Semi Automatic 4x4

Submitted: Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 20:15
ThreadID: 26398 Views:2670 Replies:7 FollowUps:28
Whilst in Adelaide today I had a look at a device called Click'n Go.

It converts a manual vehicle to a semi automatic whereby one does not have to use the clutch.

The device is run by a box under the dashboard which has a software package which is connected to the alternator, battery, brake lights and clutch and has a button on the gear lever built in.

This blurb is taken from the pamflet
" Each time you want to change gear you press the button on the gear stick which generates a control signal which, together with data from the accelerator and brake, is interpreted by the software and translated into motion control of the motor unit.

Connection to the brake light circuit allows Click'nGo to engage the clutch just prior to the engine stalling when braking. Then simply take your foot off the brake pedal and accelerate, Click'nGo looks after the clutch for you. This greatly reduces the stress in stop/start traffic as frequently encountered in modern city driving "

I drove a Minibus demo model and the system works well.

Trouble is that it is a tad expensive. Was quoted $2400 and it takes two days to fit so add another $200 for accommodation and other expenses.

Tempting.................but.................

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 20:24

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 20:24
Hi Willem,

That would be the wierdest felling initially, after being used to depressing the clutch for so long now. But still an interesting concept, just maybe some more electronic gadgets to fail at the worst possible time??
Roachie may be interested in this to add to his electronic addons (sorry Roachie couln't help myself HaHa.)

Cheers Trevor.
AnswerID: 129751

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 21:05

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 21:05
Thanks for idea Trevor,
But I think I might sit this one out mate.....hahaha
I've actually removed one of my spare tyres and the high lift off the back and taken out about 30kg of recovery gear too. The bloody thing nearly did a wheel stand today when I accelerated!!!!!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 384204

Reply By: See You - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 20:51

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 20:51
Maybe Truckster could get one and finally drive a manual with his plastic leg and all. Oh What A Feeling a manual!!!!!!!!!!!!
AnswerID: 129758

Follow Up By: warthog - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 22:40

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 22:40
Is that meant to be funny?
FollowupID: 384218

Reply By: F4Phantom - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 21:15

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 21:15
sounds like the porsche 911 sportomatic which has micro switches which did the clutching for you when you moved the gearstick (no buttons) and also had a torque converter so you dont need to take it out of gear at the lights.
AnswerID: 129761

Reply By: Nudenut - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 21:21

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 21:21
u were in the big smoke and you never enquired about having a coffee? bugga!
AnswerID: 129766

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:20

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:20
Yeah sorry about that.It did cross my mind but a day in town with the missus in tow isn't fun. I had to go to the dentist. But will be coming down again soon on my own(buying parts for Nissan) and will let you know in time.

FollowupID: 384247

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:10

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:10
dont make it a wednesday...it will eat into a leisure day....i go to the pistol club that day.....keep this info to yourself....dont need swmbo to find out.....she has me working six and 1/2 days a week now!
FollowupID: 384265

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:21

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:21
Its a bugga being married to the Mob, eh?
FollowupID: 384267

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:46

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 10:46
how'd you know she's a wog...er i mean italian
FollowupID: 384269

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:30

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:30
Maybe 'cos you keep telling us Chrome Dome?
FollowupID: 384300

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:45

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:45
good lord....another seniors moment
FollowupID: 384306

Follow Up By: Wombat - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:50

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:50
You'll be joining "Nanna's Brigade" before you know it!!!
FollowupID: 384307

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:55

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:55
but i'm only 22
FollowupID: 384308

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 14:02

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 14:02
and my name is not Wombat hehehe
FollowupID: 384310

Reply By: Member - JohnR (Vic)&Moses - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 06:10

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 06:10
Hi Bro, sorry to see they are a bit pricie for you. I just knew there had to be a solution to the problem even though it is an electronic one. Reckon there must be an air operated solution too somewhere.

Snowy is going well mate, had a radio - CD stacker and UHF connected quick smart, the UHF in the ashtray slot........ She is loved already, I reckon.
AnswerID: 129801

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:24

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:24
Hi Bro

Glad to hear that Snowy is performing well and is loved :o)

Like with all the ideas which float through my brain I will think about this one carefully. I now have a feeling that it is not the clutch activation that is hurting my leg but the driving position. I can't get the seat far back enough. Maybe I should look at making some adjustments there instead.
All these projects keep me off the streets lol

FollowupID: 384248

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:30

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:30
This may be in poor taste but it was going begging...

The answer could also be further up this thread. No pain in a plastic leg....

:o))

FollowupID: 384278

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 14:04

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 14:04
i like that hahaha
FollowupID: 384311

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 16:58

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 16:58
Geo

Lotsa pain in a busted nose. Might put Mrs Nudenut on to you lol
FollowupID: 384347

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 18:16

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 18:16
she has the mafia on her side to!
FollowupID: 384369

Reply By: Tim HJ61 (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:21

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 11:21
Willem,

On a different tack:
Have you thought of seeing an occupational therapist or exercise physiologist to help you sort out what movements are causing your problems, and what needs to change to fix the problem?

These people can by really helpful in pinpointing the cause/affect connections, and maybe even giving you some exercises to strengthen particular muscles to stop the problem. You could start looking for such creatures in your local public hospital maybe, health clinic, rehab service, or also private practice. We have the Independent Living Centre in WA and there may be equivalents elsewhere.

Tim
AnswerID: 129853

Follow Up By: See You - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:01

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:01
OT's have little knowledge of bowel movements. Willem swallowed a .50cent piece when he was 12. It still gives him trouble today as it is the wrong shape for the exit hole.
FollowupID: 384298

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 17:02

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 17:02
Tim

I have a Titanium-alloy knee. With lots of gear changes on our recent holiday marathon the leg wasn't happy. Would like to rest it on occesions. But I take your point.

See you

When I was 12 years of age .50cent pieces were round hahahahaha
FollowupID: 384348

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 17:05

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 17:05
Come to think of it, when I was 12 it was 5 shillings. Can't remember if it was five loose shillings or a unitary piece. Maybe someone of similar age can help me out. lol
FollowupID: 384350

Follow Up By: See You - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 17:47

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 17:47
I was goona say, round 50 cent pieces that would make yo 51 at the oldest if you were 12 when they were out. I always had the impression that you were older than 51. Not sure how I got that impression. Just the way that you write and express yourself. But come to think of it your sense of humour would put you in the 60 plus age group as you often sound like my old man who is over 65. He is a character and often says things like you. He is a good bloke so you must be too.
FollowupID: 384362

Follow Up By: Redback - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 18:01

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 18:01
Willem sorry to go off topic but i revved up Ness as she hadn't sent your balaclava as yet, i'm posting it tomorrow, sorry about the delay.

Oh this thread has degenerated into talking about bowel movements, WTF

FollowupID: 384365

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 18:02

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 18:02
See You

I was 15 just the other day..........sigh!

Hmm very perceptive of you. Did not think it was that noticeable that ones age could be guessed from the things we say but you must be right because we old fellas would say things thast hark back to another era.

Sixty Three next year....Good grief!!!! And still playing with 4bies lol

FollowupID: 384366

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 18:09

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 18:09
No worries Baz

Yes, not sure what plastic legs, bowel movements and the passing of 50cent pieces have to do with things but maybe the youngsters are having a go at me lol
FollowupID: 384368

Follow Up By: See You - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:22

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:22
Hi Willem, Not having a go just buying a laugh. 63 eh? Just a young guy. You do sound like my old man and he is the funniest gentleman that I know. I am just 40 and enjoy a laugh. I can be really synical at times too. Old Truckster doesnt even respond to me any more. Not sure why but I dont think that he gets my humour at all. Keep smiling old boy. I enjoy the banter and conversation.
FollowupID: 384378

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:35

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:35
Methinks Trucky is a tad younger than you

BTW aren't you up in the Territory?
FollowupID: 384380

Follow Up By: See You - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:02

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:02
Yeh I'm in Darwin but have a partnership in WA too. Consult in mineral exploration for some of the big guys. In the bush on average 1 in 2 months and play with my boat most of the rest of the time now that the kids are in boarding school at Brisbane. I found fishing a few years back and it has become my passion.
FollowupID: 384385

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:16

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:16
I spent 20 years in Darwin between 1968 and 1998 at various times. Very fond memories of the place. But in the end it got too hot and the dry season burnoffs got to me as well.
FollowupID: 384389

Reply By: Ray Bates - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:10

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:10
I remember quite a few years ago driving a vehicle that had a Wilson Epicyclick gearbox. It consisted of a fluid flywheel and a series of planetary gears. Although there was no manual clutch as such there were clutches on each of the platetary gears to lock them and give drive. Driving was done on a combination of road speed and engine revs. Gears were changed via a gear change lever and the system requires pneumatics to operate the planet clutches. The vehicle has no clutch pedal and the driver drives entirly on instinct and revs
AnswerID: 129935

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:20

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:20
Ray

When I was a young fella I had an Auto Union car. It was the fore runner of the Audi. It also had a disengaging clutch when you were coasting down a hill the clutch would disengage and you could free wheel for a distance

I remember that my uncle had an Opel car which had a manual gear lever but the car had no clutch. Not sure how it worked but sounds like the principle you mentioned

FollowupID: 384392