Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:25
This Thread has been Locked
Hilux Ute
I have been snooping around for a fridge for summer. We want to get serious and do away with the ice.
I think the best thing to do is get advice from people who use them rather than the salesmen.
Which one is best? Waeco or Engel?
Reply By: DARREN - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:28
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:28
This is one of those Toyota vs Nissan or 3.0 vs 4.2 Patrol debates, but speaking from my experience. I have a 60l Engel permanently in my Patrol and think it is fantastic. 3 mates have the same fridge and have no complaints.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:49
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:49
Engels are crap mate you don't know what you are talking about but I do know cause I have one and the beer is always cold and it has never let me down but my friends tell me it's not big enough as I can't carry enough beer and did I say you should buy a Waeco?
Leroy
PS 3.0lt Patrols are crap and blow up all the time and I don't know why you drive one and who would take a recommendation from you driving a Patrol anyway?
Follow Up By: DARREN - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:13
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:13
Oh yes I did forget to mention that one mate named Leroy who (drives a 3.0 Patrol &) has a 40l Engel which he says is adequate but is often seen to be drinking out of ours fridges whilst spouting nonsense.
If you like beer or catch the occasional decent fish go the 60l, you will not look back.
Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:29
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:29
I saw the new Narva 3 way, 40 litre fridge yesterday and if you have the capacity to carry a gas bottle it looks like a real alternative to the brand names. It is basically the same fridge which Repco are advertising at the moment but has a beefed up compressor for more performance.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:22
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:22
wombie why didnt you tell him which was the best!
its the one I made...dont you remember?
and if he really wants to know which is the best ....tell him to find out for himself...its obvious he aint going to listen to you or I
Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:29
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:29
Wombat,
Ignore the fool. If he has to resort to name calling,
well ...........
Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:31
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:31
Which one did you make Nudie?
Follow Up By: gramps - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:38
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:38
Twin Dogs,
Funny you should say that ............................. :)
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:39
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:39
if you looked really hard you'd swear it was a trail blaza...its actually a copy
Hic hell no! its a work day
Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:50
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:50
hmmm I think I missed the debate. I'm sure there were a few more posts!
Leroy
Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:05
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:05
Hey Wombat old son.
If it's a 3 way .... how does the compressor work on gas ??
:o)
Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:16
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:16
Rosco,
My knowledge of how refridgeration works is limited, to say the least. I assume the Narva fridge works in the same manner as most other three way fridges. I saw it at a photographic shoot and am only repeating parts of a conversation which I overheard.
Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:22
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:22
No worries cobber, I was just having a loan ... ;-)
They have a heat exchanger, just like the old kero fridges.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:24
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:24
I spotted that too wombie, but wasnt going to say anything.
you cant have a three compressor type fridge.....it could be built but it would be expensive as it would need to have two sperately sealed refrigeration systems...one for absorption and one for compressor type...
it would also be bloody heavy:-)...to heavy to lift even without the amber nectar
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:24
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:24
thats the absorption type then
Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:32
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:32
I'd love for someone with the appropriate knowledge to attempt to explain the modus operandi of the different refridgeration systems if they have the time and inclination. I'm sure there are many others on this
forum who would appreciate a lesson.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:52
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:52
now dont take offence wombat...
to understand how it all works one must get the spelling right....refrigeration.....ie not D hehehe
and rosco has put up appropriate site
Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:01
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:01
Me, take offence Nudie? Not this little black duck. It did look wrong when I typed it but I was too lazy to check it. One of those eternal questions about the English language - Why does the abbreviation fridge have a 'd' when refrigeration doesn't?
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:07
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:07
they had the same teacher? dunno really
the bloke running around
adelaide with REFRIDGERATED Vehicle plasterd on the back always gets a phone call from me when I see him.....gee he gets agro!
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:30
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:30
HERE WE GO!! Oh
well I will start it off I got an engal because I had seen them used alot for exploration and to me they were the proven product as I had no experience with others. A search through the archives will show people are happy with any of the 00s of brands coz they all keep the beer cold
Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:30
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:30
I know that you are abour to decide whether to spend a lot of hard-earned on one brand or the other. You will, in the process, stir up a conversation that will be no more conclusive that whether Toyota or Nissan, petrol or diesel are better.
I'd suggest you just do a search here - you'll find several hundred replies to this very question already.
Oh... Engel by the way
Why? Because I have one ;) (which is why most people will push the one they've got - not because they can give you a proper answer)
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:48
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:48
Oh... one more thing. When I see a 24-year-old Waeco still kicking around, I guess I'll be better informed of just how good they are at that point. Until then, I'll go and grab another COLD one from the old-man-in-law's 24 y/o Engel 39, which has not missed a beat in all that time.....and yes - it's used constantly.
Reply By: Drew - Karratha - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:33
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:33
Waeco or Engel - whatever your friends have otherwise they will bag it. I went through the same thing whe I bought
mine (ended up with an Engel Combi Box). Most of my friends have Engels and swear by them. A few have Waecos and they too swear by them. The Waeos are A LOT lighter when empty (and cheaper). I think you will be happy with either. I ended up deciding on the heavier and more expensive Engel because my Grandparents had one that my Dad now has and it works as good now as it did 20 or so years ago when they bought it.
Drew
Follow Up By: DARREN - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:15
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:15
Best answer so far.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:32
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:32
'whatever your friends have otherwise they will bag it'
that's why i bought a Mercury outboard and not a Johnson, I just wouldn't be able to hold my head up high in front of them lol
Leroy
Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:44
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:44
Engel are the best
Follow Up By: Twin Dogs - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:46
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:46
Amen to that
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:48
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:48
what would you two know!
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:27
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:27
you two related...must be twins eh
who wants to be mut 1 and who wants to be mut 2
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:38
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:38
Who know's nudie, we could be your mummy and daddy.
Reply By: Member - ROTORD - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:47
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:47
Either , unless you later wish to buy the separate top section in which case it must be an Engel .
Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:58
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 12:58
Do a search. It's been done to death 98725987623497 times before.....
Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:43
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:43
a Truckster impersonator lol
Leroy
Reply By: Member - Geoff M (Newcastle) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:26
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:26
Hello Hilux Ute,
I have a 20 odd year old Engel of about 40 litres, still going strong. I bought it as a factory second, had some paint scratches and the top panel around the thermostat was slightly bent. But it's never missed a beat, can recommend it.
I also have a 110litre Waeco. Another top fridge. If I had my time again I'd get the 85 litre quite simply because it's a little smaller to transport.
My opinion on the 2 brands would be,
shop on price and pick whichever is the most suitable size for you.
Geoff.
| Geoff,
Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message |
Follow Up By: Twin Dogs - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:52
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:52
Lots of 20 year old Engels around still going strong. Waecos usually crap out after a few years of rough treatment
Reply By: cuffs - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:31
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 13:31
Engel (6 yrs)
P.S. Never had beer long enough to get warm
Reply By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:23
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:23
I wont tell you all again...the best one made is the one I made
Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:33
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:33
Piccies!!!!!!
Specs!!!!!!
Price!!!!!!!
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:42
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:42
price ...it cost me nothing but my time
specs...same size as trail blaza with the rest made up as i went along
picture.....dream of owning a trail blaza
Reply By: Moose - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:26
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:26
Talk to those that repair them - then you'll find out which is best.
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:47
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:47
no point talkin to me...i might be bias
Reply By: lc42003 - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:33
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:33
the response to wombat was unkind and unnecessary.
i regard the
forum as an information source.
if we respond exactly to the question asked and nothing else then important information might not be conveyed.
example
question: what is the road like between a & b?
answer: good road surface - no problems.
the fact that the bridge is out was not conveyed as it was not specifically asked for.
this is not the way i see a
forum such as this operating.
Follow Up By: Twin Dogs - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:36
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:36
Right on dude, too much get the chop here alright.
Follow Up By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:18
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:18
Thanks for the support lc.
Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:50
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:50
Reminds me of the fella that walked into an Irish country pub.
Up to the barman he goes and asks ...
"What'd be the quickest way to Dublin?"
To which the barman says ... "Are ya drivin or walkin?"
"Drivin" says the fella.
"Well that'd be the quickest way." says the barman.
Reply By: flappa - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:42
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 14:42
Neither.
Get an
EvaKool
Follow Up By: Moose - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:02
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:02
Mate you're gonna cop it - he wanted to know which was the best of the two listed, not necessarily which was the best available. Had that been the question you'd be wrong too because Trailblaza would be the correct answer. But then again I'm biased. As is almost everyone else. Ulnless one has and uses one of every brand how can one possibly be unbiased and make a valid judgement? We can only comment on what we own. Except for the repairers, unless of course they specialise in just one or two makes!
Follow Up By: flappa - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:13
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 15:13
Lol , yeah I know.
Its the usual . . . which is best . . .yadda yadda . . . and finally , someone throws something in from left field.
Was my turn ;)
Reply By: mfewster - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:47
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:47
Seeing evryone is talking about everything in this thread, lets go back to discussing the Repco (and maybe the Narvana?)
Repco does have what they say is a new technology
fridge which is different to anything else I have seen. Its threeway but also has a jacket that has to be kept filled with water. Comes in a couple of different sizes. The blurb reckons it will drop below ambient temp enough to be able to freeze in all but really extreme conditions.
A couple of us and the reoco dealer got one out of the box, had a good look at it and read the manual carefully. It doesn't say it has a compressor in it, bit two of the inerested crowd thought they could see something inside that was a compressor. None of us had seen antyhing like it or could figure out how it worked. Everyone wanted someone else to buy one and try it.
Check your local Repco dealer out and post your opinions (but make sure it is the "new technology" model you are talking about as they have plenty of regular tech varieties as well.
Follow Up By: Gerhardp1 - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:46
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:46
Nothing out of China is new technology - they haven't ever invented anything.
Copyright theft is another thing - they are pretty good at that.
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:58
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 16:58
Whatever you do buy a compressor type if you intend to travell a lot.
Absorption fridges are the pits when you are constantly on the move.
Yes I have both and I wouldn't go anywhere without the Engel.
It's had a hard life in the last 10yrs and has not missed a beat.
Only bitch is the beer keeps disappearing.....bugger?
Reply By: Alloy c/t - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:03
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:03
Hilux .,what a can of worms you opend, I have and use both brands ,an 80lt
Waeco and a 15lt Engle , also a 40lt Chescold and a 70lt Bailys esky ,so no real bias to one or the other of your choices , The
Waeco is light compared to an engle of the same size and only 50% of the cost ,uses about the same amps in the real world ,, The Engle is a very good as well and as some have pointed out are well proven long term ,they forget that
Waeco has an even longer history in Europe and the USA ect , Whatever you decide on ,look at it as a long term proposition and get the biggest you can as you can never have " too " much refridgeration when the fish are " on " and the amber is flowing.
Reply By: ChrisGU - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:09
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:09
We've got an 80L weaeco combo fridge/freezer. Never had a problem. Plenty of room. It's been over some rough roads and it just sits back there doing it's thing. It's a few years old now and doubles as the backup
fridge at home so gets a bit of use.
It's also nice having the freezer for those longer trips outback where you can stock up before leaving home with the meats etc you like from a place you can trust, and then just stick them in the
fridge the day before so they defrost some before using them.
I think you'll find both are as good as each other (Engel or
waeco) with similar warranties etc as well.
Reply By: G-wizz - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 07:57
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 07:57
I've got an 80L
Waeco which is marginally too big for my purposes but is reliable and efficient.