tyre compressor

Submitted: Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 16:31
ThreadID: 26339 Views:4723 Replies:10 FollowUps:17
Hi i'm looking to purchase a new compressor to pump up my 285 / 75 /16 i'd be interested in any feedback or experiences as they all look the same and you can't tell a good one until you try it

Reply By: Rick (S.A.) - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 16:50

Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 16:50
You could email me for my spreadsheet that I created in April. I'm at: rickmooredotpacificdotnetdotau

At that time I had a horror run of flatties, and was interested in compressor volume & reliability. The bro-in-law killed 4 tyres on that trip - when you only carry six tyres (two spares) it kinda makes you reorganise & re proiritise very quickly.

I already had an under bonnett ARB, but it was TOOOOOOOOOO slow, so I decided to lash out & get peace of mind.

I tested some at retail stores, read heaps & looked at these brands: Big Red Plus; Max-Air; TJM Ox; ARB; Blue Tongue; Twin Tongue

Needless to say have not had a flattie since. 265/75R 16's is what I'm running.

Rick (S.A.)

AnswerID: 129480

Follow Up By: ev700 - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 17:24

Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 17:24
Hi Rick
What unit did you end up with?
EV700
FollowupID: 383937

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 13:07

Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 13:07
I bought a Twin Tongue in a carry case, with a set of Stuans chucked in, as well as a new tyre guaue & the air hose

Rick (S.A)
FollowupID: 383991

Reply By: HJ60-2H - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 17:20

Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 17:20
Personally I would always advocate a modified air con pump/ endless air type set up. Either build your own (~$200 plus pabour) or buy it commerically (~$800). Out of the way, always available, huge volume compared to the electric ones. I can pump up 8 tyres from 16 PSI to 40 PSI in the time it takes an ARB pump to do 1 tyre. Can also be set up very easily to run an air locker.
AnswerID: 129482

Follow Up By: ev700 - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 17:28

Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 17:28
Hi HJ60-2H
I put this proposition to the Toyota dealer a little while ago re a 100 Series TD.
They were dubious - drive belt already has enough load and area is to cluttered already.
So I'm looking for the next best alternative and mounting place.
EV700
FollowupID: 383938

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 14:29

Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 14:29
When I've contacted Endless Air, they didn't have a kit to fit my 12HT. I'm guessing the 2H and 12HT block is the same regarding fitting an endless air unit.

Did you make your own plates up? and did you mount it below the alternator which I am spying as a possibility. I've already got an air cond compressor above the alternator so that is out.

I'd appreciate some photos or and your 'how I did it' if you can. timatpeoplehelpdotcomdotau

tim
FollowupID: 384008

Follow Up By: HJ60-2H - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 18:24

Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 18:24
Correct, got the same from endless air when I was doing it. They were happy to sell me a compressor but had no bracket. Figured if I was going to do the hard bit then I may as well do the easy bit as well and get a compressor. Cost me $35 form local wrecker. Get one with an oil sump. I used one from a 2WD Nissan. Then ran a vertical support from one of the 2 existing holes low down on the block. You wil need a welder and probably a aweekend to fashion it all up. Got the idea froma guy in WA who had photos posted of his in the WWW. I'd take a photo for you of mine but my camera is in for repair.

2H and 12HT do share the same block. Air compressor brakcet mounts to the same bolts that mount the air con. Run a second pulley off the alternator, there is room for a second one on the existing pulley set up. I bought a pully from Motion Technology (~$30) and got a machine shop to fit it to the alternator pulley (~$45)

Switch for the clutch, I used an ARB one so I get the right pressure for the air locker in series with one on the dash for in cab switching. Then all you need is a manifold to give you outlets etc where you want them. I have one in the rear accessible through the passenger side rear sliding window and one under the bonnet.
FollowupID: 384032

Follow Up By: HJ60-2H - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 18:28

Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 18:28
Just read ll that and can't see how to edit, sorry.

Air compressor mounts next to the existing air con compressor, snug fit up against my 2nd batttery
FollowupID: 384033

Follow Up By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 23:37

Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 23:37
Thanks, they're good tips.

So yours is up high by the sound of it and the drive belt from the alternator wouldn't be very long I'd guess. I had spied a spot down low under the alternator, but not measured anything up.

Do you happen to have the link to the WA guy that guided your project?

Tim
FollowupID: 384083

Reply By: HJ60-2H - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 17:46

Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 17:46
There is room in a 100 Series, I have ssen it done. And given the load is only there for say 30 minutes every few months I'm not sure this is a real problem. If you are really worried about the load runnign the clutch only then remove the drive belt when not needed along the lines of the spring loaded system that Holden uses on the V6.

For my set up I ran a seperate belt so that the origional belts weren't changed. Been like that now for years with no problems. I'd seriously doubt that teh Toyota dealer has looked at this hard and they are more likely than not to give you the default aswer of don't change anynthing.
AnswerID: 129489

Follow Up By: ev700 - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 18:06

Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 18:06
HJ60-2H
Thanks for the info.
EV700
FollowupID: 383942

Reply By: uteguy - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 18:15

Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 18:15
Thanks for the idea but i had my mind set on an electric one that i could use for more than one vehicle hopefully.But i can definately see the upside for a permanent mounted unit..
AnswerID: 129492

Reply By: HJ60-2H - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 18:45

Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 18:45
What ever you decide on volume of air pumped seems to be the key. Forget all the pressure figures the suppliers provide, pressure meands essentially nothing in the speed these things pump at.

There are some excellent electric ones you can find from the USA (do a Google on them) & that have volume outputs in the range of the endless air type sets ups. Cost you $$ but they do perform.

I do a lot of sand driving hence the importnace of a decent pump to me. You can certainly get by with an electric (most people do), even better if you like having a cuppa when it is pump up time.
AnswerID: 129496

Reply By: Col (wa) - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 18:45

Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 18:45
Hi Uteguy,

I have the same size tyres as you, and went for the max air .I'm very happy with it comes in bag with all the bits and peices the price was about $350. If you want faster inflation then twin tongue is the go but at $700+ it is a bit pricey.

Col
AnswerID: 129497

Follow Up By: uteguy - Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 19:13

Saturday, Sep 10, 2005 at 19:13
thanks col

was considering the max air have you had yours for long...how long would you estimate to pump a tyre from 20-35psi
FollowupID: 383950

Follow Up By: Col (wa) - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 13:53

Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 13:53
Hi Uteguy,

It takes about 4mins from 20-40 psi . Have had the comp about 2 yrs had no probs so far. Mate has the blue tongue both started inflating about the same time his tyres are (275/70/16) smaller than mine i had packed up and on my 2nd can when he had finished. 4WD Monthly did a comparison on compressors and the max air was judged best value for money . There are some cheap copys around now but they don't look as well made quote the same volumes l/min . Hope that helps

Col
FollowupID: 384005

Follow Up By: Patrick - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 15:39

Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 15:39
I agree with Uteguy on the Max-Air Pro. Had mine for two years and it has not missed a beat. Would be happy to recommend it to anyone in the market for a compressor as it works well and did not cost an arm or a leg.
FollowupID: 384012

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 10:01

Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 10:01
I have a TJM OX, and 33" Pro Comp Muddies. the Ox pumps 'em from 18psi to 40 psi in 5 minutes per tyre. I just time it with my watch and invariabley have to drop 1 or 2 psi out to bring it to the 40 mark. While I am pumping the tyres up at 5 mins each, I can have a coffee or a chat or help with packing up the trailer depending on where we are and what we've been doing.
Cost about $400, the Max Air is also very good value for money!
AnswerID: 129523

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 13:32

Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 13:32
coffee .....cough cough.....spit spit.....you mean an ale or two dont you?
FollowupID: 383997

Follow Up By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 06:19

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 06:19
If I'm drivin'??????

NEVER!
FollowupID: 384088

Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 10:12

Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 10:12
My ARB unit is engine bay mounted - I use it for blowing down parts, spray painting on odd occasions and tyre maintenance of course - seems a solid reliable unit to me - I have an aux tank connected to increase the 'blow" duration. Re being too slow (earlier contributor) - rush, rush, rush - its a syndrome ! Slowing down on bush trips buggers up less tyres - and if you need to play with the pump for awhile, the others can take a stroll - they might find something interesting !
AnswerID: 129526

Follow Up By: Rick (S.A.) - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 13:29

Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 13:29
Two of the tyres staked on this particular episode were done at walking speed- hard to slow down from that. Two other tyres were done at 30 kph. I'm not whinging about tyre damage, as it was my decision to travel in those conditions. A further two tyres were stuffed a little later in this trip - a total of 4 tyres on the 80 series rooted!

It was 38 degrees & the flies were horrid; the rest of the party didn't really need to go for a stroll or contemplate the navel, just needed shade & time to help fix a heap of tyres (4) at the one instance, with a very slow & old compressor.
In the end we had to go into the station workshop to get enough air pressure & volume to reinflate two tyres.

It is possible that you have mis- construed the time lines. By too slow I meant that when repairing tyres in the bush, 15 to twenty minutes per reinflation when you have 3 or 4 tyres to do in one hit is a bit long. We lost 2/3 of a day repairing tyres in a 7 day journey, and had to abandon one of the two vehicles, and to therefore alter the agenda/schedule - hardly a rush scenario.
The other reason why volume is critical is to re seat bead asap. So, again, I resolved to do something about it when I got home.

Rick (S.A.)
FollowupID: 383996

Follow Up By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 08:37

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 08:37
Fair enough points Rick - it sounds like your conditions were somewhat trying.
FollowupID: 384099

Follow Up By: Capt. Wrongway - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 09:49

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 09:49
G'Day Banjo,
I also have a ARD unit and find it a good piece of gear. I agree totaly with your responce. I find it amazing that some people consider it a "race" to blow up tyres. Sit back for how ever long it takes and enjoy your surroundings, consider the meaning of life .... or whatever. Life's to short, enjoy it a every opportunity.
Capt.
FollowupID: 384108

Follow Up By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 09:57

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 09:57
To be fair 'Cap'n", Rick does make a case for trying circumstances but !
FollowupID: 384111

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 20:24

Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 20:24
Uteguy,
I've been very impressed with the Bushranger compressor, no problems so far.
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 129570

Reply By: uteguy - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 20:00

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 20:00

thanks for your advice it looks like i'll be checking out a max air and see how we go from there

AnswerID: 129744