Cape York

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 00:03
ThreadID: 26253 Views:2660 Replies:4 FollowUps:1
Hi everyone,

Hope someone can give me some info for a mate who is doing the Cape next year. He owns a New Nissan Patrol 3ltr, lifted 50mm and an Adventure Camper Trailer. His question is any advice on how far he can take the camper when going up to the Cape, Vehicle will be probable about 3ton when loaded and Camper probably 1.3 (he is taking his wife) :-)

Reply By: Jim-Bob - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 03:01

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 03:01
G'day Blaze
All the way, when I went up there in 2003 we towed our Aussie Swag CT behind our 89 4 runner up the OLT to Sam creek then out to the northern bypass and on to the tip without any dramas at all, just tell him to take his time.
We camped at Seisia along side of an Adventure CT towed by a Jeep Cherokee, trailer no probs, Jeep broken engine mount(5 day wait for replacement). So his trailer should handle the trip no worries. Just have to watch what wife packs for wife.
Safe travells.
Jim-Bob.

AnswerID: 128990

Reply By: Steve - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 06:02

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 06:02
Recently did the Cape all the way up the OTL. We met up (and travelled with) several families towing campertrailers. One in particular had a standard 60 series, auto., with a very heavy (high sided) camper trailer. There were times I thought he wouldn't make it (Cannibal Creek, Gun Shot), but he did ! His motto was - "You only get one crack at it, so you have to give it all you've got !" He made it up all steep sided banks in one go...went hard at it and didn't hold back. The momentum of the vehicle and trailer seemed to push him up. If he was hlaf hearted, he may have experienced difficulties - ie. having to back it back down etc... We were in a fully laden Troopy and seemd to do it tougher than he did - all weight in vehicle seemed to be more challenging than a lighter vehicle towing a trailer.

There were quite a few campertrailers (to my suprise). They were a bit slower travelling, but they all made it. Happy travels !
AnswerID: 128991

Reply By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 06:46

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 06:46
We take many camper trailers with us on our tag alongs.
Some do it alot easier than others.
Is the camper trailer a propper 4wd trailer or just a beefed up garden trailer.
As people said above they know people and have seen people they may have been lucky.
I have seen many a trailer [garden trailer] in bits on the side of the road/track.
Even the top brands can have troubles.
I would only take a good quality off road trailer because who knows what season is going to be like.

AnswerID: 128994

Reply By: snailbate - Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 21:19

Thursday, Sep 08, 2005 at 21:19
hi
i agree
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661

AnswerID: 129171

Follow Up By: Eric from Cape York Connections - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 06:40

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 06:40
Snail bate which one are you agreing with.

FollowupID: 383681