4.2 TD GU OVERHEATING HAVEN'T HEARD

Submitted: Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 08:56
ThreadID: 26295 Views:2465 Replies:5 FollowUps:12
I haven't heard lately especially from Roachie whether or not the overheating TD42 GU's has been stumbled across or if it is just in the guages.
If anybody has had the MTQ upgrade and had this problem before and is now fixed I would appreciate if you are happy and what the price for the upgrade was.
Or is there still a problem when towing?
120scruiser

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 09:14

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 09:14
I was interested too. So asked Roachie.
He sent me a photo of his dash from inside after a run

[ View Image]
AnswerID: 129245

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 09:47

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 09:47
RAOFLMAO......maaate; you've got waaaayyyy too much time on ya hands....hahahaha
FollowupID: 383708

Follow Up By: gramps - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 13:26

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 13:26
Glad to see he's gotten rid of the less than necessary gizmos - only the bare essentials left :))
FollowupID: 383759

Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 14:24

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 14:24
Roachie could have at least circled the bloody temp gauge for you, its got us all guessing which one it is now!!!
FollowupID: 383779

Follow Up By: Exploder - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 17:16

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 17:16
Centre panel, bottom Screen on the right
FollowupID: 383820

Follow Up By: Boc1971 - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 17:21

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 17:21
I see someone has an account at Tandys / Jaycar ;)

Frank
FollowupID: 383821

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 21:24

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 21:24
bleep er bruce
FollowupID: 383847

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 22:46

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 22:46
Account at Jaycar? He liked the company so much, he bought it...

If you look closely the 'paranoia at overheating problem' light has melted.
FollowupID: 383868

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 09:53

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 09:53
G'day 120,
Mate the jury is still out, but I'm beginning to see the bigger picture here. I now believe the motor has been set-up to run around the 95oC to 105oC area as a means of ensuring maximum fuel is burnt and pollution is minimised.
Mine still gets up to around 105oC when I'm pushing along into a head wind or up a steepish hill whilst maintaining the speed limit. I've decided that this is normal and I ain't gunna worry about it anymore.

It should be noted that NOBODY has actually reported on here (or anywhere else AFAIK) any case of the 4.2 GU ever actuallu OVERHEATING (ie: to the point where they have had to pull over, rebuild motor/radiator etc). It seems it is just something we've gotta live with.

As for the MTQ set-up, I hope Trendy won't mind me saying that he is still seeing his gauge go up past half way on occasions and he is anxiously waiting for the summer months to come to see what happens then.

AnswerID: 129258

Reply By: hanson - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 11:20

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 11:20
I have td42 1999 patrol ute and have turbo upgrade and intercooler in front of
radiator. Have had overheating problems when towing uphill and going into headwind. however removed spotties from bull bar and when turbo upgrade and 3" exhaust I believe that they reduced amount of fuel flow to engine and no problems now, also now have set of "accurate guages" and doesn't get to 105c.

Hope this of some help ..... Hanson
AnswerID: 129272

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 11:38

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 11:38
G'day Hanson,
Sounds like you've done similar to me. I have a decent-sized set of Lightforce 240 Blitz and it didn't seem to make any diference whether they are mounted in the "normal" position or above the bullbar and out of the way.
I've also fitted a full 3" straight thru system with a Binskin dump pipe, a PWR double-sized radiator, an extra 10" thermo fan beside the air cond fan, a bonnet scoop over the turbo etc.
The exhaust doesn't get very hot at all; max to date is 585oC at the manifold just before the turbo inlet. Have also fitted temp gauge to sump and temp never gets above 80oC.
As stated elsewhere, I now believe these rigs are designed to run at up to 110oC without any concerns.....I just keep an eye on the VDO gauge (which has it's sender unit located in the top hose).
FollowupID: 383732

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 11:59

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 11:59
max to date is 585oC
Roachie, that is about as hot as you would want to go. I was told to back off at 550.
FollowupID: 383740

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 12:21

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 12:21
Yeh Trucky, but isn't your thermocouple located in the exhaust BELOW the turbo? There is about a 200oC drop in temps between the manifold and exhaust outlet.....so I can let mine run out to around 720oC b4 I have to worry.
FollowupID: 383744

Reply By: Member - DOZER- Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 15:20

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 15:20
Gday fellas
my pyro has got to 800 at max torque without too much hastle.....pyro is just at the mouth of the turbine housing.
Id be interested to know what temp the patrol thermistat is rated at....105 is well it doesnt leave much room for error....BTW thats not farenheit is it???...lol
Sorry couldnt help but rub it in....my Toyota oil gauge might not work properly....but the temp does...it stays round the half usually....i lost my lights on the bar along time ago...have put tags up top for outback travels.
fzj80t
AnswerID: 129322

Reply By: Sarg - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 22:34

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 22:34
but isn't your thermocouple located in the exhaust BELOW the turbo?

Thats where all the major engine (Cat, Cummins, MTU) manufacturers put them
AnswerID: 129406

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 23:31

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 23:31
G'day Sarg,
I didn't know a real lot about pyro's when I started and I learnt most of what I know from looking at a sponsor on this site....www.thermoguard.com.au

If you have a read of all this blokes stuff, he convinced me that the exhaust manifold is a "better" place to obtain accurate temps. I am not disputing that most pyro's are fitted in the exhaust below the turbo, but the fact is that the turbo "uses" a lot of the exhaust heat, so by the time you see what the temp is AFTER it's gone through the turbo, it is not showing you what temp is going INTO the turbo. The feeling is that this is the more important temp to be aware of, after all it is this temp that is gunna destroy your turbine. Sort of like measuring the coolant temp after it's passed throught the radiator; not as much use.

I'm still no expert......... (;-)

FollowupID: 383875

Follow Up By: Sarg - Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 23:43

Friday, Sep 09, 2005 at 23:43
Neither am I . Only going on what I've seen from years of playing with these large diesel engines.The temp loss would be very minimal if you measureded it before & after the turbo. Just seems to me if these guys put it where they do, it must be OK. I will get a temp gun & check & report back to you tomorrow after I try it at work.
FollowupID: 383877