Fuel usage with and without a roofrack
Submitted: Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:02
Willem
I removed the roofrack and did a run down to the Big Smoke today. Filled up with diesel again in
Adelaide at $1.29 a litre.
So at 90/95kmh with the roofrack, the fuel consumption is 12.1lt/100km
At 90/95 without the roofrack, the fuel consumption is 10.9lt/100km
So there is not much in it.
I have to add however that my roofrack is a 3/4 size and sits right back from the top of the windscreen. It also has a plastic wind deflector.
Reply By: Banjo - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:31
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:31
Willem
I suppose you would have to do the trip a few times to rule out possible variations, wind - traffic flow, etc but it shows that all the bits and pieces we have on the wagons does have an effect.
I have a roof rack, no deflector but also a 6" waterpipe used to store fishing rods along with odds and sods. As that has a 'blunt' nose it probably adds as much to the consumption as the rack.
As you state 'not much' but over a year would add up.
Banjo (WA)
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:46
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:46
Both instances were measured on clear days without wind and along bitumen roads in undulating country. No doubt there will be variables especially if travelling into a head wind.
Reply By: Scubaroo - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:36
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:36
Um, that's a fair bit - about 9.9% improvement in economy. Think of it this way, how would you like to be paying only $1.16 a litre instead of $1.29?
You're saving $1.55 per 100km - could be a couple of hundred bucks a year.
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:54
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:54
I would prefer to pay 50c/l but I afraid those days are confined to history.
At$1.55/100km I would save $232.50 which equates to 63cents per day.
Could buy a tyrte with that!!! lol
Follow Up By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:00
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:00
Willem
you'd probably stake the sidewall on the first day, knowing how these things go
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:06
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:06
You mean Murphys Law? lol Havent staked a tyre for a while but have picked up 3 nails in three months
Reply By: revhead307 - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:40
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:40
I have a SWB GQ Diesel, running 235/85 16's. have done the trip from
yalgoo to
Perth (about 550kms) quite a number of times.
With my full lenght roofrack (and tool boxes down one side on roof) on i use a full
tank and am empty when i hit
perth (so i usually put $20 in along the way to ensure i make it)
However, i went down without the roofrack and toolboxes...and made it all the way and still had quarter of a
tank....and on the way back i experienced the same thing...and had over quarter of a
tank left.
mine doesnt have the wind deflector..but it made a huge difference to my range and economy..and thats only sitting on 100 - 110 all the way.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:41
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:41
HI,
I'm guessing your the guy I just brought a pair of rallye 2000 spotlights from on ebay??
Follow Up By: revhead307 - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 14:18
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 14:18
G'day Austravel,
Yep you would be right there, small world! the 307 on the end of my handle relates to my beloved 307 chev in the hilux i used to own.
I finally cleaned the shed out and listed a few items, my new bus already had lights and im saving for a
snorkel.
Jeff
Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 14:54
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 14:54
Tis' a small world. Not sure if you've read your email but money was transferred today so should be in your account this arvo, tomorrow at the latest. You don't have the clear protectors or even the original white ones do you?? Brought the protectors only a couple of months ago and they didn't stop one being smashed (light and protector) but still worth putting them on for the smaller stones.
Follow Up By: Austravel - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:36
Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:36
Hi Revhead,
Just sending an email via this in case the ebay one doesn't reach you. The spotlights havn't turned up can you please check with the courier you used.
Ray
Reply By: revhead307 - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:45
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:45
Unfortunately...after just finding this out...
i went and bought an imported nissan safari (high roof GQ) with a very high roof...WITH a very big roofrack..and ive put my toolboxes back on top lol
is higher than a troopy and i cant get into any undercover carparks...and my economy is obviously suffering for it.
oh
well, thats the cost of extra space and the luxury of rooftop storage
rev
Follow Up By: Willem - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:58
Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 19:58
Hmmm yes...Highroof will drag more wind force.
I had a Highroof Suzuki once and made an internal roof rack. Carried mainly soft stuff there.
Reply By: Dean (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 12:27
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 12:27
Gday Willem,
My Pajero with Rola Racks and the mesh style basket on top loaded made no difference to economy. However, now with a rack sack I reckon I get about 50km per
tank less.
Dean
Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 14:26
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 14:26
Are you saying that with a loaded or unloaded mesh basket you didn't see a change in economy? Looking at a very similar setup (Thule racks/basket) for our Pajero, and was worried that it was going to be like putting a parachute up there - I figured the wind resistance from the mesh must add up.
Follow Up By: Dean (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 17:05
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 17:05
Thats right Scubaroo.
The racks are on the front/centre lugs. Ive done a few trips with a couple of tables, chairs, shovel, all light stuff anyway. The thing made a howling sound as the wind went through, no obvious difference in economy, travelling at 110km.
Ive done 1 trip with the racksack, no wind noise but slightly more fuel use. With the sack I have added self inflating mattresses and sleeping bags, this has obviously made a small difference, nothing to worry about considering the extra space gained.
Dean
Reply By: signman - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 16:58
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 16:58
My roof rack deflector- in side view is shaped like a 6 It is pivoted in the middle of the 'circle' part and (when the rack is empty) actually 'flys' to attract the most efficient angle in relation to speed. It has been tested on a runway (at Camden) with mounted cameras and at 60kph it is at about 15 degrees, up to about 40 degrees at 100kph. The foil is shaped using a wing mould of a Cessna. Also at the leading edge sides of the rack a couple of little wings ala Ferrari F1.
It sounds clumpsy but is very discreet and has cut down drag & noise heaps.
I see some so called deflectors mounted at about 60 to 75 degrees- these must be causing more drag than no deflector.