8l/100km in a Nissan!!..................................

Submitted: Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:11
ThreadID: 26075 Views:3116 Replies:5 FollowUps:7
Did a quick 1800km return run down in to the deep south(Victoria) over the past week and clocked up 8l/100km in the Xtrail sitting on SA and and Vic speed limits. With fuel prices they way they are it was a good result. The Xtrail normally does 10lt/100km but this time we did have a bit of a tail wind. :o)

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:18

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:18
Show off.
AnswerID: 127968

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:04

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:04
Hahahahaha

How are you, Duncs. Just started drizzling here this a evening. Will be passing through your place just before Xmas and will call in.

FollowupID: 382597

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 14:50

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 14:50
G'day Willem.

We got a couple of drops late yesterday(Friday) it started raining here about 3am Saturday morn and has rained pretty well since then.

Should be home for Christmas, look forward to seeing you. Hope to head east just after New Year for the usual sya g'day to the family thing.

FollowupID: 382707

Reply By: Member - John C (QLD) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:34

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:34
I can do that too sitting on a 100km/hr with a 60km/hr tail wind!

In very early days BWK (before wife and kids), got 80mpg out of a 1600 beetle going the 120k from Brisbane to the north coast.

Sat 2m behind a greyhound bus.:-)

Seriously - good on you Willem.

Lets start a new fuel economy challenge for everyone that doesn't involve how big that rock, or hill, or deep that river is that has to be crossed.

Anything is fair go as long as you are honest about the tweaks you used to do it. Oh, better make that legal as well?
AnswerID: 127970

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:06

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:06
John, are you sure you weren't attached to the bus?....lol
FollowupID: 382598

Reply By: Member - Marquis F (NSW) - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:56

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 17:56
So... The turbo diesel does that most of the time ;)
( Which is not bad for a 2500kg wagon )
AnswerID: 127972

Follow Up By: Willem - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:07

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 19:07
Is it stationary?
FollowupID: 382599

Reply By: Flash - Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 21:29

Friday, Sep 02, 2005 at 21:29
Good Willem....
but how's 12.95 l/100klms towing a 2.5tonne (and a bit...) caravan over 3,500klms of mostly bitumen road in April. (probably 150 kays of good dirt)
I know some people will think not possible, say I was sitting on 60 clicks etc- but the fact is that's what I got sitting on typically 85km/h. (It's a VERY aerodynamic van! )

Good ol' GQ Patrol! I was travelling in company with a 100 series, a GU and an 80 series (all diesel). We all filled up at the same time and my mates were all amazed! Oh, and BTW I was NOT tailgating!
I'm happy!
AnswerID: 128020

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 09:11

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 09:11
Yeah I used to get 25l/100km towing my 27footer with the old G60(petrol) but that was when the fuel price was 75c/l. It would really hurt with the present fuel prices...lol

Careful driving can lead to good economy. Cruise Control helps too. The weather can also play an important part.

FollowupID: 382667

Follow Up By: Flash - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:26

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:26
Yeh, don't think we'll ever see 75cpl again, sadly.

BTW the GQ TD42 is not standard, Turbo, 3" exhaust and a few other mods, but I reckon it's brilliant. My mate in his high tech (and expensive) 100 series used about 25% more diesel than mine, towing a smaller (but admittedly less aerodynamic) van!
FollowupID: 382733

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 16:59

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 16:59
Probably due to the alcohol injection Bro and Judith's light foot driving Southward ;-o). Glad you got back to hometown Peterborough safely......
AnswerID: 128126

Follow Up By: Willem - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:37

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:37
No no no no nooooooooooooo. This happened before the fateful event and I lay the blame squarely at your feet. The aftermath I can take the blame for....lol
FollowupID: 382736