Solar-Useless in Winter without an AGM

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:11
ThreadID: 26431 Views:3504 Replies:12 FollowUps:23
I've posted lots of stuff on Solar in the past, mainly praising it, and I still love it.

However after the last seven days away in Victoria's miserable weather, Solar is next to useless. My panel is a Unisolar (amorphous type) that will still produce power in overcast conditions, albeit minimal.

However, because it was so cold, the fridge drew bugger all power. This is where the AGM battery came into its own. Because the AGM will accept an high volume of charge it was simply a matter of idling the engine in the morning and night for about 15 minutes and going for a drive during the day to pick up wood or food.

Near as I can work out, my engine (3.5 V6 petrol) uses about 1.5 litres per hour idling (knocking out 50 to 60 amps), so it's not an expensive way to charge the battery, as opposed to buying a generator. Why spend big money on a generator when you've got a ripper under your bonnet?

Anyway, I won't be going away in that sort of weather again for a while. It's about to brighten up again in Vic and it'll be a simple matter of sticking the panel out in the sun all day.

Solar is great, but like everything, it has its limitations.

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:24

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:24
OK Jimbo

Would a polycrystalline work better?? Or do you still reckon amorphyous are better due to shadows having less effect??

Still researching ... as may appear obvious.

Cheers cob
AnswerID: 129941

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:38

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:38
Cobber,

As I understand it, the answer is no. Polys produce nothing in partial shade or overcast conditions.

In overcast, cold conditions in Vic the amorphous is still knocking out about 12.6 volts through the regulator. Not a lot, but better than nothing.

In QLD you may do well with a poly, but keep in mind they they lose up to 20% efficiency over 25C. Having lived in Townsville for eight miserable years, and it never got below 27C, even in winter, I would suggest an amorphous panel would suit you better.

However amorphous panels are a lot bigger.

Good luck Old Son.
FollowupID: 384394

Follow Up By: Breadman - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:53

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:53
why post misinformation. Of course polycrystalline produce power in overcast conditions. You are totally incorrect about poly or mono crystalline losing 20% over 25c. Where do you dream up that type of stuff from? They lose around 5% which is not worth talking about as it is a time of the year in summer that you have more power than you know what to do with.
You may be interested to know amorphous are poor performers below 25c and lose a minimum of 15%. Amorphous panels overall are a poor purchase compared to crystalline panels. Besides the poor life span of amorphous panels and the high individual cell failure rate, amorphous panels are twice the surface area per watt compared to crystalline panels.
FollowupID: 384412

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 07:45

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 07:45
I'll take notice of Collyn Rivers over you anyday Ozi.
FollowupID: 384457

Reply By: Gajm (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:32

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:32
Jumbo, I had the same problem last year, and have just bought 2 AGM batteries for our next trip (1 for the CT) I havn't used them in anger yet, but my initial at home tests are looking really good.

So far I have used the car one to charge the laptop, and run the 40 litre engel filled with room temperature drinks, (not what id usualy do) and let it run inside the hot car with the occasional opening of the fridge to simulate use, and I have had 2 nights, 3 days, with no problems what so ever. I was lucky to get thru the night with my old deep cycle.

Like you, I will stick with the solar, and if needed will run the 4.2 litre generator every now and then.

Glenn
AnswerID: 129947

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:42

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:42
Sounds like you've got it pretty well sorted Glenn.

"Jumbo" ?????? Have you been peeking or was it a typo? LOL.

Jim
FollowupID: 384395

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:49

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 20:49
such adoration.....
FollowupID: 384397

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:01

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:01
So you've a peek as well Lyn? LOL
FollowupID: 384398

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:05

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:05
well I have been wondering how you were holding that towel up last xmas...
FollowupID: 384399

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:08

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:08
I heard thats why you needed a solar panel that will still work with shadows cast across it!.... ok a typo, and a bloody embarassing one at that, I proof read everything else!
FollowupID: 384401

Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:12

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:12
he's not called the sun dial for nothing you know..... :)
FollowupID: 384402

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:20

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:20
Actually the boys at the footy club used to call me "Tripod" (I wish) LMAO

Or was that my youngest Son Stevo (he's part horse).

FollowupID: 384403

Reply By: Member - Jack - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:21

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:21
Pardon my ignorance folks, but what is an AGM?
Thanks in advance ...
Jack
The hurrieder I go, the behinder I get. (Lewis Carroll-Alice In Wonderland)

AnswerID: 129956

Follow Up By: Gajm (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:26

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:26
Absorbed Glass Mat battery

http://www.fridge-and-solar.net/agm.htm
FollowupID: 384405

Reply By: Muddy 'doe (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:30

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 21:30
Hi Jimbo (or should that be Jumbo!),

You raise a great point about using that great big generator under the bonnet to do a quickish recharge of the second battery.

I have done this and seems to work OK. I have invested in 115AH Trojan Battery as my accessories battery so have plenty of capacity to run my 40 litre Weaco even in warmish weather. I have no problem idling car for one to two hours in mid morning if I am not planning on moving anywhere. So it would use maybe 5 or 6 litres of fuel.

Interested in what our resident tech heads would say about how much this puts back in battery compared to stuffing around with expensive solar panel that has to be moved around to get best effect and has to be stored and is liable to be knocked off.

Once I get camper trailer I will probably get 1kva genny to do recharging for 4 or 5 hours a day when noise is no drama (hate hearing gennys running at night) but until then will stick with just using battery with recharging from engine either on drives or just sitting idling. Possible issue with noise of car sitting idling but where I go this is generally not a drama.

Just wonder how effective it really is and what comments people have.

Muddy
AnswerID: 129959

Follow Up By: joc45 - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:34

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:34
Hi Muddy,
petrol enines may be quiter, but having experienced someone nearby running their 4L diesel at dusk to charge their batteries was not pleasant.
And I go to remote places for the peace and quiet, even during the day. A chorus of gennies during the day is reminiscent of living next to a freeway.
Just my thoughts...
Gerry
FollowupID: 384477

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 11:12

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 11:12
Go SOLAR, -> do it once and do it right!!!

You don't have to chase the sun with solar UNLESS you are down on battery power (get a AGM battery system) or under-sized with the solar panel/s...

With solar systems the battery/s are constantly being recharged during daylight, Yeah Ok, we all know that :-(

When the fridge is running during the day (using Engel numbers) @ ~2 a/h, an 80wt solar panel is replacing that at the rate of at least @ ~2 a/h MINIUM in Vic, (in WA ~4) then of a night the panel will not work, BUT the fridge will draw LESS power simply because everyone says so, how many times have I read those posts saying that ? and in the morning the panel again starts (as soon as the sun raises on to the face of the panel 8am) to replenish what was taken out during the night with 13+ volts and ~4 amps again, it is just something that happens automatically and you can't stop it - unless you put the panel out of the sunSHINE!

The numbers are only as a very accurate guide, as you can imagen in Victoria, which is on the other side of that desert, they get cool weather :-(
however a solar panel works on sunLIGHT not on heat produced by the sun!

With a generator you have to do all sorts of things to it to turn it on and off and the noise and fumes... carry fuel, and the friendly camper next door well he will leave cause you ****
FollowupID: 384843

Reply By: muzzgit (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 01:37

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 01:37
Jimbo, the point you raise about running the engine to recharge batteries is a valid one, however, you will find that by raising the revs by one or two hundred rpm will make a huge difference.

Usually, the alternator will put out minimal charge at idle, but at 1000 to 1100 rpm the increase in charge is substantial.

Muzz
AnswerID: 129992

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 10:09

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 10:09
"Near as I can work out, my engine (3.5 V6 petrol) uses about 1.5 litres per hour idling (knocking out 50 to 60 amps)"

I was going to say the same thing Jimbo. You may have a 60amp alternator but at idle you won't be getting anywhere near that much.

I still use this method though. As most times we go camping it is a 4wd trip so the vehicle gets used anyway. I don't have any other way of charging my batteries.
FollowupID: 384484

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 10:55

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 10:55
Utie,

My alternator is a 130 amp job. I believe it produces that at about 2000 rpm, so I'm guessing 50 or 60 at idle.
FollowupID: 384492

Follow Up By: Utemad - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 11:22

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 11:22
That is one big alternator! Is that standard on your Terracan? I think my Rodeo alternator is only about 55amps.
If it is aftermarket it should have ratings for various rpms on the box. I know my brothers did. His is on a V8 that idles quite low and it has virtually no charge at idle (lights dim etc) he has the wrong alternator for the application I guess.
FollowupID: 384495

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 11:30

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 11:30
Utie I just checked the hanbook, it's actually 120 amps standard.

I believe that is fairly common these days with all the electrics and electronics to run.
FollowupID: 384496

Reply By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 07:39

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 07:39
i didnt think engines, especially diesels, liked being run at idle?

And it will clear up soon in Vic....you've got to be joking.......you've always got crappy weather over there
AnswerID: 130001

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 07:51

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 07:51
Nudenut ,how many trucks do you see sitting and just idleing while the driver is out of the cab for 1/2 hr+ ,, if it hurt none would do it., gives cool down time for turbo after loaded run and in reverse on cold start up warm up time for oil.
FollowupID: 384462

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 08:31

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 08:31
yeah.... true!
see I dont know everything....not like swmbo
FollowupID: 384470

Reply By: Member - Banjo The First (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 08:39

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 08:39
You should have known better Jim - Victoria is Victoria :-) .... carn the Crows !
AnswerID: 130007

Reply By: Longreach - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:57

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:57
I have also had the frustration of driving across the country and back with a solar panel on the roof, only to find day after day of overcast conditions, or camps where we would prefer to camp in the shade rather than move out into the sun just to make the solar panel work. We have also had our share of windy campsites. So, thinking out loud, the question is, are any of these small wind turbines a feasible idea ? Could they be easily put up and taken down when camping, perhaps on a short mast on the bull bar. I don't even know how big they would be to try and pack, or whether you could have one with removable blades to help pack it up. I guess it would need to be at least 50 - 100w to be worth considering.
AnswerID: 130019

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 17:47

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 17:47
I use a Solarex panel and find that in overcast conditions where the cloud is light in colour, eg; not dark grey rain clouds, (I mean this is WA)the power produced is actually higher, due in part to the lower panel temperature and the higher reflective light of the clouds.
Yes, I can actually sit and watch the amps raise or fall as the clouds pass over the solar panel via the regulator LCD screen :-)
FollowupID: 384723

Follow Up By: joc45 - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 18:05

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 18:05
I saw a wind gennie bolted to a roo bar at a camping spot last summer. Bit of a worry, tho; he had a short pole bolted to the roo bar with the gennie sitting not far above, with the spinning blades within reach. If a kid climbed up on the roo bar, there could have been a terrible accident. I note one seller of these gennies stating that the supporting pole must have an engineering certificate.
Re Solar, I use 120w of panels to run my Autofridge (4.5A), and this seems to cope with overcast days. The exception is in the tropics when the sky is overcast and the ambient temp in the mid-30's. I reckon that 150w would be my next choice.
Gerry
FollowupID: 385014

Reply By: Alan Southport QLD - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 11:02

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 11:02
We had some strong winds a while ago and 3 of my solar panels got blown off, and are shattered (the glass, so pretty useless) - time for the bin :(

Anyone in QLD want to sell me some panels?

I'm on the Gold Coast, so will travel within reason.

Alan.
AnswerID: 130032

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 17:19

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 17:19
Jimbo

can you email me please, I've lost your home email addy

Lyn
AnswerID: 130259

Reply By: Mike DiD - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 10:06

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 10:06
Keep in mind that for long life, you should not charge an AGM at more amps than 25% of the AmpHour rating.

So for a 100Amphour you should limit it to 25 Amps.

So charging at idle may be best. I really must install Ammeters in the Alternator and battery leads.
AnswerID: 130525

Follow Up By: Mainey (WA) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 14:40

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 14:40
(QUOTE)I really must install Ammeters in the Alternator and battery leads. - So for a 100Amphour you should limit it to 25 Amps (end quote) so you can WATCH the neadle move from the green area into the red area, and then stop the car and have a coffee :-(

What if you have a 100 a/h alternator ??

remedy:
change it for a 25a/h alternator...

Nah, what other way would it werk?

100a/h alternater restricted to 25a/h?
...seeking answers - nothing else...
as I am going to (maybe) use AGM's when my Delkor DC's die :-(

remember HE said I'm one of the "uneducated" ones :-) :-) :-)
FollowupID: 384993

Reply By: Mike DiD - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 16:42

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 16:42
The " for long life, you should not charge an AGM at more amps than 25% of the AmpHour rating" rule is a bit like the "you shouldn't discharge a Deep Cycle below".

Plenty of people do it and their batteries don't die suddenly. They are rules for maximum battery life, not to stop instant death.

Keep in mind that Stage 1 of a 3 Stage Charger limits the current to 25% of Amp Hour capacity.

If you are charging your battery from the Alternator while stationary you could set idle speed so this current into the battery isn't exceeded.

If you are driving you could adjust the Alternator output voltage so this current into the battery isn't exceeded.

AnswerID: 130564

Follow Up By: Mike DiD - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 16:45

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 16:45
That should read "you shouldn't discharge a Deep Cycle below 50% remaining".
FollowupID: 385001