and sell them are not very enthusiastic about there job and it show’s in there work.
Follow Up By: Ted (Cairns) - Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:57
Monday, Aug 29, 2005 at 22:57
Must be the individual shops too: when I had the bullbar and
snorkel installed by ARB in
Canberra it was just after I had the cruiser "serviced" by the dealer (heaps of things not done, had to take the truck in twice and even then not happy - never again will they see me there).
Well with ARB I actually rang them up to tell them how impressed I was with their workmanship: everything in place, tight, straight, wiring protected and fastened in place etc.
Later on I entered another ARB
shop elsewhere and the salesperson knew fa and looked as if he was really annoyed by me disturbing his siesta...
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 06:11
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 06:11
Of course it is different shops!! they are franchises and are only as good as their owners/workers. I havnt had much to do with OL in Kalgoorlie but It is a husband and wife and when i have gone in they have been enthuisiastic and helpfull they have their fully decked out patrol out the front and are always keen to talk 4bying
Follow Up By: arthurking83 - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 21:44
Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 21:44
Quote Davoe:
"they have been enthuisiastic and helpfull they have their fully decked out patrol out the front and are always keen to talk 4bying"
There's the catch!
The ones that are keen, are there because they love it.
The other bunches of bludgers couldn't give a stuff, because they got some lucrative contract with some govt department to fit out 20 cruisers with overpriced bullbars and
winches etc.
So unless you go there with wads of cash stuffed into your pockets, they don't want to know you!
Go to the husband and wife
places, where ever they may be!