PRADO V PATROL ?

Submitted: Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:50
ThreadID: 26004 Views:9414 Replies:23 FollowUps:41
OK,

I have asked lots of questions on this forum as I am in the market for a 4wd after some years away from owning one. I have narrowed the search down to either a VX Prado Grande or a GU 4.5 ST Nissan Patrol both around the 98-99 year mark.

Just wondering on what people’s thoughts were when comparing things like running costs (especially fuel), servicing cost, reliability and performance.

My wife will drive the car most of the time as I have a company car. We are both in our mid 20's so we will be keeping the car for a few years and will do the occasional bit of 4wding on the beach and bush on weekends and holidays.

I was sold on the patrol until a mate scared me off a bit with the advice that they are thirsty and dearer to service then say the Prado.

I guess it comes down to what suits best over all.

Any thoughts?

Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:51

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:51
Terracan.
AnswerID: 127551

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:58

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 22:58
Sorry,

hit the button too early.

Terracan is similar size to Prado, $15K cheaper and has a 5 year warranty. Lot's of fruit for the money and will go anywhere a Prado will.

If you're after a petrol the Prado has more go.

If you're after a diesel, it's no comparison. The Prado has an old insipid motor, the Terracan has a common rail diesel. 96 kW or 120 kw, your choice.
FollowupID: 382057

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:01

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:01
>>> and will go anywhere a Prado will.

Calling DARREN...
FollowupID: 382060

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:08

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:08
I wouldnt go that far, the car is 15k cheaper for a reason, has less wheel travel, and isnt as refined as the prado, but we wont steal the guys thread here, and will stick on topic, given he has made a decision.
FollowupID: 382062

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:10

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:10
Come for a drive with me chaps.
FollowupID: 382063

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:20

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:20
jimbo

no offence dude, but if you went for a drive with Darren here, you would come back a changed man. trust me.
FollowupID: 382069

Follow Up By: F4Phantom - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:25

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:25
i would also like to add that since i own a nissan dual cab navara, he should probably buy one of those, they hold way more in the ute than either prado or patrol will in their boots. Next i would like that kluger guy to tell him to buy a kluger cause they will be more capable off road! Just kidding Jimbo, i remember you off road and i also remember you wanting to give rankins a go in your terracan in the wet while huge GUs were bogged.
FollowupID: 382070

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:31

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:31
My wife has a volvo, maybe one of those would be good too, as she likes the volvo ;-)
FollowupID: 382071

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 00:06

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 00:06
I'd go with the Prado...especially if your wife is going to drive it. Patrol is a real step up in size. Your wife might also like the Terracan...but I'd really like to see it go everywhere a Prado goes... with only 175mm ground clearance compared to the 90 series which has about 235mm and less wheel travel. Terracan has a fuel tank capacity of around 75ltrs a VX 90 series will give you about 159 ltrs. Not to mention a much wider array of aftermarket goods if you wanted them. I would look for a tidy 3.0ltrTD Prado. The Terracan has a good diesel motor, but that wont help it much when its hung up, or has just torn the bottom end out bush. Best thing to do is take one of each for a drive and decide for yourself, how many terracans in stock form would get you through the Simpson.. I'll take the Prado thanks
FollowupID: 382075

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 08:05

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 08:05
Bruce,

No offence taken. A man of Darren's experience is always going to get the best out of a car. He'd probably get a Subaru places I couldn't.
FollowupID: 382100

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 08:14

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 08:14
I'll just try to explain my suggestion of the Terracan for those who didn't get it.

He said:

"will do the occasional bit of 4wding on the beach and bush on weekends and holidays." A car for his wife.

The Terracan will do this as well as a Prado. How do I know? I've been out with a Prado and tackled rougher terrain than he is suggesting, and the Terracan did everything the Prado did. Perhaps in extreme conditions the Prado is better, but he wasn't asking about real hard core stuff.

Hence I suggested a money saving option that will suit his needs and more.

Am I making myself clear?

FollowupID: 382108

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 08:43

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 08:43
I dont think anyone had a problem with what you have outlined from part of your post, and I thinkw e all know, we started with the best intentions of not doing to much offroad ;-)))))
FollowupID: 382115

Follow Up By: Dazmit - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 10:25

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 10:25
Jimbo

Is a Terracan as cheap as a 98/99 Prado / Patrol since that was part of the original question I assume he is not looking at a new vehicle.

Darryl
FollowupID: 382132

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 19:49

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 19:49
Darryl,

The answer is quite probably yes. When I was looking, I initially looked at second hand Patrols and Prados.

You can get into the base model Terracan for $35,000 brand new. A DECENT Patrol or Prado 98/99 is going to cost close to that. Say $30 for arguments sake.

Would you spend an extra $5 to get into a new vehicle with a five year warranty as opposed to a 7 year old second hand vehicle?

You could of course pick up a 2002 terracan for less than a 98/99 variant of the others and still have two years factory warranty left. A 2002 Terracan can be had for $25.

FollowupID: 382233

Follow Up By: WDR - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 21:07

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 21:07
Look at late model Jack.
FollowupID: 382762

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 21:15

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 21:15
WDR,

That's fine advice too.

A vehicle that offers a lot more than its reputation would suggest.

Look at my post "Crazie is Crazy".

I've seen Adam put that Jack places that owners of "real" 4wd's would shirk at.
FollowupID: 382764

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 21:20

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 21:20
Shnogdog,

Get your facts straight before you post.

Terracan 175mm ground clearance. LMAO.
FollowupID: 382766

Reply By: at4x4 - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:09

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:09
For your intended use, the prado will shine.
AnswerID: 127555

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:29

Tuesday, Aug 30, 2005 at 23:29
I went thru the same thing a while back. The prado looked the goods and I nearly bought one untill I came to the conclusion that even with all the seats removed we still couldn't sleep in the back. I know I've said it many times but, in the end, that was the overriding factor. The patrol is awesome off road for a stocker.

If you're not going to sleep in the back of it the prado is an excelent 4by and with 180l fuel capacity makes a good tourer.

Economy wise the patrol might hurt the bank a bit. Some aren't worried about fuel consumption, so filling up and roaring off into the sunset is perfect for them. I went for the 3.0 TD which is pretty good on fuel.
AnswerID: 127558

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 07:18

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 07:18
If it's to be used as a "car" for most of the time, the Prado. The thing to keep in mind though is how far off road you want to go. The Prado is a fine capable vehicle in every sense, and well suited for you if you want to do "the occasional bit of 4wding on the beach and bush on weekends and holidays."

but if you decided to go further off road in the future, the Patrol might suit better. Mod are easier/cheaper than the Prado etc....
AnswerID: 127572

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 07:22

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 07:22
As a wife who mainly drives our Prado, if you're not worried about which 4wd it is Prado or Partol, get your wife to test drive or at least sit in both and see which one she's more comfortable in.

We went from a Daewoo Nabira to a Prado, I find it easy to drive and park, I love my baby (Steve is going to cringe when he gets home).

Sandy
AnswerID: 127573

Reply By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 07:49

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 07:49
Prado is the way to go....
You can see the front easily for judging distances,, the wheelbase is heaps shorter so parking is a cinch....Better on fuel.....

The Patrol will chew juice like at about 20litres per 100 as an average...
AnswerID: 127576

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 08:01

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 08:01
even I need a *V E R Y* heavy boot to do that bad Voxson, with my heavy 4.2 litre. I think I agree on the parking though.
FollowupID: 382099

Follow Up By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:46

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:46
Yeh, Voxson I was t5alking diesel and you were on petrol. Sorry
FollowupID: 382248

Follow Up By: Voxson (Adelaide) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:46

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:46
:o)
FollowupID: 382340

Reply By: Member - Ivan (ACT) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 07:59

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 07:59
Mate - one more for the Prado..

I'm not sure of the numbers, but if you dropped the 90 series Grande and went with the later model (120 series) GXL you will get a lot more refinement for your cash.. In the petrol, that's a jump from a 3.4l to a 4l
AnswerID: 127577

Reply By: flappa - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 09:46

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 09:46
These are the 2 vehicles I considered.

I ended up with the Patrol.

Depends on what you trying to do.

I bought the Patrol , A Ti , because I needed to fit 4 teenage kids. It was easier in the Patrol. I went for the Ti so I could get Dual Air Con for the back. Was substantially better then the Prado's dual air.

The Patrol has power on tap , but, you pay for that with economy. Around city I get around 20/100 , highway , 16-17/100.

The Prado IS far more car like to drive , and that is a real bonus.

I do like the Prado's and in hindsight a diesel one may have been the go, but , it didn't happen.

With the Patrol though , maybe consider a dual fuel one. Reduces your $$$ quite nicely. Depends on where you intend travelling to though , and range.

I'm giving serious consideration to putting gas on mine.

The wash up is , either will do the job nicely. Personal preference. I would suggest that if your wife will drive it mostly , the Prado will be high on the list. You will probably pay a few more $$$ for it , purely because it has a Yota Badge.
AnswerID: 127589

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:17

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 13:17
If you wife is going to drive it most of the time the Prado is much better option
for city driving/parking/fuel economy. My wife drives our Prado during the week and loves it and I get to play on the weekends.

AnswerID: 127620

Reply By: deserter - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 14:48

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 14:48
I have also been debating between the two. The thing that has swayed me towards the Prado is that I want an auto. Can't get one in the 4.2L Patrol and I don't want to go near a 3.0L Patrol for a while yet. Too many horror stories still around.
AnswerID: 127638

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 14:57

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 14:57
The conversion to Auto in the 4.2 is easy :)
thats my plan.
FollowupID: 382193

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 17:45

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 17:45
I'm looking at doing this very soon. I've heard it's a piece or p1$$.
FollowupID: 382209

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:54

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:54
Gee Chrispy, that property looks mighty fine for me and cammo to go bike riding on :D
FollowupID: 382250

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 15:18

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 15:18
I suppose that if you want longevity and general driveline strength (if you do a lot of remote work) then I'd be looking at the Patrol. If you want comfort and resale, then maybe the Prado.

One thing I've never seen is a Prado in competition.... and there must be a reason for that.....either strength, capability, ability to accessorise, or all three.
AnswerID: 127640

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 18:07

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 18:07
I think you will find price the biggest factor there, because lots of comp hiluxes, and same diffs, comp 100 series, prado has same gearbox, but 400kg lighter, power, well, hilux 3.0 td cleaning up some national comps with same engine, travelling, 180lt in a 120 standard saves on long rage tanks, and means you can fill when its cheap, and a prado has the same wheel travel as a standard patrol or cruiser.

I think opinion may be the only change required to realise a good truck when its presented ;-)
FollowupID: 382212

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 18:32

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 18:32
I'd like to see one in competition and look forward to when I do. I take your points on board no - problems there. Only I still need to see a 100-series in a serious comp.... like tufftruck. I can see them working OK in the Outback Challenge - I think.
FollowupID: 382219

Reply By: Member - Marquis F (NSW) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 17:07

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 17:07
Prado's tend to break bits on the underbody on the rough stuff...

Have you considered some other brands / models?
AnswerID: 127646

Follow Up By: at4x4 - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 18:07

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 18:07
Having owned one, i would disagree with that opinion.
FollowupID: 382214

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:15

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 20:15
got driven and had a drive of a 120 4l prado with ome suspension. around the Hills near Whyalla and while it was hardly tuff truck challlenge stuff some of it was as much or more than the average person would see and it handled it all perfectly. Although the OME suspension was fitted because the standard suspension was found a bit wanting in the Vic high country with 2 adults 2 teenagers and a campertrailor
FollowupID: 382243

Follow Up By: Joe - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 22:31

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 22:31
Just clocked over 60,000 in my 120 Prado, which is dedicated to rough off road use...no bits broken off to date.
Joe
FollowupID: 382275

Reply By: AdrianLR - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:18

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 21:18
We had a 98 Patrol and have now had 2 Landrover Discoveries since. The standard seats in the front of the Patrol were too low for my wife to see over the front. It was also a bit big around town. The Disco is much better in both respects and perhaps similar to the Prado. I suggest that you and your wife drive the Patrol through the city/local shopping centre at a busy time to really get a feel for what it will be like. The typical test drive takes you on nice, fast, empty roads where any difference will be less obvious.

Adrian
AnswerID: 127681

Reply By: CRAFT - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 22:52

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 22:52
OK,

The wash up is...
I have been reading your posts over the last 24 hours and I think you had me talked into a Prado. However my wife likes the Patrol more and as I type this parked in my driveway on 'loan' from the dealer around the corner is a 98 Nissan Patrol 4.5 petrol. It's only done 75,000 kms, 5 speed manual, bulbar, hella spot lights, snorkel, Old man emu Nitro shocks, air suspension in the back (for towing?), dual battery, 197 liter long range tank, and a fully decked out camping body in the back. This thing is mint and was owned by an old guy who decked it out to travel with but hardly used it as his wife became ill. They are asking 24,990 for it and it drives beautifully. This is a major dealer as well not some small yard dodgy brother.

Anyway the point is we love it and I know I can get it at a better price than that but it's one thing to be able to afford to buy a car and another thing to be able to afford to keep it on the road.

Do you think that the running costs would be massive between the prado and the Patrol (petrol)? This includes servicing.

Thanks for all your help (so far)
AnswerID: 127699

Follow Up By: CRAFT - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 23:41

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 23:41
Seeing as everybody is saying Prado what fuel economy are you guys averaging?

I guess this is the deciding question in which way I go.
FollowupID: 382285

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 23:47

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 23:47
The difference in fuel consumption will be very noticeably in favour of the Prado. You may want to check if the cost on the 80,000km service too, I think it could be a Major service (could be wrong). I've never owned a Patrol, so cant comment on them. I have a 4ltr 120 series and it returns some bloody good economy when touring. So far 45,000 kms on, service costs have been good.

I have noticed the Patrol seems to come up in the forums for various issues. There is also one about the Dashboard on the 90 series not too old in this forum.

The set up sounds pretty good on the Patrol you've got on loan. Before you jump in, make sure you take a Prado for a run or loan also and compare. And dont always believe the story about the old guy, who never really used it. Major dealer or not. Salesman is competing with every other yard for your dollars. If you take your time, you'll eventually find exactly what suits YOU the best. Best of Luck
FollowupID: 382286

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 23:53

Wednesday, Aug 31, 2005 at 23:53
Without the bar and spotties, I was getting very close to 1500km when touring. That's around 12ltrs/100k !!!. General driving, I get around 15-16ltrs/100k... all depends on load and the roads I guess.. but I think you'll find those figures are comparable with a BA Falcon...
FollowupID: 382288

Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 00:02

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 00:02
The old guy who did it up for touring but never really used story hey ?

How original !
FollowupID: 382289

Follow Up By: Member - Alanc - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 01:11

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 01:11
For info -
Filled our 2001 petrol Prado up tonight - main tank only - it took 80 litres @$1.19/Ltr for 575 Klms. which is around 13.9 ltrs / 100kms. This is an empty vehicle doing combo of freeway and suburb driving
Last Xmas towed a camper trailer plus gear for 2 , down to Esperance (700+kms eachway) and got around 16.5lts /100 sitting on about 90kmh

The way the price of petrol is going up I'm considering gas - I'm told about $2600 for the conversion. Decisions...Decisions...Decisions...
FollowupID: 382291

Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 09:36

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 09:36
Hey Craft , its your money , your choice . . . simple.

If you love it , and the Wife does . . . where's the problem ?

As an owner of a 4.5 Patrol , I can safely say a few things.

Petrol is the biggest downer. No secret in that , but the difference between the Prado , and the Patrol isn't going to be that big. Diesel to Petrol . . Yes . . . Petrol to Petrol . . . No.

DONT get it serviced by Nissan . . . that will be your biggest cost. I get mine serviced by a 4wd shop , and my services cost about $250-$300. My major service cost me less then $1000.

Dont forget , The Nissan Petrols use a Timing Chain , not a belt. Good for over 400, 000 k's.

The other thing to consider is if you did buy the Prado , what gear would you want on it , and cost thereof.

Worst case scenario , sell the Long range tanks , and put it on gas.
FollowupID: 382304

Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 11:05

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 11:05
Everyone's saying Prado but they are recommending the current 120 series which is probably out of the budget but is ecconomical for a 4.0 v6.
The Patrol you have found sounds like it has almost all the accessories you will need. A Prado of similar vintage is not as reliable/strong as the Patrol. They have a weak front diff and break CV's hence a selling point/feature of the current model 120 series Prado being the beefed up front end!
Also if you buy a 98/99 Prado, you will be up for a few $$ setting it up. This Patrol you have found is ready to go but as others have said it will drink a bit of juice. Probably a small a small price to pay if the day to day driving is relatively short. But they are reliable.
I would suggest getting an inspection as the km's seem too good to be true but if genuine you will have many years of reliable 4wding.
Leroy
FollowupID: 382317

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:11

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:11
It is also depends on how many Km are you planning to do per year on the car.
Without taking a cost of servicing in consideration (the Prado service cost
are around $300 per service). Assuming Prado average fuel consumption
14lt per 100km and Patrol 20lt per 100km and cost of Fuel at $1.20 per liter

If you do 10000 km a year
Prado = 1400 liters * $1.2 = 1680
Patrol = 2000 liters * $1.2 = 2400

for 20000 km a year
Prado = 2800 liters * $1.2 = 3360
Patrol = 4000 liters * $1.2 = 4800

for 30000 km a year
Prado = 2800 liters * $1.2 = 5040
Patrol = 4000 liters * $1.2 = 7200

If you like the Patrol better then just put a gas on it and it will pay for
itself in about a year if you doing about 30K or more.

Stan
FollowupID: 382372

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 07:17

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 07:17
Craft
the patrol sounds great, but maybe its a case of the heart overruling the head. That setup is more for frequent offroad/touring, not being the family day to day transport.
The Prado (or similar) would be a far more logical choice.
If you do decide to make a rational decision then have a look at a few cars in the Prado class and drive them. I would include the Pajero, the Terracan, and if you don't feel the need to be a conformist Mr and Mrs Average, the Disco II. You won't know until you drive them.
AnswerID: 127712

Reply By: Redback - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 08:24

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 08:24
Well all those memories of doing what you are doing we did only 6mths ago, like you we narrowed it down to the Prado and the Patrol, we had another in there the Disco, we chose the Disco because it was the most comfortable of the 3 and the easiest to drive, best economy and larger towing capacity but thats us.

So of the two you have narrowed it down to, my choice would be the Prado as it is a wonderfull car to drive and way better fuel economy than the petrol Patrol, as long as you don't do alot of towing the Prado is the better as an allround 4x4 for your use.

AnswerID: 127717

Follow Up By: angler - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 10:16

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 10:16
Which disco has a larger towing capacity than a Patrol???
FollowupID: 382314

Follow Up By: Redback - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:04

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:04
The TD5/V8 D2 manual/auto at 3.5t.

FollowupID: 382332

Reply By: warthog - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 10:09

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 10:09
We bought our td42t patrol with strength and longevity in mind however I wouldn't have my wife using it for a town car, agricultural gear box (read strong but slow shifting) and poor turning circle. As far as room goes I haven't looked in a Prado but the GU has far less space inside than the EB wagon Penny uses as the run around.Park them side by side and the Nissan is about 6" to 10" shorter, and the old Ford has a better designed dash that gives you some leg room.
AnswerID: 127726

Reply By: Twin Dogs - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 11:02

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 11:02
If it's a real 4x4 you want get the Patrol. Prado is a good compromise though
AnswerID: 127733

Reply By: RE - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:06

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:06
I own a 200 4.5lt patrol on gas, Auto trans.
My wife drives it more than I do during the week transporting 4 kids to school and other stuff.
She loves it as do I. Havent had any problems yet
We went for the patrol as it had split rear seats for more room for pram as we could fold one seat up out of the way.
But again try them both out and see what works best
AnswerID: 127776

Reply By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 18:23

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 18:23
Read recently in the Herald Sun cars supplement that the cost to replace lost Prado keys is $2,200.00

Yes, $2,200.00, not $22.00 or $220.00.

If you buy the Prado, don't ever lose the keys!

You'd have to add towing costs to the dealer as well, so especially don't lose them in the bush!

AnswerID: 127793

Follow Up By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:38

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:38
Gerhard,

Not quite right. The transponder keys are about $60+ to replace provided you have an original black (not a valet) key.

If you lose all the keys, or only have a valet key, then you are meant to replace the vehicles ECU as well - hence the $2200.

There are dealers around who can get around this issue.

Because of these issues, I used the valet key, and kept the two black originals as spares. Also had an extra blank cut ($5) which sat in the wallet - would open the doors but not start the car.

FollowupID: 382439

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:50

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:50
CRAFT,
A workmate here in Adelaide has a 2002 VX Grande with all the factory extras (traction control, leather, sunroof etc). Hes just bought a 79series traytop, same as mine, so is considering selling the Prado.

The Prado is pretty much spotless and has about 70,000km on the clock. Don't know how much he wants.

If you're interested, then let me know and I'll pass on his email address.

AnswerID: 127825

Reply By: GeroBoof - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:48

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:48
Hey Craft!
I have a 4.2td Patrol. The wife uses it every day for work as sales rep in the city. We got a taste for 4wding doing just what you are talking about little beach and bush work on the week ends. Two years later and the patrol now has been modified enough to take us accross the anne bedel hwy and thru the flinders ranges and in two weeks time a trip to alice. You may stat with just week end trips but end up doing much more serious trips! Once your hooked! the patrol will be the much more sensible option...

Get Out and Get Dirty

Gero Boof
AnswerID: 127845

Reply By: CRAFT - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:53

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:53
OK,

I just want to thank you all for your help with my question. This is an awesome forum and you guys know your stuff.

Anyway tonight I am the proud new owner of a Patrol. We both really liked the Patrol more than the Prado for several reasons and I think we would have always been looking at Patrols on the road thinking I wish we had of...

In the end we got a deal we could not refuse thanks mainly to my wife who thinks shopping is a sport, I'm sure, and totally worked the salesman over.

Ended up 98 GU 4.5 Patrol, 5 speed manual. 79,000kms on the clock. My major concern was fuel consumption but my wife talked them into getting it put on Gas by one of the best gas fitters in Brisbane. Also included was and extended 175,000 kms 3 year warranty, 80,000km Service, Spare wheel hard cover (stainless one). Bonnet protector, Rear dust wing, dash mat and floor mats.

That's on top of the stuff that's on it as mentioned earlier like snorkel, bulbar and hella spot lights, Old man emu suspension, Dual Batteries and rear adjustable air suspension (for towing).

Anyway the thing is mint and as I have a mate who is a mechanic at their partner dealership I got him to check out the service history. Turns out it was owned by an old guy who decked it out but something happened and he couldn't drive it anymore hence the low km's. So they were telling the truth. As mentioned they were asking 25,000 and we ended up paying only a fraction more than this in cash. I just couldn't say no.

So the gas is getting done this week and as the truck currently has a 190 liter long distance tank in it which will be coming out to be replaced by the gas. I will then upgrade the sub tank to the 85 liter. Any body interested in the long range tank?

Once again thanks for the advice, now all I need is some 4x4 clubs in Brissy and I'm off because I think this beast is going to do more than the intended weekend and holiday beach work.

AnswerID: 127848

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 23:19

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 23:19
Congrats...another happy ending to an epic forum topic... see you out there somewhere
FollowupID: 382471

Follow Up By: flappa - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 09:37

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 09:37
Mate , sensational.

Should be able to flog the LR Tank off easily enough.
FollowupID: 382496

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 21:26

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 21:26
Your wife "worked the salesman over"???

No wonder you got a good deal LOL.
FollowupID: 382768