gareth
Hi Guys,
As the topic says I'm sorry for the question. I'm looking at
buying a 4wd ute but need advice on what's needed for a serious off-roader. Ideally I'd like a patrol cab but would prefer a navara or hilux (all from the late nineties) if it could do the same job for less initial $$$. Later as my 4wd-ing skills improve ill buy lockers,
suspension, etc. Or is there something else I haven't thought of?
Thanks.
Gareth
Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:57
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 13:57
Hi Gareth,
Don't apologise for asking questions, mate. Good on you for having the guts to do so - unlike the clowns who think they know it all from day one.
Unfortunately, you'll probably get as many different opinions as replies to this question. But my two cents worth:
For serious off-road work I don't think you can beat coil springs and live axles. I don't like independent front-ends - you lose your clearance when the front end is compressed, almost all have relatively poor wheel travel (articulation) and some have a poor reputation for reliability.
Japanese is the easy way to go but if you want real off-road ability and strength, don't discount the Land Rover Defender 110 & 130 utes. The Tdi and Td5 engines punch
well above their weight when 'tuned'
well and the all-coil
suspension gives an excellent ride for a 'real' 4WD ute. The cabin and seating position will feel odd if bought up on a diet of sedans and Jap utes but it is surprisingly comfortable when you get used to it.
Whatever you choose, please try to do a reputable 4WD driving course. You will amaze yourself with you and your vehicles abilities after a weekend of proper training. Welcome.
Follow Up By: gareth - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 15:34
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 15:34
Thanks for your advice Ian,
I also thought after posting that if i'll need lockers and
suspension upgrades anyway then maybe an old swb fj40 (or land rover?!) for a couple of thousand and make it into a bit of a project that'll evolve over time would be a better idea.
Gareth
Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 17:40
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 17:40
Hi again Gareth,
Don't get too hung-up on 'needing' lockers,
winches, lift kits etc. As Duncs says, if you get a vehicle with decent ability and learn to operate it competently, there's very few
places you 'need' the expensive add-ons - as much as the aftermarket industry would like to convince you otherwise.
I don't claim to be any great driver but our Disco, on the standard
suspension, without lockers,
winches, etc. has taken us to
Cape York (OTL track), across the Simpson and innumerable other pretty tough locations. Learn to use what you've got and get your money's worth out the original components before bushing the lot for expensive replacements.
Reply By: Well 55 - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 14:36
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 14:36
If you are thinking of a serious off roader with lockers, forget the Hi Lux/Navara. Their drive trains are not strong enough.
Go with the Nissan Patrol coil cab.
Reply By: Member - Duncs - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 15:35
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 15:35
Gareth,
I think Ian has just about covered it.
The other thing to consider is that if you get a capable vehicle in the first place then you will have to spend less on lockers etc to get the same off road ability.
The Landrover will flog any of the Navara/Hilux club off road as a standard vehicle.
The other thing with the Landie is that because of its bolt together construction it could be quite easy to convert a wagon into dual cab ute or vice versa.
( They do still bolt together don't they?)
Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 16:36
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 16:36
" .. ( They do still bolt together don't they?) .."
Yep ... sorta ....... :o)
Follow Up By: Willem - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 17:43
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 17:43
Good grief Rosco! What happened to you....bin kissing princesses in the dark??? hahahahaha
Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:08
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:08
Stuffed if I know cobber .. it started out as a wart on my ar$e.
............ :-))
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 07:53
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 07:53
you mean your nose dont you.....was the wart as ugly
Reply By: Exploder - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 18:58
Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 18:58
If in was looking for a serious off-Road Ute I would be looking at only 2.
1. Nissan Patrol Coil Cab.
2. Toyota 75/78 t/Top or Ute back
Nissan.
Coils are easer and cheaper to lift and give better ride. The N/A 4.2 diesel (but go a turbo if you can) is also solid and from people I have talked too, apparently is more responsive than the Toyota 4.2. The Nissan interior is also a little bigger and a little more refined and the Nissan also has a solid LSD, so unless you really enjoy spending money a rear locker is not absolutely necessary and the Nissan drive line is stronger. Standard is a reasonability capable 4WD and more refined than the Toyota 75. (IMO)
Toyota 75
It is already has good ground clearance and 33-inch tyres will fit on with no problems, has leaf’s all round so will feal every little pebble you run over and more $$ to lift. Comes standard with long-range
tank’s :) and the diesel engine will go forever. The cabin is fairly small and
seat’s are not terribly good on the plus side just about the whole car is welded, riveted and then screwed together including the dash. Bog standard it is IMO probably the most capable 4WD-ute around.
Note these are all my opinions and observations and I am sure the owners of the 2 above 4WD will correct me if I have given incorrect information.
Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 00:08
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 00:08
I recon you couldn't go wrong with a GQ ute or wagon. Maybe even a 75 series ute or 60 series wagon.
All of these will go just about anywhere in standard form.
Reply By: Coyote - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:42
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:42
For what it's worth, here's my 2 cents..
What is the primary role of the vehicle.. don't buy something that is going to be absoloutley outstanding for 5% of your driving and crap for the rest.. The Landy's are a grat off road veh.. I've driven 1000's of K's in em as I'm in RAAF securituy and drive across Aust and back a few ties a year and oftne in Landy's.. having said that I can honestly say that they are one of the worst on road vehicles I've ever driven. If I was living in the bush or wanted a farm ute.. I'd go a Landy at the drop of a hat, but if I wanted to go touring and do many
miles on open roads, dirt or black top. I would steer clear.
I agree with the Patrol Ute idea.. The patrols are genrally built as light trucks. ideally I think you should try for coils up front but depends what your doing with the back end. If you are setting up a camper on the back with the aim of leaving it on, then coils all 'round would be great.. but if the load on the back is going to be varying between empty and loaded, then leafs would be best as they are set up to basicaly handle varying loads. (see the article in Explore Oz on springs etc)
Reply By: Coyote - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:43
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:43
For what it's worth, here's my 2 cents..
What is the primary role of the vehicle.. don't buy something that is going to be absolutley outstanding for 5% of your driving and crap for the rest.. The Landy's are a grate off road veh.. I've driven 1000's of K's in em as I'm in RAAF security and drive across Aust and back a few times a year and often in Landy's.. having said that I can honestly say that they are one of the worst on road vehicles I've ever driven. If I was living in the bush or wanted a farm ute.. I'd go a Landy at the drop of a hat, but if I wanted to go touring and do many
miles on open roads, dirt or black top. I would steer clear.
I agree with the Patrol Ute idea.. The patrols are genrally built as light trucks. ideally I think you should try for coils up front but depends what your doing with the back end. If you are setting up a camper on the back with the aim of leaving it on, then coils all 'round would be great as you can buy the rights ones for the weight you are carrying.. but if the load on the back is going to be varying between empty and loaded, then leafs would be best as they are set up to basicaly handle varying loads. (see the article in Explore Oz on springs etc)