Mounting an electric winch

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:31
ThreadID: 26042 Views:5979 Replies:6 FollowUps:6
I have a '94 Toyota Landcruiser with bullbar mounted. I am thinking of mounting an electric winch on it. (It is designed for a winch). However, can anyone tell me what is required to mount a winch e.g. mounting kit etc.
P.S.
I am currently looking at a RUNVA GEW12000 ELECTRIC WINCH
and a Warn 9000.
Any comments?

Reply By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:50

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:50
(a) Never heard of the RUNVA.

(b) Don't buy a warn 9000, because you will end up with the smallest winch on the biggest car syndrome. It only has a 2.5HP motor.

How do I know.

Well I am right in the middle of getting my warn 9000 tricked up to a 9500 (6HP) standard, plus a few other slick things being done/added, because I had the smallest winch (came with vehicle) on the biggest vehicle (troopy)

When I went to do it, I/we found that the 6HP motor wouldn't fit the TJM mother of bar on the vehicle from whence the said winch came out of.

So it was to ARB next day and have their multi winch B/B fitted to the Troopy ($1000). Very nice job it is to, if I say so myself.

So! Two things in this story.

(1) Make sure you get a winch designed for the vehicle. Otherwise its going to cost you $'s later on when you find its underpowered or is just a fancy ornament.

(2) Before paying for what ever you do choose, make sure the sucker physically fits into the bar on the mounts built into the Bar.

Ken Robinson

AnswerID: 127787

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 12:58

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 12:58
Did you ever find the 9000 not up to it? at a previos job we used them frequently to pull fully loaded utes out from saltlake edges no snatchblock and no worries
FollowupID: 382526

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 12:59

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 12:59
arghh think before you post - now I think of it I am pretty sure they were 9500
FollowupID: 382528

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:22

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:22
Ken, did you measure the pulling power of your winch before & after the motor upgrade? The reason I ask is often it's not the size of the motor that limits the pulling power rather the size of the wiring & battery supplying it. I've read that the best a 9,000lb winch will pull on the bottom layer is only 5,000lb because the car's battery sysyem can't supply enough power. Upgrading the motor from 2.5HP to 6HP certainly won't double the pulling power & it's higher power usage will certainly cut the run time down conciderably. A bit like putting a V8 in your car without upgrading the fuel line or petrol tank size. It will starve of fuel & not run very long...
Double blocked a 9,000lb winch will pull a cruiser out of almost any situation. (bar competition)
Cheers Craig........
FollowupID: 382585

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:21

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:21
Evening all.

Nice to see you all taking and interest in what your winch can do.

Just a bit of background.

I purchased my 1997 Troopy from the auctions in Melbourne in 2000.

It was an ex Dept of NRE vehicle that was three yrs old and had 30,000kms on the clock.

It was the cargo carrying version and came with a TJM bullbar and winch and few other extras, like cargo barrier, steps and plastic headlight and bonnet protectors.

The amazing thing is, that all of these extras were to meet then current Dept OH&S requirements. (go figure??).

Anyway I have had a pop top coversion done to it and a full interior camper/kitchen setup installed, plus belly fuel aux tank and a 200L S/steel water tank, plus a S H I T load of other mods done since purchasing.

All up, weighs approx 3.2T.

The winch by the way had never been used, so I had it serviced by ARB to make sure everything was in working order.

Gave the sucker a 'tryout' and much to my shock, horror and dismay that winch struggled like hell to move the vehicle up a moderate slope on undisturbed bush terrain. I had it spooled out so that it was on the first wrap etc etc.

Of course a snatch bloke was tried and that improved things somewhat. However I lost half the length/reach of the rope.

Then I thought I would have a go at driving in 4-4L whilst winching.

Hell! drove straight 'over' the winch and up the cable. ie winch so slow that you can't assist drive.

Solution: nil at that stage and I forgot all about it.

Recently I had the good fortune to be associated with a number of people who are experts at 'boosting/tricking' winches up to get more out of them. Also on how to assist-drive with the winch to lessen the draw on the battery etc etc.

In view of what I gleaned there, I am now having the 9000 winch retro fitted with a 6HP motor, ventilated, marinised and rope on reel capacity enlarged.

I have already piffed the steel rope and fitted a 8mm x 35m plasma rope.

However I reckon I may up grade that to a 10mm 40/45m plasma rope once I figure out how much I can get on.

Also it will be running off a brand new Delkor 27H 710CCA battery.

All up, it will give me:

Increased pulling power
Increased winch speed
Increased rope capacity
No wire splinters
Less heat problems
Less water problems.

And if necessary I'll use either one or both of the 2 snatch blocks I carry as I will have an increased rope capacity to do so.

Thats about it.
FollowupID: 382623

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:37

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:37
Out of interest Lucy or Ken what does it cost to upgrade to a 6HP motor?
FollowupID: 382627

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:55

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:55
As long as you can fit it into your B/Bar on upgrade - about $600.

Just depends on what you want done as 'extras'.

The planetary gears are only checked, serviced. Not altered.

If like my situation where the upgraded ponce wouldn't fit back into the TJM bar, then you have to get one that will accomodate the upgrade, and in my case it was an extra $1000 for the latest ARB 70(all) series one. Nothing fancy, like colour matched pwd coating etc.

Also the actual power cables on mine have to be altered as well (new ones) as Warn only ever supply enough cable for the winch sold, to the minimum mm required. Just one of those little 4WD money pit things that you 'love'.

Ken Robinson

FollowupID: 382630

Reply By: Member - Nick (TAS) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:52

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 17:52
With our Warn 9000 winch,everything needed to mount it came with the winch.This was to a ARB bar.
AnswerID: 127789

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:03

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:03
Terrylay,
If you are looking for a winch support bracket for the back of your bull bar, you have an 80 series with bolt on wings I've got one. If you're interested that is. Don't know where you are or anything else about you, you can get in touch if you want. I got the bracket with the winch when I bought one for my Nissan, obviously don't need it. $20 bucks and the postage and it's yours.
For what it's worth I would go a tad bigger and stick with a well known brand, if they break it's expensive. I Have an X9 winch no problems so far, works well and the spares I have needed have been readily available.
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 127803

Reply By: chump_boy - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 08:04

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 08:04
Let me say up fron I import winches from China, and have just set up my own company selling them.

Our winches come with a mounting plate that basically looks like a U-Channel with a flange for the rollers to bolt onto.

Most ARB, TJM, etc... winch compatible bars will allow the winch to be bolted directly into the bar, with no mounting plate required. If the bar is not winch mountable, you need to have enough room to fit the plate, with the winch bolted on, up inside the Bar. You also need to bolt the plate either to the chasis, or to numerous points on the bull bar.

You would probably need to cut the plate down a bit, and heavily modify the bull bar. Probably look better in the end, and not cost too much more, if you just changed the bar.

Chump
AnswerID: 127873

Reply By: Terrylay - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 11:28

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 11:28
Thanks guys for your input. It has given me plenty to think about.
AnswerID: 127901

Reply By: Willem - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 20:08

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 20:08
I fitted an ARB winch bar and a 9500 Brawn winch. Only when I got home did I find out that ARB bars are manufactured to take Warn winches only. I did manage to fit the winch however with a bit of fiddling.
AnswerID: 128005