Best Turbo Deisel Towing Vehicle ?

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:29
ThreadID: 26047 Views:4510 Replies:8 FollowUps:15
Interested in opinions on the best 4x4 turbo deisel vehicle for towing a 1600kg van
(2000 kg fully loaded). I have been considering a second hand 100 series TD but am concerned about the reported failures of the IFS. Are these failures just on suspension modified vehicles or factory standard also ? Any suggestions / experience would be welcomed.

Reply By: Richard - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:45

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:45
Got a 2005 100TD purchased April with only 15,000K on the clock. It's done 60/40 4WD/City work. Standard apart from alloy bull bar, X9 winch, and spots (rest to come). Have done a small amount of rock hopping and gave it a work out on a recent Simpson crossing. No sign of lower control arm problems yet.

Most problems seem to be in moded vehicles where either the tosion bar is wound up or a lift has been done.
AnswerID: 127812

Follow Up By: TroopyTracker - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:12

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:12
Richard,
I know you said "Most problems seem to be in moded vehicles where either the tosion bar is wound up or a lift has been done." But... It definantly doesn't seem to be ONLY lifted Cruisers that are failing. There was a write up in one of the Traders recently on I think Outback 4WD shop. The owner was adament that he's had customers with standard suspension developing the cracks.

Even so, the so called lifted/modified ones having problems have probably had no more than the standard 2inch lift that doesn't give any problems on live axle Cruisers or Patrols. That lines just a cop out I think. I haven't seen any IFS Cruisers with any major lift at all anyways.

I love Cruisers don't get me wrong, but Toyota should be strung up for this. So what if your 3litre patrol goes poof, at least you'll have all your wheels on! So many IFS 100 series getting round with large caravans attatched to them. Who'll take the blame when afew of these let go at 100 clicks with 3.5T behind them?

If Toyota came out with the option of a live axle it would make alot of people happy but I'm dreaming.

Answer to original question. I'd say a late model (non exploding) 3litre Patrol would be good value for what you want to do. Plenty of people happy with theirs towing much more than you're talking.

Matt
FollowupID: 382449

Follow Up By: Richard - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 18:54

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 18:54
Matt,

I have also heard of at least one standard one with the problem. Got my fingers crossed. Will do a lift sometime but will be limited to around 2". Agree Toyota seem to be hoping the problem will just go away.

Regards Richard
FollowupID: 382593

Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:58

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:58
Chris,

You can get the same 1HD-FTE motor in the 78series Troopie and 79series traytop (minus intercooler). Same 3,500kg towing capacity. Max torque is 380 at 1400rpm. They have the rigid front end and are part-time 4wd. But only available with manual transmission.

AnswerID: 127814

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:28

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:28
F250 without a shadow of a doubt

AnswerID: 127818

Follow Up By: ChrisO - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:31

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 21:31
Forgot to mention that it has to be a wagon, not a ute.
FollowupID: 382436

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:55

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:55
Have to differ BONZ.

The 250 has been found wanting in all aspects so they have release the 650 to take up the slack.

I reckon thats the one I'd pick if it was me
FollowupID: 382460

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 23:13

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 23:13
F250 with a canopy
FollowupID: 382468

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 13:26

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 13:26
The 650 IS a 250 Lucy, just one that someone stuck an apple on the exhaust for a moment

WOW what a truck!

FollowupID: 382534

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:40

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:40
Everyone here knows I wear my heart on my sleeve, so it will come as no surprise that I am pleased to make the following statement.

Here in Kadina (SA), the local Police Detective is the husband of a woman who works with me. I know him well enough to have a decent chat. The SA Police have, for some time, been supplying him 4.2 T/D Patrols. He has been getting a new one every year or so. They spare no expense fitting them out with all manner of radios, bullbar etc. He is NOT a 4 wheel driver as you or I would class ourselves.

Imagine my shock the other day when he pulled up out front of the Bank in a new TD 100 series (with all the same fruit as he used to have on the Patrol). I asked him what the hell happened. He said that SAPOL had had a falling out with Nissan over warranty issues (Nissan refused to fix certain faults cos the coppers had done far too many electrical mods to the Patrols). Anyway, I figured here was a great chance to seek an unbiased opinion on just how much better he thought his new Toyota is than his previous TDi Patrol. Guess what, he said that the Patrol "felt" more torquie and tougher. The yota is easier to drive (ie: slicker gearshifting etc), corners better, is HEAPS quieter than the Patrol. He reckons the seats are wider which he says is actually a "negative" factor as you tend to roll across the seat, whereas the Patrol tended to hug ya bum.

Overall he says he is disappointed and would much prefer to have his Patrol back!!!

I just HAD to get that off my chest. ;-))

AnswerID: 127843

Follow Up By: Member - 'Lucy' - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:54

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:54
Yep! first time Roachie has said anything that makes sense.

However he meant to say the 3.0l model as opposed to the 4.2l one he has that Overheats all the time.

Real smart police dude he was talking to as well.
FollowupID: 382459

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 23:10

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 23:10
C'mon Mr Lucy.......I'm not the sort of idiot who would EVER get mixed up between a 4.2 and a 3.0L trol..............his were definitely 4.2 bangers......:-))
FollowupID: 382464

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 23:13

Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 23:13
lemme know when the local bacon is gettin rid of his patrol, Im lookin
FollowupID: 382467

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 07:54

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 07:54
coppers...you cant trust em can ya!!!
FollowupID: 382487

Follow Up By: Kalgoorlie Escapee - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 08:21

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 08:21
Ther is a sound reason why Nissans are no widely used in the mining industry - they don't cope! I will admit the IFS in the 100 may be an issue, but otherwise there reliability is unquestionable. I used a nissan underground at Olympic Dam, reliability was there with that vehicle, but the remainder of the vehicle was questionable. It is the old Holden versu Ford debate, eitherway the suby is a better car!
FollowupID: 382490

Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 13:35

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 13:35
Roachie, If you need to relax and unwind after such a burden of knowledge, one that you would have wrestled with, that you thought some may have doubted, that is such an affront to yotowners, then come over mate, I will provide food and board and a sympathetic ear. Oh and BEER

FollowupID: 382537

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:15

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:15
Hey Camper,

Don't mean to tread on any toes here. Maybe in the west the miners are driving Yotas but over here in "the Hill" all the boys using headlights day and night (ie driving underground) are in Patrols.

Now that may be simply 'cause the lights are better, but I dought thats the only reason.

Duncs.
FollowupID: 382584

Reply By: Old Johno [NSW] - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 16:26

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 16:26
ChrisO,
I changed from a 2000 Nissan GU 3.0 Auto to a 2004 GU 4.2 intercooled & added a 3" mandrel bent exhaust system with through flow muffler, plus a 3" turbo dropper.

I have just returned from a trip up north towing a tandem pop top caravan & the patrol loaded up for a Simpson Desert crossing. Did 15,000Km's over a 10 week perioid & was more than happy with the total vehicle. Towing was easy & on outback roads sat on 100k's in overdrive and the GU ate the miles up.
AnswerID: 127955

Reply By: Redback - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 18:02

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 18:02
100 series 4.2TD or supercharged V8, or the F250 7.3ltr TD or F150 4.2ltr TD, no others come close, all of these vehicles have 155Kw or more!!!!!!!

AnswerID: 127974

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 23:03

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 23:03
And so did the mighty ford explorer 4lt v6 in auto form!!!
FollowupID: 382632

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 23:14

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 23:14
Oh yeah 157Kw to be presice, the others i mentioned are better off road though, in that i mean a stronger drivetrain.

FollowupID: 382635

Reply By: Member - Tim - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 00:36

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 00:36
Hang on there, he's only talking about 2000kg fully loaded. There are a lot of 4wds that will handle that. About the best would be the DiD Pajero. Much better economy than you could ever get out of a cruiser or patrol and heaps of torque for the towing. No I don't own one, I still have a petrol but I have been on trips with a friend who was towing with one and it's pretty impressive.

Tim.
AnswerID: 128042

Reply By: peterseaford - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 07:23

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 07:23
I have an nm pajero exceed and an off road van- down ball 220k gross 1900k . 9 lt per 100 without the van max 14 lt per 100 with van and head wind at speed limit for 12 hours drive The Entrance to Seaford.
much better than most i believe.
regards peter
AnswerID: 128528