WHAT TYPE OF 4WD DO I BUY

Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:02
ThreadID: 26238 Views:2903 Replies:14 FollowUps:13
I am looking to buy a 4wd to tow a horse float with. My float weighs 900 kilos and 2 horses about 550 -700 kilos.

out of 15000kms per year approx 3000-5000 kms will be done towing the float the rest of the time the vehicle will be used as a family car.

I was thinking along the lines of a Prado. Do in need Turbo diesel or will petrol do the job? Is a 3.0 litre turbo diesel partol or a pajero a good alternative.

I have had a lot of conflicting information, but cannot work out which way to go.

Reply By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:16

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:16
Any of the above will do the job.
Turbo diesel wins for torque. Petrol wins for power.
The diesels get more milage per tank than the petrols.
So it depends what you're after. For towing I'd say go the diesel. As a family car you can't beat the petrols, IMO.
Buying a diesel to tow for 20% of the time means you have a lesser performing vehicle for the other 80% of the time as a family car. So if you're a bit of a petrol head (like me) then buy the petrol version, much more mumbo than the diesels.

Not much to choose between them as far as running expenses go these days. Initial purchase price of diesel can be considerable more than a petrol; you need to work out if it's worth it.

Don't even consider a naturally aspirated diesel.

The Prado or Pajero make a better family car then the bigger Cruiser or Patrol. Similar interior space and cheaper to run.
AnswerID: 128844

Follow Up By: Rob from Cairns Offroad Training & Tours - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 20:21

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 20:21
If its a turbo deisel make sure it an auto.
FollowupID: 383472

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 22:20

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 22:20
Diesel "lesser performing"? Try a CRD. It will change your mind. I reckon my CRD-engined Jeep is a genuine sports car compared to the 4L petrol version. With 120kw & 400nm from 1800rpm it goes like stink - and all for 8L/100km. It's a beautiful machine as a family car and it tows our float and 16.2 hand horse like it wasn't even there.

Maybe one of the new common rail Toyotas? Are they doing CRD's in anything other than the Hilux yet?
FollowupID: 383484

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 22:25

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 22:25
Actually - what about trying the new Grand Cherokee with the 3.0L CRD V6 - 160kw and 510nm. Goes harder than the 4.7 V8 version (0-100 in 9 flat) and tows houses for breakfast. It even out-torques the new 5.7 Hemi bu 10nm. Oh... and it returns around 8.5-9.0L/100km. Can't hurt to take one for a spin...

Only thing I don't like about it is the new IFS up front - but that may suit you as a family car requirement. Much better handler than mine with the live axle.
FollowupID: 383485

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:25

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:25
Go the F250 ford... nothing else will do..
AnswerID: 128848

Reply By: signman - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:37

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 13:37
Gotta agree with Truckster (for a change). Most of the 'horsey' people around here-
and there's heaps of them- have the F250 7.6 turbo.
I'm looking over the equestrian centre at the moment.
AnswerID: 128852

Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 14:00

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 14:00
Which equestrian centre Signman?
FollowupID: 383414

Reply By: Well 55 - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 14:56

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 14:56
Having towed two horses in and out of the Vic High country from the ACT, a Patrol or Crusier would be the better of the "small 4WD's" a F250 would be even better.

My 4.2 TD does a good job, I think far better than the Pajero/Prado size.
AnswerID: 128870

Reply By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 15:16

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 15:16
At an all up weight of less than 2.5 tonne, do you really need a 4WD, particularly as you say the vehicle will be a family car for most of its life. Can't honestly see the reason for an F250, no good around shopping centers, underground carparks, and schools and a b***h in traffic.

If you insist on the 4WD then the Terracan 2.9CRDI has more power/torque than the Prado, is buckets cheaper and will perform all of the functions you require. Prado these days is old technology diesel. Save you money for the fuel............
AnswerID: 128875

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 22:54

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 22:54
Gotta agree with Gary. An F250 seems like overkill and not really practical as a family car. My folks carted us kids, 2 thoroughbreds and all the camping and horsey gear around the countryside for years with a V8 Ford Marqui. Before that they used a Nissan Urvan (gutless and slow granted but it did the job). A Prado, Patrol or L/cruiser would easily do the job. See plenty of them being used for that very purpose on any given weekend around here.

:o) Melissa
FollowupID: 383667

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 15:21

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 15:21
Is the 4by just to tow the float? if so i would consider getting a car. we used to have an f100 to tow 2 to 3 horses but that was because it was also a campervan.
before that towing was done with a vf valiant. Most people in the pony club did there towing with fords holdens etc. Owning a 4by is alot of extra expense if you arnt going to use it
AnswerID: 128876

Reply By: Member - Marquis - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 16:57

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 16:57
1600kg

The newer Pajero diesel will have more power than a Prado, but the Pajero has more cabin noise. Either should tow the float no problems. Highly recommend getting an auto.

If you are not take the vehicle off the black top then it would be cheaper to obtain a large family car.

I believe the NP pajero diesel would be the winner for fuel consumption.
AnswerID: 128889

Reply By: Patrol Freak (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:08

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:08
Towing that weight with a car is illegal , you should work out max weight of horses & trailer, & buying a vehicle to suit. pulling trailer not a problem but stopping in an emergency is!
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 128893

Follow Up By: pjchris - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 21:27

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 21:27
No it's not.

Commodore and Falcon can legally tow 2000kg and he's talking 1600kg maximum. The sedans may well have better brakes too. Certainly better handling and would be much better to drive when not towing.

The killer would be the fuel consumption in the cars.

FollowupID: 383479

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 21:44

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 21:44
Hi there pjchris, you are kidding arn't you about towing 1600kg is better behind a car than a large 4wd. I'd rather tow my 1760kg ski boat and trailer behind my uncle's 100 series turbo cruiser anyday than my VX V6 S pack commodore . Have done both and there is a huge difference, (1) dont even know it's behind the cruiser (2) Uses a heap less fuel (3) will pull up without brake fade (ever had a commodore ask any mechanic how many warped disc'c there replaced without towing) the list goes on.Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 383481

Follow Up By: pjchris - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 14:44

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 14:44
Stephen,

My reply related solely to your statement that it was illegal to tow 2000kg behind a sedan. It isn't.

Would I buy one to do that? No.

However in any performance situation towing up hills etc. I would expect the sedan to get to the top sooner and drop less speed doing so as its power to weight ratio (Even with the load) is better than the 4WD.
Brakes? If your electric brake controller is set up properly the towing vehicle only has to cope with the extra load of the down weight on the ball so the brake performance of either vehicle would be more affected by five adults and their luggage than the trailer.

The reason I don't choose to use a sedan is simply to do with fuel consumption (Diesel economy is much better), weight and strength..

In an emergency situation a large 4WD will be less affected than a sedan by the mass of the trailer. Note: not immune just less affected.

Whether this makes up for the fact that most 4WDs handle much worse than the average sedan I don't know.

What I do know is that even the Integrated chassis 4WDs are built much stronger than most sedans and will last longer doing so.

I only tow occassionally and I keep my vehicles for 10+ years generally so the Diesel 4WD being stringer and more economical made sense. if I had a company vehicle or changed every 3 years then the fact that the purchase price of the sedan was cheaper might have lured me that way.

FollowupID: 383573

Follow Up By: Member - Stephen M (NSW) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 22:23

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 22:23
Hi there pjchris,point taken I apoligise didn't mean to sound arrogant and I also didn't read your response properly,better handling better to drive when not towing, I jumped the gun and thought it said when towing,and yes agree with you in regards to electric brakes,but on a boat trailer which I had electric brakes on I pulled them off and put the cable type back on which relies on the cars breaks as water was a major problem with the electric brakes forever blowing fuses and had trouble with the under dash controller. Brakes were already on the traler when I bought the boat so put the controller in the car under dash but had problems. I think it was all to do with the trailer brakes themselves was going to cost me a furtune to get fixed that's why I ripped it all out and went back to basic stuff. Have a great night Regards Steve M
FollowupID: 383863

Reply By: Spade Newsom - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:53

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 17:53
Any regular inclines to negotiate. Is the kms on regular short (100km) trips or a few big trips. If you live around hills maybe a bit of solid power wouldn't hurt. Otherwise 3000 - 5000 kms per annum can't really justify a monster heavy vehicle.

Brother bought a TD Disco for towing as you described however about 10,000 kms towing per annum, most on black top. Goes like a dream he reckons.
(Sell before the warranty expires I reckon)

Ford Territory and Nissan Pathfinder also have a lump of power and satisfactory suspension for what your looking at. Just drive slowly.

Spade
AnswerID: 128903

Reply By: Member - Marquis - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 18:22

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 18:22
Holden Commodore can tow upto 2100kg
AnswerID: 128915

Follow Up By: garrycol - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 18:43

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 18:43
It might tow up to 2100kg but not the horse float in a worst case scenario.

900kg trailer, Horse 1 700kg, Horse 2 700kg. Total comes in at 2300kg by my calculations. 200kg over the max - also what is the max allowed for a dunnydoor when car and trailer are taken into account - there is normally a limit on all up weight (train weight) . A dunny door may tow 2100kg but can it also carry any weight in the car at such a load?
FollowupID: 383455

Follow Up By: GaryInOz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 19:15

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 19:15
You wouldnt use a dunnydore for towing. An older Falcon with rigid rear axle and leaves would be better, or at least rigid rear axle. Commodes have had problems with cracking/stretching bodyshells IFIRC, and Holdens response was to limit their towing capacity.
FollowupID: 383463

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 22:48

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 22:48
regardless of what manufactures claim as the max tow cap, it doesnt translate to how well the vehicle will cope in the real world. Have towed with a commodore and it was pathetic. Falcon was much better, TD 100 series would to the Falcon, towing the boat, pulling the commodore, and do it easier still. Go a decent TD fourby with plenty of lowdown torque. Simple.
FollowupID: 383487

Follow Up By: vitara - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 07:53

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 07:53
You are kidding Marquis refer to reply by stephen m above
FollowupID: 383511

Reply By: snailbate - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 20:54

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 20:54
hi
on th black top a two wheel drive with about 5 ltre would do or a diesel turbo with 4 lt dont go off road
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 128952

Reply By: Member - Marquis - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 21:41

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 21:41
2300kg

Recommend larger vehicle - turbo diesel
At minimum Pajero (2500kg tow) or Landcuiser/Patrol (3000 - 3500kg tow).
(I think the Prado TD will struggle a litte, unless you wait for the new version)
Maybe the new nissan pathfinder? I think they are 3000kg tow.
AnswerID: 128962

Reply By: ShnogDog - Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 22:39

Wednesday, Sep 07, 2005 at 22:39
2nd hand or new? I guess that might help narrow the field. Turbo Diesel would be the WTG for towing. New or 2nd hand though?
AnswerID: 128968

Reply By: vitara - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 08:03

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 08:03
HI all Try and hire a car trailer from kennards hire and tell them your going to tow it behind a commodore/falcon see what they say, answer will be no I have tried it tell them you got a patrol/ landcruiser, answer will be yes, I have a hayman reese towbar on my commodore rated to 2100kg should not be allowed my car is only approx 1500kg in weight there would be nothing left of it if I towed a wight of 2100kg,especially for a long period of time and I can just smell the auto tranny burning away would not like to be trying to pull up in a hurry with that sort of weight behind me. Vitara
AnswerID: 129004