roof sacks
Submitted: Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 22:22
big fella
i was wondering if you people out have had any experince with roof sacks i am looking at getting one so wondering what i should be looking for
Regards CHEF
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 22:29
Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 22:29
Good quality canvas.
I borrowed one off a mate, the TJM brand one (cant remember), and the ties that you tie it on with ripped a large hold in the front. Maybe I had it tied too tight, but wasnt impressed when I had to buy another one for mate
Follow Up By: muzzgit (WA) - Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 22:54
Sunday, Sep 11, 2005 at 22:54
My brother bought one when they were first sold by TJM and yes it was rubbish. They replaced it with a new, better made one, and although it hasn't had much use, it did the job.
Personally I would rather go to an upholsterer/canvas place and have a heavy duty one made. That way you could have it custom made to suit your requirements.
Follow Up By: IT Dr - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 00:53
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 00:53
Ditto
But
mine was a Bushranger one from ARB, it fell apart after the first 3 hours trip we went on. They replaced it but I haven't been game to use it again.
I like the lokk of the Michelle's Sacks ones but at $350 they would wanna be good.
Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 06:28
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 06:28
Ditto
You'll get much more for your money. And go for vinyl (like truck tarps, but slightly lighter weight). Not as dear as canvas, but will do an excellent job and is very durable. Same stuff as the covers on soft floor campers.
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 11:08
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 11:08
I would recommend finding out what size you want, and going and having it custom made out of 12oz canvas or better. You dont want to have happen what happened to the few posted here.
Pay more, get quality
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:06
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:06
That's interesting, we've done THOUSANDS and THOUSANDS of k's with our bushranger and I tie it down really tight, it's been rained on, mud covered scratched to buggery by over hanging branchs on tight tracks (the first trip we went on the GU in front of us broke it's roof rack, wing mirror, antenna etc etc etc because the track was so tight and it's still giong strong. It's starting to get some pin hole sized holes in it because I'm slack and just throw everything in it without putting any kind of base down, I think it's the fold up chairs doing the damage, but it still hasn't let any
water in and I really abuse the poor thing, plus it's got a 5 year warranty so when it packs it in I'll go and get another for free. Michelles stuff looks great, but bloody hell it's a rip off IMHO, I mean $150 for a bag to hang off your spare tyre!? Come on, get real.
Reply By: Phil P - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 05:59
Reply By: fozzy - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 07:17
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 07:17
big fella
work out exactly what u want to put in roof bag and if u also want to put fuel up there etc as this will determine size u buy-eg bag that covers whole roof rack may not suit as u may want to put chainsaw,petrol jerry and say gas bottle on roof rack-in this instance look for size that meets those requirements-i have
southern cross canvas one and over last few yrs hasnt leaked or had condensation inside and has been dust proof. also good idea to put something inbetween bag and roofrack to eliminate rubbing.
i only strap on 4 corners and also tie one rope from front to rear.
check out quality of various ones and prices as both vary greatly like everything associated with camping/4wd accessories.
fozzy
Reply By: traveller2 - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 08:04
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 08:04
We've had a
Southern Cross one for about ten years, works really
well, remember to wet it thouroughly a few times like a new canvas tent when new to make it waterproof.
I only tie it down on the four corners, a piece of indoor/outdoor carpet under it to stop rubbing and only has bedding, chairs(in a bag) and centre pole tent in it, no hard stuff.
Reply By: Member - Rattles (Andrew R) - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 09:01
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 09:01
Big Fella,
I have the Bushranger roof bag. It spent 3 months absolutely full on my roof around the top end of Oz last year. I had no trouble with it apart from a hole wearing in the front of it because I had something sharp against the canvas. (My fault). I think if you look after them and do not expect too much of the tie downs they are fine for light stuff.
Reply By: D-Jack - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 11:10
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 11:10
I got
mine from roof rack city (Gilbert St
ADELAIDE), various sizes available, made of tough poly coated canvas so is 100% waterproof, tie downs were a joke because they weren't the clip ones (too weak apparently) but the thread through the buckle ones whcih were a PITA to do/undo each time. Fortunately had eyelets around the top, so I just bought 6 good quality short red ocky straps and is heaps easy to do up/undo. Good quality chunky zip. About the $260 mark I think. Only available in black, looks tough on my White Jackaroo. Consider these, they are awsome.
p.s. I can re-iterate though about needing something between roof rack and sack though - would wear though on corrugations in no time if you had anything hard up there.
I was going to go canvas but the thought of
water sitting on the top all night with stuff underneath and the potential for it so seep though had me worried, although others have had good experience with canvas. Also the dirt and dust hoses straight off
mine as it is poly coated.
D-Jack
Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 12:14
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 12:14
My Michelle's Sacs bag has a heavy plastic/rubber/ute liner type material on the base and I had no worries with rubbing through underneath.
It's got a heavy duty zip all the way around and that is covered with a velcroed down flap to keep the dust out. Straps are
seat belt material that go all the way across/along the sac. Each strap has an anti flapping 'thing' that keeps it all neat.
I didn't go through the proper waterproofing prior to my trip - who said it rains in
the desert in July? so suffered from wet gear until the canvas sorted itself out.
I was also trying to minimise the frontal area of the sac and packed low stuff in there. Unfortunately this created a flapping area on the canvas that has worn a crease hole that I will need to repair. I probably could have avoided this by putting a rope across the front to keep the front down, but suspect the best way to pack these things is to keep them fairly full at the front.
The only other thing I modified was to put a cable tie through the zip pull so I could hang onto it easier.
I think on my last day of a 24 night trip I managed to get the sack packed properly with everything in it's best place!
Tim
Reply By: Dean (SA) - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 12:38
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 12:38
Big Fella,
Ive just bought a canvas bag custom made for my basket. I got it from a local canvas
shop. They were priced about the same as the mass produced, but much heavier duty canvas and has a built in marine type carpet floor. It is tied down using 8 ropes, a bit fiddly at first, but I can tie it down in under 5 minutes now.
Size 1220Lx940Wx375H, $230.
Dean
Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 17:16
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 17:16
I had ours custom made by Halls canvas here in SA. Its made out of ripstop 12 oz canvas(this is tuff stuff), has 14 reinforced tie down points and heavy duty zips with a fold down dust cover. Does it leak dust? The smallest amount.(got lots of dusty driving on corner trip) Does it leak? Not that i have encountered yet,however anything like sleeping bags and pillows get put in garbage bags just in case. I have an old piece of carpet sitting underneath the bag on the mesh to help with any potential rubbing problems. Cost was approx $250-$275 (can't remember lol) Absolutely brilliant quality and customer service. Also
check out their spare tyre rubbish bags. Hope this helps.
Follow Up By: Dean (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 12:34
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 12:34
Gday Brew,
I had
mine made up at Bradey canvas, its made off the same stuff as yours. Tough alright, its like cardboard. Will
test out the dust in the school holidays.
What is it with small cavas shops, they all provide great service and always have time for a yak.
Dean
Reply By: See You - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 17:33
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 17:33
I prefer to keep
mine in my pants. I hate cold nuts.
Reply By: ShnogDog - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 22:18
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 22:18
I have a Bushranger Rack Sack. No probs so far, however I'm disapointed they did'nt use YKK Zippers. Everything else may be tough as nails, but if the zip fails, the bag is pretty
well useless untill it's repaired or replaced. Hopefully I dont ever have any problems, but I just wish I had checked that one minor detail 1st.
Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:09
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:09
Mate, I've just about swung of those zippers of my bushranger to get the thing closed (it's been so full of gear) and never had a problem, sure sometimes they get jamed and you have to back track and try again, but that's normally only when the thing is really full and the zipper is not aligned, if you just tug down on the unzipped section and try it again it normally goes no problem. I reckon for the $$$ and with the 5 year warranty you can't go too far wrong with them!
Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:45
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:45
Jeff, I've used
mine only for 3 weeks touring, lots of gear, no problems so far. The zipper thing is really just a personal issue from previous bad experience. It may just be what i need to get those blinkers off?