Cooper tyres update

Submitted: Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 20:51
ThreadID: 26400 Views:3785 Replies:7 FollowUps:12
Some info to add to the "which tyres" debate.
Have now done 20,000k's on the ST's now (not the new STC's) including a trip up north QLD via nebo, mt coolon, burdikin falls dam, chilagoe, palmer river gold fields, bathurst bay, return via the lynd, to hughenden, muttuburra, longreach, as you can see, quite a bit of dirt and some rough 4wheeling in the goldfields area, all done with appropriate tyre pressures depending on the situation, and most dirt sections done at 90-100kph terrain permitting.
I rotated them myself at the 16k mark, a bit late I know, prior to the rotation I had a very slight flutter in the steering wheel at around 80 kph, hardly noticable, but there never the less, considering the mods and lift I thought it was quite acceptable.
After the rotation the 'flutter' turned into a full blown 'shake', 2-3mm either way on the steering wheel, at the same speed, "not good" I thought. I left it alone for a few thousand k's thinking they might 'settle in' a bit, it got no better, so off to Bob Jane's at brown's plains for a balance today.
It was recomended to me to do the "silver" balance, which involved removing the tyre from the rim and finding the 'high' or 'heavy' spots on each and then refitting, with the 'heavy spots' opposite each other, then finish off with a normal balance, this may be a load of codswhollop for all I know, but for the extra 4 bucks a wheel, I agreed, it was also "recomended" to do all 4 wheels, "bugger off, just the 2 that are connected to the steering wheel will do nicely thanks".
An hour later I drove down the highway and not a 'flutter' or 'shake' to be felt, 34 bucks and problem solvered.
Other than a few very small 'chunks' ( a dozen or so, the size of a pinky fingernail) and a dozen or so lugs torn at the base, which according to the tyre dealer in Cooktown, is pretty good for AT's after going into the gold fields and scrambling along the packhorse route upon leaving, the tyres are still in good condition.
There is 11mm tread left on the 2 rears, and 10mm on the front 2. Remember, the front 2 have been doing the driving up untill 4000k's ago, also all dirt roads were done in 4WD hi.
So, sofar so good and am still happy with them.
I realize a lot of the travel info is repeat for regular readers, but hopefuuly will give newer readers an idea of what the tyres have done.
Will give another update in approx. 20,000k's or so, unless something drastic happens earlier.
Hope this helps some people with the "which tyres" conundrum.

Avagoodn
Pezza

Reply By: Member - Duncs - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 21:39

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 21:39
Thanks for that Pezza.

It is good to get a progress report rather than just a winge when something has gone wrong.

It seems you had quite a trip, I agree about the hard stuff through the Palmer Goldfields. Rocky and rough, definately slow going but isn't it worth the effort.

I am running the STC's, after having previously said I would never fit Cooper's again (humble pie quietly consumed). I bought them because of advice received from one of the local toour operators who does lots of dirt road stuff, a fair bit of it at speed too, and a bit of low range work thrown in from time to time.

Have only done about 5000km but they are doing Ok. They still have the little needles on some of the blocks on the corners. Not much rough stuff but a bit of outback dirt at moderately high speeds and a little bit of soft sand work. They are inspiring confidence so far but the jury is still out.

Hope they are as good as I was told 'cause I can't afford to be bying tyres and diesel these days.

AnswerID: 129768

Reply By: Jimbo (WA) - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 21:50

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 21:50
Thanks Pezza,

I'm going through the decision process at the moment between BFG AT's (which I have at the moment and are very happy with), and the cooper ST's. Your info is helpful.
AnswerID: 129770

Reply By: Member - Melissa - Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 22:37

Monday, Sep 12, 2005 at 22:37
Interesting info Pezza. We've been running Cooper AT's on the GU for the last 75,000k's. We have the same on the campertrailer and have been rotating the tyres between car and camper. Trips have included Ningaloo, Murchison/Gascoyne outback including Mt Augustus and Kennedy Ranges, Cape Arid NP, Holland Track, Goldfields, Pilbara including East Pilbara, Gibb River Road and Mitchell Plateau, Bungles and down the Tanami as far as Wolfe Creek Crater. Conditions have varied from sandy to extremely stony. We always adjust tyre pressures to suit conditions and take a slow and steady approach. Only tyre problems we've had were two punctures - one from a sharp stone, another from a tech screw. Tyres have chipped out a bit but generally held together very well. They are pretty well stuffed now and will need to be replaced soon. I have to admit that for awhile there we weren't entirely happy with the rate of wear but after a while they seemed to settle down and we really don't have any complaints now. We'll probably replace them with more Coopers (may be STT's this time) because at the end of the day they are a reasonably priced tyre and I doubt anything else we'll buy will perform much better.

Interestingly, Bigkidz whom we travelled much of the Kimberely with were running STT's which we liked the look of and I believe they performed pretty well. A tyre dealer in Kununurra did tell us they were prone to losing lugs though.

:o) Melissa
AnswerID: 129783

Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:38

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:38
Hi Melissa

My STT's(old version) have done 22,000km and have performed well in the rough stuff.

They are however, severely scuffed on the sidewalls and have cracks inbetween the tread pattern and there are two lugs which will break off soon.

The new tread pattern STT's are supposed to be 33% better if you can believe the advertising blurb.

I might try Goodyear MTR's next.

FollowupID: 384252

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:57

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:57
I have ST's on the Jeep - with 72,000km on them. They still have around 8-9mm of tread left - but I've lost 3 lugs along the way. All round - not a bad effort. I rotate them every 15,000 or so and they've work reasonably evenly, although the sidewall block sipes are becoming "scalloped" and are pretty noisy on road now.

I have MTR's on the diesel GQ, and I suspect that I may be going with these on the Jeep too when it comes time for a change. I suspect I won't get the 85-90,000 I have out of the ST's, probably more like 45-50,000km - but I have the added benefit of more traction too.

I haven't thought about the Cooper STT's yet. A mate just put some on his fourby and is quite impressed so far. Apparrently they aren't quite as good in mud as the old model though. He "feels" that they don't self-clean as quickly. There's no way to formally measure this .... of course.
FollowupID: 384253

Reply By: madcow - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:50

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 08:50
Interesting Pezza. A friend of mine is is on his way back from the Cape with St's that were fitted prior to going and I have considered buying them in the future. He has also travelled on the Old coach Road to Laura and surrrounding areas. From what you describe they seem to be hanging in there ok!
AnswerID: 129809

Reply By: Shaker - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:15

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:15
I find it very hard to understand how you can be happy with lugs that have ripped off & lugs that are about to fall off, you never hear of this problem with other brands.
So, please enlighten me, why is this acceptable??
AnswerID: 129822

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:57

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:57
Ripping lugs off isn't really the end of the world...... is it?

The only reason that you ever really rip any off is that you have forgotten to air down properly anyway. You forget - you rip lugs off.

Don't forget! Simple.
FollowupID: 384261

Follow Up By: Shaker - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 12:04

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 12:04
As I said, we don't hear of this with other brands, or is it only Cooper owners that don't air down?
If you believed the distributors you would certainly think this to be the case!
FollowupID: 384285

Follow Up By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 12:06

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 12:06
hehe... "or is it only Cooper owners that don't air down"

Probably ;)

I've done it a couple of times now....... D'oh!
FollowupID: 384286

Follow Up By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 16:14

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 16:14
Shaker,

I tore lugs off my last (4th) set of BFG AT's and had only done about 200km off road, VIc High country, and yes I do adjust pressures to suit the terraine. The tyres were replaced at 28,000km

One of the lugs that came off took the tyre down to the belts. The dealer abused me when I asked him what he thought about the problem

I am now on Coopers, at least the dealer is friendly

FollowupID: 384338

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:14

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:14
G'day Shaker,

Mate, as Chrispy said, it's not really that big a deal, it's actually quite common to tear lugs off on all terrains in exceptionally rough terrain.
I tore mine whilst scrambling up quite steep hills, it didn't help that I still have the 2.8ltr in it, with hopeless ( read 'none' ) bottom end, and while keeping it above 2 grand you inevitably spin like crazy. All this in slate country and weighing over 3 tonne.
As I mentioned, I was talking to the tyre dealer in Cooktown about it who's reply was that he's never seen a tyre go through that track and come out undamaged, muddies hold up a lot better, but anything less does it hard. Interestingly, one of his guys went through there on BFG's AT's and tore them up to the extent where he replaced them the following week.
I can do the same type of 4wheeling around brissy and not do any damage at all, hence my opinion of being "acceptable under the conditions".

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 384377

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:34

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:34
I tore lugs off my Toyo Opats on a flat dirt track with some limestone sections at about 30kph
FollowupID: 384407

Reply By: the outlaws - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:40

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:40
gday pezza

good info but you might wanna check something on your warranty side of things for eg i put 305-75-r16 on my 03 patrol late last year (cooper a/t ) and was informed that to have full warranty on the tyres i had to have them balanced and rotated every 10,000 klm otherwise the 80,000 klm gaurentee would be void.

not sure if you have had yours from new ?

worth checking on but
AnswerID: 129830

Follow Up By: Patrol Freak (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 12:29

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 12:29
had my coopers st 33s fitted by spot on tyres. they text every 3 months for free tyre rotation &pressure check,done 60,000 so far no problems very happy with them.
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 384293

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:40

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:40
G'day Outlaws,

I did purchase them new, and by doing the rotation myself I realize most likely blew the warranty, it doesn't bother me.
When I bought the tyres I shopped around and played a few dealers against each other to get the best deal I could, I knew the conditions of the warranty and when I asked about the cost of the rotation every 10k, was told $40, 7x40= the cost of more than what I paid for a whole new tyre, my way of thinking was, no worries, I'll do the rotation myself, therefore I should still get close to the 80k, and they can stick their 280 bucks, and I'll put $280 towards my next set of tyres.
Knowing the tyres were going to do some fairly harsh stuff, and their warranty was probably as good as most "used car warranties" ( no offence Eric, I said 'most', not 'all') not worth the paper it's written on, and they would most likely find some pi$$weak excuse not to pay up anyhow.
Mind you, had I found a dealer like 'Patrol Freak' to do the rotation for nix, and still give me the same price on the tyres, I would have gone with it.
Some people may not agree with my train of thought, but that's just me.lol

Avagoodn
Pezza
FollowupID: 384381

Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:57

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 09:57
Pezza
If they are down to 10 and 11 mm, and they started at 16 or 17 mm, and you will ditch them before they get to 0mm, then they are well and truly half worn after 20,000 km. This is similar to my experience with them, and I would have to say, quite disappointing. I reckon the compound is too soft. My experience with BFGs on the other hand, in a heavier more powerful car, is that they have done 80,000 and are due for replacement. I prefer the look of the Cooper, but I can't afford a tyre that only covers half the distance before needing replacement.
AnswerID: 129836

Follow Up By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:58

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:58
G'day Bob,

Mate, would you believe I can't remember the measurement when new, yeah I know 'stupid', (maybe I really am getting old) but I'm pretty sure it was somewhere around the 13-14mm, the muddies are around the 15-16mm I think, I could be wrong, maybe someone that's measured a new set can correct me?
As for the compound, I think you will find it is slightly too hard, hence the breaking and cracking of the lugs, too brittle with not enough 'give'.
The new STC's are a softer compound to 'give' a bit more, though they don't have the warranty as the softer compound wears faster. It's always a compromise.

Avagoodn
Pezza

FollowupID: 384384

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:40

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:40
Tyres will always wear more initially and will handle worse on road - especially if you have 16mm of tread. this is because the tread flexes and squirms - the higher the tread the more flexing and squirming which will result in higher wear rates and less precise on road handling
FollowupID: 384409