BUSTED100
Hi All,,
A mate of
mine had the weld give way on the eye to one of his Rancho shocks. He rang the distributor 4WD.1 or some thing like that, to ask what the go was with the warrenty (4 months old) and before he had a chance to explain what set up he had on his 80 series the guy starts up with what are you a d!cK head or what our product doesn't do that and you had set it up for the wrong application.
Just having a bitch on the behalf of a mate.
Steven
Reply By: Scubaroo - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 11:30
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 11:30
I've just bought gear from 4WD1.BIZ recently over the phone and had fantastic service. Prices were good too. Shame about your mate's experience.
Reply By: pathfinder - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:43
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:43
Ranchos seem to be ok for competition use in lightly loaded vehicles with big lifts. They seem to have durability "issues" on laden vehicles used for touring...
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:50
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:50
Mine don't have durability issues.
Follow Up By: pathfinder - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 08:31
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 08:31
If you have a heavy 4WD that is used for fully-laden touring and the shocks are more than 50K k, then you can consider yourself lucky Gerhard. For these purposes, OME, Koni and maybe Bilstein would be a more durable option...
Reply By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:16
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:16
G'day,
I too have bought from these guys over the phone afew times and was very happy with price, product and speed of delivery.
Matt
Reply By: Rock Crawler - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:35
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:35
Ranchos belong on the vehicles that they were dersighned for . Jeeps , and cars that weigh the same as jeeps
my 2 bucks worth . I havent seen a cruise or Patrol work
well with either for touring , even on rock crawling , anything past the top setting makes the vehicle bounce uncontrolably . In the chopped up cars with big lifts they seem to work
well
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:48
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:48
Rancho in
Castle Hill were FANTASTIC replacing
mine when they failed, then replacing them when they failed again, then replacing them again when they failed...
They werent keen the 4th time, as I told them I frew em in the bin. Talk about crap shocks.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:04
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:04
From reports they're only good for light vehicles, not a truckster patrol.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:08
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:08
I reckon Cammos QR50 would kill them
Reply By: Member - Algee (NSW) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 13:37
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 13:37
I was thinking of putting Rancho's on my 2004 Nissan. After reading this lot I think I will look elsewhere.
Algee
Reply By: pling - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 21:55
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 21:55
I have Rancho 9000's on a 2002 Patrol with 2'' lift and are very happy with them.
I have traveled to
Cape york,
Simpson Desert, Ann Beadell etc and have not had any hassles. They have done over 50,000 k's.
I would buy again!
Follow Up By: BUSTED100 - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 02:04
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 02:04
Pling
When my mate initially bought the shocks he tells me the sales people were great , it was with the follow up after sales service when he tried to tell them that the weld had given out on the base of the shock that things changed.
Steven
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:29
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 12:29
BUSTED100
you cant see the 2 differences in occasion?
1) he was PAYING OUT...
2) THEY were paying out..
of course their attitude would change like a nissan dealer watching a 3.0 come in on a Tabletop towy
Reply By: BUSTED100 - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 15:20
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 15:20
FAIR CALL.
I'LL PASS THAT ON TO HIM.
STEVEN