Passing wiring through firewall

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 13:51
ThreadID: 25986 Views:7624 Replies:7 FollowUps:10
I am in the process of hard wiring my Max-Air compressor into my '05 Hilux. I need advice on passing the wires through the firewall. I can't seem to find a way through without having to cut open the insulation on the major looms.

Also, does it matter where I take switching power from for the in cab switch? ie: can it be from any wire that has power once the ignition is on?

Thanks. Any help would be appreciated.

Reply By: Member - Sam (NSW) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:02

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:02
Any of the accessory power wires will be fine to power the relay. Not sure about the new Hilux's but I used to just poke a feed wire down between and existing loom and the grommet and then pull it through or, i would actually drill a hole to suit the wiring, put my own grommet in and then use that. That was on a '90 model Hilux
AnswerID: 127435

Follow Up By: chisj - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 17:14

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 17:14
There's a small grommet up to the right (looking from the front) of the grommet for the main wiring loom. I've got a petrol 05 lux, i've noticed the diesels have sound proofing so you may have to look behind that.
FollowupID: 382207

Reply By: Member -Dodger - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:02

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:02
Usually there are rubber bungs somewhere in the engine bay firewall that will allow you to get the wiring through.
I would strongly suggest that you supply power to the pump via a relay.
Run the relay earth to a switch in the cab and from the switch to a convenient ground.
Run a heavy wire through an inline fuse to the relay then from the relay to the pump.

There are many ways of doing this plus some relays come with the wiring diagram.
If you are not sure ask an auto sparky. To find a firewall entry you could also ask a smash shop where you can get an entry point.
Some others here may also know a good entry point for the wires.
I used to have a handle on life, but it broke.

Cheers Dodg.

AnswerID: 127436

Reply By: Time - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:06

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:06
In my '98 'lux I have run wires up through the floor via drain hole grommet. Punched a mall hole in the grommet, run the wires down and sealed with silicone. As above, run through a relay and fuse as close to the battery as possible.

AnswerID: 127439

Reply By: Boc1971 - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:10

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:10
HI newlux - Not sure about the new 05 model but most firewalls will have a blank plug for accessories you may fit later in the vehicles life --- so you may have to search a little -

as for wire - whats the amperage rating for the compressor ? if you choose any accessory wire from under your dash you might choose a wire that will not be up to the load - and as a result will either burnt out your compressor OR melt the wire/ or even both -- best bet would be to go off the battery if its a high demand item

Frank
AnswerID: 127440

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:43

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:43
Frank,
Not sure that I can agree with your idea that he could suffer problems with the standard wiring, provided he is only accessing it to act as the switching portion for the relay. This function only requires a miniscule amount of current draw; just enough to activate the relay...nothing to do with the heavy current draw of the compressor itself. The Maxair has a 30 amp requirement.
FollowupID: 381962

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 11:42

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 11:42
Yeah Roachi'es right, DON'T power your compressor wihtout a relay. If you are running a realy (a standard 30amp headlight relay will do) you can power it from any accessory wire.

To run small wires through the firewall the easiest way is to straighten out a coat hanger, stick it through any part of any of the rubber gromits that have looms etc going through. Then once you've got it in sight on the inside of the cab, use some electrical tape to tape the wire onto the end of the coat hanger, go into the car and simply pull the bugger right through and hey PRESTO it's done. The rubber gromit should seal around the wire but if your not 100% with it's water tightness just whack a bit of silicone around the wire and gromit. Too easy.

You shouldn't have any problems with one bit of light guage wire... Try getting some solid 4g, 6 standard wires and a 1/4" air hose though the firewall, now that can be a bitch! ;-) LOL
FollowupID: 382151

Reply By: muzzimbidgie - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:35

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:35
Absolutely must wire it from the battery. That model compressor has a high power draw and will melt any substandard wiring which could burn the vehicle to the ground (it's happened before). Also it will not run as well as it could if it cant get enough juice.
AnswerID: 127444

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:52

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:52
New, (can I call you that?) it all depends on whether your firewall is a hardware or software firewall, hardware firewalls are easy, just run the wire directly from the battery and use necessary grommets and other protection for the wiring as it passes thru the firewall casing, also one thru the firewall make sure you have a fusebox, and a fusable link at the other end (the battery end).

If its a software firewall then you have all sorts of worrysome problems as the technology to digitise copper wiring is really only in its infancy and is still at this stage limited to 1.0mm cable. you'll need at least 6.0mm. even when the technology catches up, digitised cable is only good for 50% of its current carrying capacity as when it in de-digitised, it changes its molecular structure to something approximating titanium, a much harder and more expensive element.

Of course I havent mentioned the noddles, they are the plastic bits you plac in series between the battery/fuse/fusible link continuum

Mrs Al knows about Noddles. Dont ask about Doddles.

AnswerID: 127457

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:30

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:30
Ah! 'New' now you have gone and done it - Let 'chicken-BONZ' out of his cage.

You are in for a treat now that 'chicken-BONZ (he's everywhere, he's everywhere) is on your case.

Everytime he 'appears' and gives you the facts of life on whatever problem you have, you end up wandering away muttering to yourself - what did he just say.

You know he Dux'd the Terang TAFE in a course designed just for him, called, and I quote, 'Appreciation of anything and everything in life'.

Thats how he knows the difference about Hardware and Software firewalls.

BONZ! I am impressed, you have outdone all your previous efforts with this one.

Must ring Casey Jones right away.

FollowupID: 381960

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:46

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:46
Strewth he had me going for a few seconds there too Mr Lucy!!! Only Bonz could get mixed up between a hardware firewall and a software fire-bloody-wall....RAOFLMAO....
FollowupID: 381963

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:59

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:59
I am not mixed up at all Roachie hahahahah

FollowupID: 381965

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:08

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:08
Time for your medication Bonz....I'll get nurse Lucy to come around and give you an enama (spell check please)......smile and think of Nissan; it won't hurt a bit.......
I reckon you bloody mexicans must have been hitting the tequilla bottle a bit too much lately.
FollowupID: 381968

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:09

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:09
did somebody mention doodles?
FollowupID: 381969

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:14

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:14
enama, my dear Roachie is a euphemism for anathema, which is a Toyota trying to go offroad relying simply on its driver and a healthy dose of "I can do this in 2WD" never stopped a Nissan that track , yota bogged in the sand...........

you mean enema, a habitual and cleansing seat on a fast moving volume of water which incidentally is the very medium that turns doddles into doodles

FollowupID: 381973

Reply By: JW - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:26

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:26
Newlux,
Pushing or pulling a cable through a rubber firewall grommet can be a challenge. If you insert the empty body of a Bic biro through the grommet, the cable can then be fed through the inside of the body and the pen body is then simply pulled off the cable on the inside of the cab. Same theory as creating an emergency airway down someone's larynx.
Jon W
AnswerID: 127475

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:44

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:44
The wires also run thru easier of wet with saliva or wet-start spray

FollowupID: 381986