1hz 79 series - for how much longer?

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 03:35
ThreadID: 26026 Views:3162 Replies:8 FollowUps:3
As far as I know besides the105 the old 79 1hz is the only n/a diesal engine vehicle available in OZ (I am sure someone will correct me but I really cant think of another). The simplicity of these vehicles makes them king when it comes workhorse applications they own the mining and exploration market and dominate alot of other areas where getting the job done is the only consideration.
However as vehicles get more sophisticated (read - faster) the gap between your family sedan and one of these has never been bigger I would guess with a top speed of around 130kph and 80 -120k in 5th in the order of close to 2 minutes (a slight hill may see it not reaching 120) they could well be the slowesr vehicle on the Australian market (smart cars not included)
Is their time limited or will there always be a place for a no bells/whistles workhorse?

Reply By: Member - sparra - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 06:25

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 06:25
g'day davoe,i reckon there will always be a place for them.i have one[75 series trayback] for what i do,a lot of desert touring it suits me.so far 210,000 on the clock with no drama's at all,touch wood. cheers sparra.
AnswerID: 127708

Follow Up By: angler - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 09:58

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 09:58
I sold my 75 series with 285,000 K's on the clock, sad day indeed. SWMBO wanted a bit more comfort after we bought the van. It is still around and I see it occassionaly, the owner still goes up to the gulf and bathurst bay often and so far done almost nothing to the engine. Must half a mill K's on by now. The old 2H is bullet proof. Just keep a spare front left engine mount in the glove box as thats about all that ever fails. Fifth gear jumps out if you don't change the right way. You soon learn.
FollowupID: 382311

Reply By: Member - Chris (SA) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 07:19

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 07:19
You obviously haven't got one.
AnswerID: 127713

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:12

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:12
nope I have a slightly faster 80 series but drive plenty of them for work. Last night drove one with 10,000k on it flat for 100km top speed varied from 115 up slight hills to 135 down same on the flat around 125 - 130
FollowupID: 382323

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 07:26

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 07:26
Interesting post Davoe, me old mate. Given your previous cogitations in 25969.

.............. :o)

AnswerID: 127714

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:09

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:09
dont get me wrong I love em to death but seeing as I drive little else than naturaly aspiratd 1hz (I own one) It is same old same old for me but I recently drove my brothers 1.8 hyundai and it felt like a rocket They are the only tradional 4by left now which makes me wonder if their days are numbered despite their attraction as simple effective company workhorses
FollowupID: 382322

Reply By: warthog - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 09:55

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 09:55
Isn't the 1HZ dead at the end of this year, same as the TD42 Nissan, due to the indirect injection not being able to pass the new emission laws due to come in at the start of 2006?
AnswerID: 127724

Reply By: V8Diesel - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 11:07

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 11:07
I hope not Davoe. The last of the 'real' diesels would be a sad thing. If I had to stake my life on any one vehicle in the entire world it would be the HZJ75 without a shade of a doubt. The single most dependable machine in adverse conditions I've ever used; be it passenger, heavy transport, military.....whatever.

To me, the main attractions of diesels are fast disappearing with the ever increasing sophistication and overstressed construction of current oilers.

The manufacturers fail to grasp that some consumers don't think an IFS, fly by wire, electronically injected, common rail, turboed, intercooled, aluminium radiatored, veloured interiored, 17" rimmed, 5 stud patterned, Hilux diffed, non-7" headlighted, coded keyed, airbagged 4x4 is just the ticket for remote area transport.

K.I.S.S.
AnswerID: 127735

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:59

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:59
AH, i can remember those adds on telly, where the speed sign went from 60 to 100 when the new 1hz diesel 75 tray flew past....
How times change....back then i had a bj70 and everything including the new 80 series 1hz flew past ME.....
AnswerID: 127769

Reply By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:29

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:29
Davoe,
I'd reckon theres little doubt nothing as simple as the 1HZ will be in any new vehicles in a couple of years.

This is why when the stealers wanted at least 30k to swap my 75 for a late model factory TD, I decided I'll be going for 6.5 litres of chev diesel-1 wire for whole motor,can't get much simpler than that.

Matt
AnswerID: 127807

Reply By: jon jenkins - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 14:08

Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 14:08
Unfortunately it is true, the ADR and Australian pollution rules mean that "old style" diesels are a thing of the past. In fact the GU patrol only added a turbo so as to pass the new emission controls. the real problem is actually what is known as particulates and soot.

The new standards known as Euro3 and Euro4 will require all diesels to be of the direct injection type and also to have relatively high turbo pressures and intercoolers. I am not sure when these rules will be applied to trucks and 4WDs but they are already mandatory for passenger vehicles and all government bus purchases must comply.

My GU has over 200,000 km for which I have done much of the basic servicing myself. But I'm reticent to sell because I know that the replacement will be a much more complex computer-controlled diesel which I will simply not be able to work on myself. I am actually looking at a Mitsubishi Canter 4WD as a replacement ..... .don't knock it till you think about it!

jon
AnswerID: 128229