GU PATROL ECONOMY

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 14:46
ThreadID: 25989 Views:6652 Replies:18 FollowUps:7
Just wondering what GU Patrol owners are averaging on a tank of fuel? How much does it cost to fill up in your area (main tank) and how many km's do you get. I am curious to know both Petrol and Diesel.

Reply By: Outbacktourer - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:06

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:06
My 3.0Di gets low 10L/100Km highway and 14's around town. Main tank holds 90L. It's an Auto, probably slightly worse around town and slightly better on highway than the manual.
AnswerID: 127446

Reply By: chel - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:10

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:10
we have a 05 GU wagon 3.0l diesel. So far we get 11l per 100 klm, we do alot of short driving, bus runs each day and get about 720klm per main tank.(this is running tank down to just above the E line with low fuel light on) Cost varies to fill up but approx $90. I would also be interested in what others are getting from their fuel tank. Cheers Michele
AnswerID: 127448

Follow Up By: chel - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:11

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:11
sorry forgot to add we haven't done a decent trip as yet and it's manual
FollowupID: 381941

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:07

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:07
Hi chel.... How far can you get with the fuel light on?
FollowupID: 381956

Follow Up By: chel - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:17

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:17
Hi Voxson, so far I have only been game to go 60klm further when light comes on when I do fill up there is still 10litre in tank. I usually switch over to sub when needle only a mm from E.
FollowupID: 381974

Reply By: flappa - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:12

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:12
My 4.5 Petrol Patrol , gets approx 600k's out of 90l of PULP on the highway (15/100) , at approx $1.30 per litre (using Woolies Vouchers).

Around City (Canberra) , its closer to 450k's @ approx 20/100 , which again , is roughly what I get towing my Campertrailer (20-22/100).

I get approx 50-100k's better by using PULP over ULP.
AnswerID: 127449

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:14

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:14
Which engine? diesel: 2.8, 3.0, 4.2, petrol: 4.5, 4.8
What gearbox?
What tires?
towing?
AnswerID: 127450

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:51

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:51
How driven too Bruce, and what load - though you mention towing, as it all makes quite a difference........
FollowupID: 381952

Reply By: Notso - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:30

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:30
Gedday, 3.00 Turbo Manual July 2000 build

Long term average towing 1.8 tonne full height caravan 6.25 kilometres/Litre approx 16 Litres/100ks
Long term average non towing including city/highway 8.6 kilometres/litre, approx 11.6 litres/100ks

Too affraid to go near a service station to fill up at the moment??
AnswerID: 127453

Reply By: baza - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:34

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 15:34
I have a 4.5 petrol, the tyres make a big difference. I would get 7km/l on the standard road tyres. Dropped to 5.5 to 6km/l with copper ST's. Most of my driving is country.
AnswerID: 127454

Follow Up By: uteguy - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 15:21

Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 15:21
I have recently purchased a 05 4.2td GU ute with cooper ST from new and get around 6.6k's / litre (city)when you compared fuel acconomy was it on the same size tyre e.g mine were up sized from new to 285/75/16 which will throw out odomoter roughly 10%
FollowupID: 383926

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:32

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 16:32
4.2L TD (2000 model) with one or 2 accessories; total weight b4 loading up for a trip is about 3100kg.

I use an average of 15.6 litres/100 klm up hill and down dale. Whacking the camper trailer on behind seems to make stuff all difference (unless I'm dragging it through sand or am driving in low-range).

As said before, there are SOOOOOOOOOOOOO many variable. I have always had moderately aggressive tyres (eg: BFG Muddies, Cooper ST, and now Goodyear MT/R) and I am lead to believe that these affect fuel economy.

I have a 145litre main tank plus the standard 34 litre sub tank and can do about 900 to 1000klm on the highway b4 the orange light comes on. I have then managed to get another 60 or 70 klm before I got to a servo and took about 167 litres to fill both tanks.

AnswerID: 127467

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 09:16

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 09:16
Yup, tires do affect economy LOTS... not only size, width, but the tread pattern is a major contributer...

If you want the best economy around town, keep the OEM road tires...

3100kg - is that the accessories alone? :P
FollowupID: 382123

Reply By: Bullwinkle - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:38

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 17:38
99 DX Coil Cab. Normally about 5.8 - 6.5 km/litre pulling a float. The best I've ever got was 7.5 ( 80kph at night ). Diesel's $1.39 here at the moment, no other fuel stations for 400 ks either way so you've just gotta grin & bear it......
AnswerID: 127478

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 18:06

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 18:06
Off the topic a bit but..............CRAFT? (can't remeber a f***ing thing?)
AnswerID: 127485

Follow Up By: CRAFT - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:07

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:07
Sure is.
FollowupID: 382006

Reply By: motherhen - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 18:43

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 18:43
We have 3 ltr td auto. Get 7.75 kms per litre not towing, 5 when towing the Bushtracker (heavy). Ours has extra large tank (120 litres) plus the standard 40 litre auxilliary. With the bigger tank, when the light comes on, there's not much left. First time coming back across the Nullarbor, having discovered Mundrabilla the cheapest, we judged it to get a full fill there - supplies were late (has happened to other too), so they sold anyone 20 litres to get to Madura, about the dearest on the run. So my husband calculated how much we needed to get to Norseman. When the light came on about 8 kms out of town, he thought we wouldn't make it - we did. Tanks took over 160 litres - so must have been bone dry! We don't get as many kms out of the Mundralbilla diesel though - 4.59 kms compared with whole of trip average of 5 kms per litre. Diesel prices here at Bridgetown today best 129.9 at bulk depot, worst 134.7 at servo in main street. ULP 128.9 at depot, 131.8 at servo.
AnswerID: 127494

Reply By: at4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 18:55

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 18:55
05/05 GU ST Coil Cab, 4.88's and 37's on 10" rims, 6" lift, holds 175 lt, get 1050-1180km from 165lt [when light comes on] 4wd/city vs hwy .

About to do turbo mod, pump timing, exhaust 4" dump 3 " pipe, intercooler, boost up, and check economy on each mod as we go.
AnswerID: 127496

Reply By: Fusion - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:06

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 19:06
G'day Crafty,

Here's my latest fuel figures for the Patrol.

We've done about 25,000km's since Dec 2004, a lot of them towing our
Adventure Camper
- 1.1 tonnes loaded.

You can view (and download) the PDF fuel usage chart from here:

Patrol Fuel Figures

Note: I'm running Cooper ATR's 275/70x17 which are about 5% bigger
than standard and therefore the km's travelled is under, according
to my GPS, by 5% (or 5km/h at 100km/h). A rough fix is to multiply
the L/100km on the chart by 0.95. This isn't perfect, but it gets
you to about 1/10th of a litre from the correct figure.

Therefore my best figure (with adjustment) is about 10.1 L/100km
travelling from Gold Coast to Hervy Bay a few months ago. My worst (with adjustment) is about 19.2L/100km doing a lot of high speed rough dirt road work.

The worst figure was attained travelling from Camerons Corner to Cunnamulla towing the camper. The first 240kms is a very rough dirt road, which I drove along way too fast usually in the 90 - 110km speed range and obviously hammered my economy. I was trying to get home, from 30km west of Camerons Corner to the Gold Coast in one hit. After a week long outback photo & video shoot I was looking forward to seeing my wife and 11 week old boy. Anyway I did it. About 1400kms and 18.5 hrs, a very long day :)

On the chart any figure over 13 L/100km can be assumed to be either
full or partial towing, or low range 4wd work, or heaps of short suburban
trips and mucking around with photography. (ie idling for ages etc)

Diesel on the Gold Coast costs about $1.16 at the moment, you'll have to work out the cost per tank and KM's per tank yourself :)

Hope that's helpful.

Aaron.

AnswerID: 127501

Reply By: Kazza055 - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:15

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:15
My one Bob's worth.
2004 3L auto and I normally use both tanks - last about 2 weeks. The best I have had is 10.04L/100km and this is city driving but reasonable freeway speeds for the majority. Just done a trip to Busselton towing 16' poptop and averaged 12.4L/100km over 620km - 410 with van.
Currently only got 23,000 on the clock and over than past 15,000 the consumption has gradually been improving as the motor has bedded in.
Using both tanks I am doing up to 1100km from both tanks and it took 109.5L to fill up.
Twelve months ago I was putting nearly 130L ULP into my old EL Falcon to cover the same distance.

Bob Cheers
AnswerID: 127545

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:49

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:49
2000 3.0TD auto. I have never really bothered with calculating the fuel but I average 860 to 940k out of both tanks, driving around metro Perth. Average fill up is 117 to 119l. Even when I go for what seems like a long time on empty, it still has between 10 to 15l left.

On country trips there is always 4WDriving involved so can't get any highway figures. Can't remember how much we used with the camper on (it hasn't left the shed for 18 months!!!!) but I remember we used an average 8 lts less at each fill compared to travelling buddies towing similar camper with manual 4.2d cruiser.
AnswerID: 127561

Reply By: Peter McGuckian (Member) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 10:38

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 10:38
I have a 2002 GU 3.0 and get 11.5 - 12.5 around town, low 11s on a country trip and 14.5 when towing the Ultimate.

AnswerID: 127597

Reply By: kiss'n'dirt - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 18:37

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 18:37
I have a 4.5 Petrol GU and i fitted a snorkle, pacemaker extractors and 2 1/2" exhaust.

i average 18.5L/100km. bring my main tank's light on at 460km with 10-12L to go.

I run 265/75/16 one size bigger than standard.

I can get better on the highway.

The extractors and exhaust and snorkle made the difference. Drives like a new truck. But i also like to use the power now it's there.
AnswerID: 127656

Reply By: Patrick - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:17

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:17
On our 2003 3.0 TD manual with 35K's best 10.80 L/100 worse 15.68L/100 towing a 2 ton Jayco freedom outback.

AnswerID: 127680

Reply By: RE - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:40

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:40
I have a 2000 4.5 petrol on gas, auto trans.
Around Perth I get appox 300km out of 85lt gas and on the open road fully loaded with wife 4 kids roof rack and camper trailer I get an extra 50 - 60 km per tank.
Evan
AnswerID: 127753