DUAL BATTERIES
Submitted: Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 20:56
OLDMAGPIE
FIRST TIMER SO BEAR WITH ME IVE HOOKED UP THE BATTERIES & SOLENOID BUT I WANT RUN TO THE BACK OF MY UTE & PUT AN ANDERSON PLUG FOR CAMPER TRAILER ,FRIDGE ETC . FROM THE AUX BATTERY IVE RUN 25MMM CABLE TO NEAR THE FIREWALL WHERE THERE IS AN EXISTING TWIN CABLE THAT RUNS TO THE BACK THIS CABLE IS 2 X 4MM AUTO , MY QUESTION IS CAN I JOIN THESE TWO TO MY NEW 25MM + CABLE TO INCREASE THE SIZE & REDUCE THE VOLTAGE DROP. THERE IS ALSO ANOTHER TWIN 4MM CABLE ALONGSIDE I COULD USE FOR THE EARTH BACK TO BATTERY OR CONNECT TO CHASSIS AT REAR? THANKS IN ADVANCE FOR YOUR ANSWERS . PS. THIS
FORUM ROCKS.
Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:16
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 22:16
PS. THIS
FORUM ROCKS....... yes!!!
you have 25mm cable and want to join it to 2 x 4mm cables....
yes you can join it :-(
BUT why not do the job correctly !!!!
use 25mm cable all the way and you should not have any or maybe only a small voltage drop... I use 32mm with no voltage drop.. some say it's over the top!
Use a (-) return cable of the same size as the (+) cable and connect it to the (-) battery terminal.
The larger the diameter electrical cable you use, the less voltage loss you suffer!
Follow Up By: OLDMAGPIE - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:10
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:10
thanks for your reply mainey in the back of my mind i new thats what i should do just getting lazy & eager at the same time 'cause im heading south in a fortnight to
esperance. its only for ten days but cant wait,and SORRY FOR YELLING AT YOU ROACHIE WONT HAPPEN again. cheers
Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 23:04
Thursday, Sep 01, 2005 at 23:04
G'day Oldmagpie,
I agree with the other response and won't try to elaborate on that.......
....the only reason I'm responding is to ask you ....PLEASE DON'T SHOUT AT US!!!!
Seriously though, typing your message in upper case (CAPITALS), is considered to be shouting nd should only be done when you're ANGRY.
Keep up the questions and welcome to the
forum mate
Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:56
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:56
Hello
Young Bill
Dunno what I did but on arrival home today I decided to check out the aircon again on the GQ and blow me down, it's working. After replacing the pulley a couple of weeks ago it still wouldn't work but today I checked all the fuses and 'voila'. There you go.
Its raining here tonite ......and cold..brrrrr
Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 17:15
Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 17:15
Good work Willie,
It could have just been a dodgy fuse contact or something.....I've heard of fuses not making contact until they've been removed and shoved back in....those glass ones in translucent plastic in-line holders are notorious for corroding etc.
Pretty cold here too but the rain is sooooooooo needed that we aren't complaining. Been out and had a little play in th mud today too.
Cya mate