Fuel buying strike!

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:20
ThreadID: 26429 Views:2846 Replies:14 FollowUps:2
Not sure if this has been posted or if readers are aware, but it is worth consideration.

Food for thought and action!

It has been calculated that if everyone in Australia did not purchase a
drop of petrol for one day and all at the same time, the oil companies
would choke on their stockpiles.

At the same time it would hit the entire industry with a net loss over
4.6 billion dollars which affects the bottom lines of the oil companies.

Therefore Thursday September 22nd has been formally declared "stick it up
their behind” day and the people of this nation should not buy a single
drop of petrol that day.

The only way this can be done is if you forward this e-mail to as many
people as you can and as quickly as you can to get the word out.

Waiting on the government to step in and control the prices is not going
to happen. What happened to the reduction and control in prices that the
Arab nations promised two weeks ago?

Remember one thing, not only is the price of petrol going up but at the
same time airlines are forced to raise their prices, trucking companies
are forced to raise their prices which effects prices on everything that
is shipped. Things like food, clothing, building supplies, medical
supplies etc. Who pays in the end? We do!

We can make a difference. If they don't get the message after one day, we
will do it again and again.

So do your part and spread the word. Forward this email to everyone you
know. Mark your calendars and make September 22nd a day that the citizens
of Australia fight back.

"Enough is enough"

Reply By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:23

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:23
"Enough is enough"

well said.
I think this makes 5 times this week
AnswerID: 129927

Follow Up By: jduckmanton - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:26

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:26
Sorry for the over exposure, I haven't been on the forum for a while due to computer being down.

Cheers John
FollowupID: 384379

Reply By: DaLUX - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:27

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 19:27
PLEASE PLEASE do a search before you post this sort of stuff, its not your fault but it has been posted before many times.. and is indeed a myth..
AnswerID: 129929

Reply By: See You - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:03

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:03
Wow do you reckon it will work? It seems like a good idea. You know power to the people and all that.
AnswerID: 129933

Reply By: Fordskin - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:14

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:14
If you people think that it will work than your dead set dreaming.
AnswerID: 129936

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 23:42

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 23:42
I can't believe there are so many suckers in Australia that would be conned by this stupid hoax.
AnswerID: 129986

Reply By: wresat - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 04:37

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 04:37
Great Idea!

Fuel stocks build up in refineries therefore processing equipment needs to slow down or stop therefore anything up to and even greater then 48 hours to start some fractional / distillation towers therefore lack of supply therefore higher prices.

One great be circle.
AnswerID: 129997

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 07:42

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 07:42
i agree its a ripper of an idea....you all do it .....but not me.....cos it wont work!!!!
AnswerID: 130002

Reply By: Coyote - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:53

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:53
Sounds like a great idea, but it doesn't seem to stand up to more than few seconds of consideration..
If the oil companies were deliberatley over inflating costs then sure.. it would probably work.But this idea seems to forget one crucial fact.. the reason for high proces is the old "supply/demand" thingy.. since the cyclone and the War in the Middle East.. supply is down, hence the demand goes up and hence the proces go up etc etc. I don's think we need to get into to Capitalism and world economincs, but the fact is, this is a pointless exercise because it wont' increase the productionof oil.. Yes, higher prices etc. lead to increase in costs for transprt etc etc.. hence more money in oil/transport inductry. which in trun flows on to other areas etc.. it's called capitalism and the wheel truns (pardon the pun - intended) the end result is called inflation.. This in trun needs to be managed by the Govt' which they seem to have a handle on ie.. the Reserve bank hasn't raised interest rates blah blah.. now we are realy getting away from the explore Oz ethos so suffice to say. .if we want to keep driving our 4WD's and getting out and enjoying this great lan, we just have to bite the bullet and buy smart...
AnswerID: 130018

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 10:03

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 10:03
the dude that first thought this up in 1970 should go for Prime Minister, we have a dead set true leader there
AnswerID: 130020

Reply By: P.G. (Tas) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 10:52

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 10:52
G'day all. I won't buy any fuel on the 22nd of September, but won't I have to buy a few litres more on the 23rd?
AnswerID: 130028

Follow Up By: RAGS AND DAGS - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 11:10

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 11:10
great point ;)
FollowupID: 384493

Reply By: RAGS AND DAGS - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 11:11

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 11:11
I would have thought that if anything put pressure on bottom line profits this would have the reverse effect on price.

AnswerID: 130036

Reply By: Member - Dedalus (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 12:52

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 12:52
I agree .... what about 1 week of strike? I have about 145 lt. of petrol in my 4wd .... Is this enought?
AnswerID: 130053

Reply By: Coyote - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 13:36

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 13:36
Surely not buying for 1 day or even 1 week won't make any difference. We all need to buy fuel, the oil companies know it. sooner or later we wil have to fill up, the only soloution is we all stop driving... Perhaps we need to put pressure on Govt to help by reducung the tax on fuel. Fact remains supply/demand = prices will go up, rarely down and the wheel goes round... just this tije they went up a lot becuase of a hurricane and a war.. I hate to admit it but I think the prices are here to stay...
in some ways this is great.. less soccuer mum 4WD's around giving serious 4WDers a bad name.
AnswerID: 130057

Reply By: Sam013 - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 20:00

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 20:00
that little scheme will not work, there is no effect on demand....... however there is a potential impact on service station profits........... given that most servos make little and sometimes even no money on fuel, that a source of income for them is the little extras we all buy and mechanical services. So consider this, lets say we all don't get fuel that day...........who do we hurt? The fuel company owned servos???? I don't think so................but what about the small independent operator.......... hhhmmmm. remember, he doesnt make much money from fuel (it is true).......... so for a whole day, he loses income, income that will not be replaced.......... and how many are on the edge of going broke.

I wonder who started that email..................................

Lawrence
AnswerID: 130109