Softening Hilux suspension

Submitted: Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:00
ThreadID: 26144 Views:8958 Replies:4 FollowUps:4
I'm considering buying a dual cab hilux between 1995 and 2000. I'd prefer a Prado but hiluxes are better on fuel. The only thing I don't like about Hiluxes is the firm ride. The back seat, especially, is really uncomfortable and even more so off road.

Just wondering if anyone has changed the suspension in their Hilux to improve the ride. I really don't care about the payload, it wouldn't bother me if it came down to 600kgs.

Planning on doing some off roading in it, including trips west and towards the cape (I'm in Townsville). Would also be used around town and, obviously, highway.

Just wondering what setups other people have and how much they cost. Would all four corners need to be changed to get a decent improvement? Or would I get away with just changing the back?

thanks a lot.

matt

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:04

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:04
Same as you can lift a car, lower a car, firm the suspension, you can soften it..

You should always match the back to the front, but wait till you get it and fit it out before you change it. Then weigh it, then go shopping
AnswerID: 128365

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:24

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 14:24
My 93 Lux rides quite nicely, aint no sedan but it's quite comfortable. It's got a full ARB suspension kit on it with a coupla inches lift so heaps of clearance. Long range petrol and LPG tank also which adds weight and improves the ride.
AnswerID: 128368

Reply By: troy - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:13

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:13
pre 97 hilux's have leaf springs all round so a rougher ride but the post 97 have the independent front end which gives it a smoother drive but lacks the wheel travel in comparisment to the older models.
troy
AnswerID: 128411

Follow Up By: mattlobie - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:56

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:56
I thought the pre 97 SR5s also had IFS. Can anyone confirm?

Yeah, I'd prefer the IFS - the wheel travel isn't a big deal for me but the comfort is.

matt
FollowupID: 383059

Follow Up By: troy - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:59

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:59
my 95 is leaf sprung all round and the brought in IFS with the new shape/engine in 97troy
FollowupID: 383062

Reply By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:46

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 18:46
Hi there mattlobie 88/97 all the same shape but later model have ifs my'n has solid front end (full diff). I have ome all round, springs, shocks, steering dampner, I reckon it's great, yes it's still firm but doesn't shake the bleep ter out of you like my mates does not sure what he's got but it's shocking need a kidney belt, mine has a 2 inch lift + an extra leaf in the back as we carry so much when we travel, eg 160L water tank, all the usual stuff that most people take when travelling + I've got a rack on top of canopy with 2 spares. When its loaded rides very smooth and doesn't sag in the arse end. I was a bit hesitant about putting in the extra leaf as I didn't want it too ride like a go cart but it's pretty good,even roun town with the canopy off as I ony use it when travelling otherwise a pain to see out of especially as I've had the back window tinted an is very hard to see out of it still doesn't bounce around. The ifs is slightly smoother up front but not much difference in the rear end.People have to remember that d/cabs single/cabs were meant for a majority of tradesman carrying around there work gear so they are set up that way.If you can afford it if going diesel go the 3litre turbo 2.8 are very sluggish,as thats what Ive got. Has been around oz twice but a bit painfull on hills. Sits on 100kph all day on the flats.Have you thought about a 4 runner available in v6 or 2.8 diesel,my mate has one as he couldn't afford the prado he has ome in that + 2inch lift doesn't have the wheel travel iv got but still gets where we want to go. There was a forum not long ago about ome being a good set up. Will try and find it and let you know, and no I dont have any thing to do with the sales of ome I work for a pharmaceutical company. Take Care Steve M
AnswerID: 128426

Follow Up By: mattlobie - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 19:31

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 19:31
Thanks for the reply Steve.
I've heard a few people say the OME setups are good. They seem a bit extreme price-wise though. I'll probably only engage the 4wd a few times a year so I don't need a high performance off-road setup. Just something of decent quality that will improve the ride.

How much did your OME setup (just the springs & shocks) cost if you don't mind me asking?

Thanks for the engine advice. I'm actually seriously considering the 2.7 petrol. Diesel here in Townsville is more expensive than unleaded so fuel costs would probably be comparable to a diesel, plus I'll save on maintenence and it'll have lots more power than a 2.8D or 3.0 straight diesel (the turbos are out of my price range). I know the long term reliability isn't as good as a diesel but I'm only planning on keeping it for a few years until I can afford a diesel Prado. Having said that I wouldn't knock back a 2.8D or 3.0D in good nick for the right price.

I have considered 4runners and if one in decent nick came up in a 2.8D (the V6s guzzle the fuel like there's no tomorrow) I'd buy it tomorrow but they're as rare as hens teeth. About as rare as 2.7 petrol Prados, which I'd also be very interested in.

One last question. Would the 2 inch lift be any more expensive than a suspension replacement with no lift?

thanks mate

matt
FollowupID: 383069

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 21:12

Monday, Sep 05, 2005 at 21:12
To be honest with you I cant remember I think it was about $1200.00 but that was them doing the job I just looked at the invoice but can't make out the price. That was back 1992 and still have the same in there now. The front leaf springs are just starting to sag and the front shocks are starting to rattle,but all the bushes are still ok. I will be replacing them in the next couple of months but am going to do the work myself I have a bit more mechanical knowledge than I did back then but will be replacing with exactly the same thing.I can't tell you for sure as it was a while ago but I think it was about $200 more for the shocks for the longer travel. Definately worth the few $$$ extra to raise it as if you do decide to go off the beaten track you can get to a few more places with the extra clearance. I was not going to lift it when I got it was just going to get the extra leaf in the back cause it sagged due to the weight we carry but got talked into it but was glad I did. Prices have probably changed alot since then might even be cheaper now as it is a very common lift (2inch). As you can see in my pic profile that's with the lift. Also that is the legal lift that most general (eg nrma,gio)insurance companies will insure you with, have been told that any higher than 2 in needs a engineers report. Dont know how true that is ? Might be different up your way. Take Care Steve M
FollowupID: 383098