Navman
Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 13:57
cruiser
Hi everyone. Have heard a rumour that the Navman is useless in Victoria. can anyone confirm this and if it is true, why is it so.
Reply By: Peter McGuckian (Member) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 15:09
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 15:09
Not true
Follow Up By: cruiser - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 15:24
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 15:24
Peter,
Thanks for the reply, but for the sake of my education, could you please tell me if you are in Vic and if so, are you in or around the
Melbourne area and what is your experience (obviously good from your response) with the Navman and what model do you have.
There is a dealer up here in NSW telling everyone that they are no good as they have just returned from
melbourne and that it just didnt work properly in Victoria, however they reckon it worked great everywhere else.
Even the local HN manager reckons they are no good because one of his mates who runs a HN in Victoria "said so"
Everyone up here is trying to flog the Tom Tom GO 300 (only released in June in Oz - made in the Netherlands)
Just gets confusing when this sort of thing happens and is difficult to know what to buy.
Reply By: Scubaroo - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 15:53
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 15:53
Haven't got one - but Navman uses data & maps provided by Sensis - who are based in
Melbourne (QV Building on Swanston to be exact). I've worked with their mapping data for web applications.
So you would think that someone in NSW telling you the Navman is crap for use in Victoria (using data from an organisation based in Victoria) is probably just trying to sell you something else they either have in stock or make more money on. Or maybe they simply have no idea and are just parroting unfounded rumours?
Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 15:57
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 15:57
Works fine everytime....
All specs for
mine under rig profile...
Used it all over
Melbourne, Vic, Tassi, SA, NSW, Queensland and NT
Stan
Reply By: cruiser - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 16:06
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 16:06
Thanks for the replies. Hard to know why they would do that, cause the dealer specifically picked on Vic as a problem area and said rest of Oz was OK.
Thanks anyway.
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 16:53
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 16:53
Heaps of people happily use the navman in Vic with no problems. Perhaps you should tickle the dealer for some more info on the problem he was having, second thoughts find another dealer.
Reply By: Peter McGuckian (Member) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 16:23
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 16:23
Cruiser
works just fine. Wife uses it every day. No problems at all. Even good for offroad tracks.
Cheers Peter
Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:08
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:08
Does sound like advertising hype.
And if you come from Qld or NSW and told it doesn't work in Vic, we would believe it without a doubt. They are different down there from all reports :0)
Reply By: The Explorer - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 18:16
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 18:16
What exactly was the issue in question - ie no sat pick up or the maps?...Obviously form replies ther eis no issue ..just curious as to what the basis of "Useless in Vic" was.
| I sent one final shout after him to stick to the track, to which he replied “All right,” That was the last ever seen of Gibson - E Giles 23 April 1874 Lifetime Member My Profile My Blog Send Message Moderator |
Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 18:32
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 18:32
the navman sounds like most things in vic even the people.
hahaha
Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 20:00
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 20:00
HI Cruiser. I own a NAVMAN and travel all over VIC mate it worked fine as it does all over our country model no MIO168. Sounds like somone is telling you porkys????
Buy it and learn how to use it you couldnt be more impressed with its performance
My navigator can now sleep as navman is much more freindly.
Regards BILLS
Reply By: Peter McGuckian (Member) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 20:01
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 20:01
Just for interest, I paid a visit to the HN
shop in Knox, eastern suburbes
Melbourne this evening. They sell the Mio range, tomtom and navman but not the new 520 - competes with the smaller Mio (which sells for $699). They were certainly trying to psh the Tomtom at $1299. But guess what, both Tomtom and Navman use UBD Sensis maps, so what possible difference could there be?
The Mio has some features the others miss so may be wrth a look but not sure about map accuracy. I suspect that the Mio and Navman are made in the same Taiwanese factory as it looks very simalr to the Navman 510.
Reply By: Flash - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 21:33
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 21:33
My Navman works a treat,
Vic NSW Qld WA NT TAS all "tested" so far. (Not SA yet as I flew to WA.)
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:46
Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 22:46
Id ask the "dealer" what the issues are, even push him to put them in writing to prove to you he isnt talking out of his anus.
then contact NAVMAN and inform them of this dealer and what he said...
They are a good company, they may even reward you.
Reply By: Member - AVA 191 (QLD) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 21:18
Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 21:18
hmm...seems strange to suggest that a Navman doesn't work yet other GPS's do - there are black spots but they affect ALL gps's rather than one brand over another.
While I havent had my Mio168 in Vic or Tassie, it's certainly worked
well Darwin to
Adelaide, Brissie to
Perth. There is interference at Narangba, Qld which throws it out by 300m, but usually its within 50m which is accurate enough for what I want.
The Navman and the Mio168 (last years series) are identical except for the flip-off badge that says either Navman or Mio.