Prado 90 Series GXL rims

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 21:57
ThreadID: 26219 Views:3382 Replies:9 FollowUps:3
G'day gang,

I'm trying to track down one or two (or more if I have to) of the above for my Hilux. They are as rare as the proverbial!!! - anyone got any or know of whre I can make enquiries.

I've tried all the obvious places like the trading post, classifieds, wreckers etc.

Thanks in advance,

Reply By: Tbreak - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:20

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:20
There's one with a tyre on it listed on the for sale pages on this site.

Graeme
AnswerID: 128748

Follow Up By: Tbreak - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:24

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:24
Look under Parts & spares
FollowupID: 383344

Reply By: Jimbo (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:26

Tuesday, Sep 06, 2005 at 22:26
Thanks guys, but the one here is a 16 x 6 RV wheel; the GXL is a 16 x 7.
AnswerID: 128752

Reply By: dezmo - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 00:01

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 00:01
Try this link mate:

http://forums.overlander.com.au/viewtopic.php?t=30941

Ben
AnswerID: 128769

Reply By: dezmo - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 00:01

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 00:01
crap, just realised they were in adelaide..
AnswerID: 128770

Follow Up By: Jimbo (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 00:06

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 00:06
Thanks anyway Ben,
FollowupID: 383355

Reply By: Grinner - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 10:12

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 10:12
I'm managed to get a couple of mine through my local tyre place. He had a contact with another place that did a lot of work in people upgrading to alloy wheels, who would trade-in / leave behind their old steel wheels. Mind you this was before the new model came out.

I also managed to by 5 from a guy in the trading post. He had a van full of Prado and LC steel rims. His story was that he worked for a toyota dealer and was able to get them after upgrades to alloy wheels.

I'm near melbourne by the way.

Grinner :)
AnswerID: 128818

Reply By: Wizard1 - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 11:12

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 11:12
I bought a brand new (still in the box) extra rim for my GXL a couple of years ago for $50, yes $50, from a 4WD wrecker out in the the Eastern suburbs of Perth, Guilford/Midland way. Can't recall the name, but there were a few in the area.

Best of luck.

Wizard
Prado TD
Gold Coast
AnswerID: 128823

Reply By: Deesy - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:37

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:37
Hi there
My husband just bought a rim for our Prado from a wreckers in Midvale and he said they had just bought in another wrecked Prado from the goldfields. He can't remember the address but it is one street back from Farrell Rd in Midvale. Hope this helps.
Diana
AnswerID: 128853

Reply By: prado_95 - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 21:26

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 21:26
have you checked the Prado List adds;

http://www.geocities.com/prado_95/forsale/forsale.html

A couple of genuine rims & some ROH's

AnswerID: 129179

Reply By: Jimbo (WA) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 00:20

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 00:20
Thanks to all for your responses.

Thanks Deesy, I went to that wrecker and got one for $125 (OUCH!!). That really annoyed me since I got the first four for $200 from the quokka. But, never the less, I now have a set of 5 and can change over.

Thanks again all.
AnswerID: 129211

Follow Up By: Deesy - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 11:36

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 11:36
No worries, glad you got one.
Diana
FollowupID: 383731