Am I Crazy?

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 05:04
ThreadID: 26089 Views:3817 Replies:11 FollowUps:4
G'day I am an Australian woman living in Chicago and I am planning to take my two children who will be 6 (girl) and 10 (boy) travelling around Australia for one year. This is something I have wanted to do for some time. I want my two kids to understand what an amazing country they too belong to.

Problem is that I will doing it mostly alone with them and dont really know where to start.

I am concerned about two things mainly. Will it be safe and will my children go crazy (me too) ?

If anyone has done anything similar to this or has any links that could help me I would be very much appreciative.

thank you

nina

Reply By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 07:37

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 07:37
Maybe a list of what you want to do and see, the bush or the cities, or both, do you plan on 4wding?

I'm sure everyone here would be more than happy to help with what's a must do in their area.

I'll start the ball rolling, I'm from the ACT, so if we're on your list let me know, and I'll put together some stuff for you.

Sandy
AnswerID: 128055

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 07:48

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 07:48
Yes, your kids will go crazy and yes, you will too.... but you will have the adventure of a lifetime!!!! And it woill all be worthwhile!!

Just plan it as best as possible, and be sure to be in the right area's at the "right" time of year... that is... don't tackle the desert or the Cape in summer!!! Prepare as best as you can and you will have a ball!!!

Good on you!
AnswerID: 128058

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 08:14

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 08:14
Safe?
Pretty safe. Dingo attacks rare (Azaria, Fraser Island) Crocs - only if you swim or fish in their rivers. Snakes only bite Toyota drivers. Spiders: rare fatality in Sydney/South Coast region. Shark activity (against humans) confined mainly to coastal waters. Bushfires are mostly confined to the southern states in the summer months. Floods, cyclones etc check with Bureau of Meteorology. Murders seem to afflict Poms, backpackers etc. Deaths due to heat exposure also only in summer months (take an Epirb and stick with vehicle). MVAs can occur at any time, but you can reduce risk by careful driving.
Crimes like rape and robbery are more a problem in the cities.
All in all you should be reasonably safe.
AnswerID: 128060

Follow Up By: Member - Jack - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:01

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 18:01
Hi Bob:

You didn't mention drive-by shootings ... or were you hoping not to scare the lady?

: )

Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

FollowupID: 382731

Follow Up By: ninamaxmia - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 23:12

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 23:12
drive by shootings?

I live in Chicago remember!

nina
FollowupID: 382802

Reply By: Pluto - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 08:34

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 08:34
It sounds like an excellent idea.

In WA, I would recommend you visit:
In the North
Karajini National Park
Marble Bar
The Gibb River Road (a 4WD is recommended and mandatory if you want to see the Mitchell Falls)
Paynes Find, Mt Magnet, Yalgoo area (If you're there in wildflower season)
Purnululu NP (4wd required)
Cape Range NP & Exmouth

In the South
Esperence & Cape Le Grande NP
Pemberton
Nannup
The Pinnacles (at Cervantes)
Fitzgerald River NP (4wd recommended, sturdy walking boots essential)

If you want to wade around with the Dolphins, go to Bunbury (not Monkey Mia) or Hamlin Bay (They have Stingrays there instead).

For Excellent tucker in interesting places, I would recommend Finlay's at Kalbarri and the little Thai resturant in the Porongurups

That's just a general general hit list for you.
AnswerID: 128061

Reply By: Notso - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 10:03

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 10:03
No mate you are not crazy,

Just make sure you have the vehicle to go where you want to go. The kids will learn more doing this than at any school.

No matter how close you think you are to the next town or service station always take heaps of water when up North. About April to go North of Brisbane and by the end of September South of Carnarvon Approximately!

Remember that there are absolutely no bad roads in Aus, just a few bad drivers who don't drive to the conditions. (Hint)

Make sure you talk to people as you travel. You will get heaps of info on places to see and things to do. As well as info you will strike up friendships with people as you travel.

Above all else, don't have strict deadlines to be in one place or another. Leads to pushing on when you are tired or missing beaut places because you have to be somewhere.

Enjoy!
AnswerID: 128070

Reply By: Lyds- Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 10:15

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 10:15
Hi Nina,

The other consideration is that if you are on your own travelling can be mentally and physically draining.

On our last trip my Wife got quite sick over the last two weeks, so I had to do nearly everything. When you look at all the packing and unpacking you need to do even just to have a meal, along with the long drives, the managing, occupying and educating of 2 kids, day to day organising (destinations, accomm, shopping, etc), and thats just when things are going well, you could be up for some very busy days.

Having said all that, I'd rather be out doing it than not.

I thought the crazy bit was you living in Chicago :-)
AnswerID: 128071

Follow Up By: ninamaxmia - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 23:11

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 23:11
stuart
i like your idea about the all-terrain rental car.
did you get a special deal for this? was it long term?
do you think a 4WD combi would do the job - is there such a thing?

nina

FollowupID: 382800

Reply By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 10:54

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 10:54
Hi Nina, I was asked a similar question by a Swiss lady I brought back from Cape York last year as part of a tour group. She had previously travelled though Oz on trains and bus tours and hadn't enjoyed the crowds or the pace. She also wanted to travel all over Australia by herself and asked me to train her in 4wd driving in remote areas. Even tho she was a competent driver, I explained even something as simple as a puncture could have dire consequences for a woman travelling alone in a remote area. She eventually did some sums on hireing or buying a 4wd vehicle, fuel and accomodation expences and the safety aspects before deciding it was more practical to charter an experienced driver\guide and vehicle. Between November last year until May we did approx 45k klms including, from my home base in Cairns, Darwin, Broome, Alice Springs, Uluru, Tasmania and back up the east coast to Cairns. This may be an option you hadn't considered and could work out more economical than purchasing a vehicle by the time you take into account depreciation, maintenance costs and the safety aspect. By travelling in a private personal tour you can go where you want to go at your own pace and an experinced guide can show you places you would be totally unaware of. The Swiss lady was very happy with our tour and is back home now planning where she would like to go on her next visit to Australia. If something like this is of interest to you or anyone else plesse feel free to contact me. Cheers Rob
AnswerID: 128073

Reply By: Footloose - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 13:06

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 13:06
Have I missed something here ? You're living with 2 kids in Chicago ? Now THAT'S crazy ! :) Oz will be a walk in the park.
AnswerID: 128094

Reply By: ev700 - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 15:17

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 15:17
Hi nina,
Sunburn is your only risk ;-).

Do the Northern areas (ie above the Tropic of Capricorn) during the Australian winter - say from April to end September.

How do you intend to travel? A friend just bought a second hand three berth ex-hire campervan in good order. These keep their value and you could consider something like that. Same licence as a car and some are automatics.

Makes it easy - you can stay mainly in caravan parks and the roads are good.
AnswerID: 128116

Reply By: Mike DiD - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 16:47

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 16:47
Hi Nina

If you're not used to it, one of the big dangers will be the boredom of LONG distance driving without a driver to swap with.

We spent three months touring with a 5-yr old. Surprisingly he was quite happy to sit there during the long drives (no DVDs 15 yrs ago.)

We would generally drive for 12 hours (swapping every 2 hrs) - then camp for 2nights - repeat.
AnswerID: 128123

Reply By: ninamaxmia - Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 23:02

Saturday, Sep 03, 2005 at 23:02
ahhh...

I love Australians! Thank you so much for your replies -

I have given myself a couple of years to plan and after reading your responses I feel like the ball has slowly started rolling.

So I guess the magic question to ask is what kind of vehicle?
will a cosy campervan get me to those beautiful places that are still pristine? Will a rugged 4WD get me into trouble? With two relatively spoilt kids growing up in the city - I think that forcing them to live in a tent for 1 year might be a bit rough - so its probably going to be a campervan.

any brands to look out for?
also do you know if there are any organisations that specialize in hooking up with other families that are 'on the road'?

nina

AnswerID: 128169

Follow Up By: Rock Crawler - Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 08:20

Sunday, Sep 04, 2005 at 08:20
Hi Nina , you can email me on wholesalecars@optusnet.com.au we can have a chat about what type of vehicle you may need

Regards EC
FollowupID: 382832