10,000klm update on Goodyear MT/Rs

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:11
ThreadID: 26435 Views:2863 Replies:7 FollowUps:18
G'day all,

Some of you might recall I bought 4 new MT/Rs back in mid June, just in time to go on a Simpson Desert trip etc.

Have now done 10,000klm in the last 3 months since fitting and took the ol' girl in today for a complementry tyre rotation. They measured the tread depth whilst I was there. The rears were down to 12.3mm, the fronts to 13.2mm and he measured a new one he had on the shelf which was 14.1mm.

All said and done I am very happy with the result so far.

I run them @ 42psi on the black top and drop them to high 20's on gravel and did the Simpson crossing with 16psi (cold).

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:28

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:28
Hey !!! Thats not bad for a vehicle thats the weight of a steam roller!!!! LOL!!
AnswerID: 129971

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:50

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:50
Michael,
Removed about 100kgs on the weekend.....one spare tyre plus it's swing arm plus all recovery gear (hi lift jack, shackles, snatch block, straps x 3 and 5mtr drag chain)............so now it's back down to around 3 tonne.
FollowupID: 384431

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:52

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:52
3ton? is that just the cargo area measured?
FollowupID: 384434

Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:29

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:29
Roachie,

Does this wear indicate you are heading for 60 - 70k from this set ?
I will soon be going through the process of which tyre once again, my latest set of duelers have not got the km's I have come to expect from them, maybe time for a change.
Good to hear your happy so far.

Regards Trevor.
PS temp has settled again after that one incident up north. Keep you posted.
AnswerID: 129972

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:34

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:34
Nah he takes them off when they are half worn, anyway they dont wear as much when being towed by the 60 a lot of the time ahahahahah
good one mate, Im heading for about 80,000 out of my savero AT's

Cheers, cya friday night!
FollowupID: 384427

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:48

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:48
Quote:
"when being towed by the 60 a lot of the time ahahahahah"

Pesty: just got 2 words to say to you..............

Inya dreams!!!!!!!!! hahahaha (;-))

Where are we gunna meet? Port Pire Subway around 1900?

FollowupID: 384430

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 08:36

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 08:36
port pirie.....now thats a long way to go for a business dinner...
and at a SUBWAYS too?
FollowupID: 384471

Follow Up By: Member - Pesty (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 08:56

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 08:56
Actually Nudie, we are going to Pt A Gutta for the w/end, wona come and have a plagon with us?

FollowupID: 384473

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:41

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:41
sorry guys....got a bbq and fishing week end (includes a few reds and als no doubt) on just the other side of clare...but only if i earn heaps of brownie points between now and friday morning...hahaha
FollowupID: 384478

Reply By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:33

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:33
60-70... Gee i got 120,000k's out of a set of BFG's and shed a few tears leaving behind 5 or 6 millimetres of tread on the old ones.. Dont worry, i soon got over it!!
AnswerID: 129974

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:52

Tuesday, Sep 13, 2005 at 22:52
I'll be happy to get 12 months (40,000klm) out of them.....any extra is a bonus.
FollowupID: 384432

Reply By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:31

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 09:31
Bill,

How noisy are they?

AnswerID: 130015

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 10:02

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 10:02
When new, great. Very quiet compared to other MT's.

When worn, 30-40k klms they get noisey.
FollowupID: 384481

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 19:56

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 19:56
Thanks Bruce
FollowupID: 384583

Reply By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 11:04

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 11:04
LMAO, I remember I bought mine before you got yours and you've already over taken me with the k's!! We've done bugger all, we are only just creeping up towards the first rotation (10k).

Interesting, I run the exact same pressures in the same conidtions.... Works good.

I'm lighter, but I've got smaller tyres, so I guess that's how it works out.

Good to here they are working out for you!
AnswerID: 130033

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 16:21

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 16:21
Jeff,
Chances are you have a 2nd vehicle? Mine is the one and only (Annette doesn't drive at all.....she prefers to ride the deadly treadley), so the trol gets used as the taxi, home to work and anything else you can think of.
I did however, have to do about 3,000klm within a week of getting the tyres fitted as I had to drive to Narrandera that first night after learning that my mother was terminally ill. So 1,000klm to N'dera; about 5 trips to/from Wagga @ 100klm each way over the next 5 days; then another 1,000klm back to Kadina after the funeral. Then we did the Simpson trip a couple of weeks later.
FollowupID: 384543

Follow Up By: Member - Jeff M (WA) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 23:35

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 23:35
Sorry to here about the circumstances for the miles...

Yeah, my missus has a work car that we use where we can, the surf only does the school and shopping runs during the week (now that I am a house husband) and any trips that we do. Unfortunatally with our crappy weather combined with our sick little girl the last few months havn't equated to many trips. :-(
FollowupID: 384611

Reply By: Scoey - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 13:56

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 13:56
Hey while we're talking about wear, I was looking at a set of MT/R's for my 80 series. Does anyone know what sort of k's you'd get from a fulltime fourby? I know tyre life is significantly reduced from the fulltime 4WD but just wondering exactly what sorta wear people are getting?

Scoey
AnswerID: 130061

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 14:58

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 14:58
though of going with the part time 4wd conversion?
FollowupID: 384532

Follow Up By: Scoey - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 16:18

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 16:18
Haven't had the truck that long mate, hence the question on tyre wear. Have seen adds for part time kits and they sound ok but I haven't really checked em out and they're pretty low on the list of mods I want done. I guess when I start chewin up rubber it might creep up the list a bit eh? ;-)

Scoey
FollowupID: 384542

Follow Up By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 16:23

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 16:23
I didn't think the full time system used by 80s and 100s etc caused much more (if any) extra tyre wear.
FollowupID: 384544

Follow Up By: Scoey - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 16:46

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 16:46
Yeah I couldn't say. I've been told both horror stories and claims that it has no difference. I guess I'll find out in due course and I guess it comes down to driving style, terrain type commonly used on, road temp and pressures? Cheer sfor the input but, Roachie!
Scoey!
FollowupID: 384551

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 19:37

Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 19:37
I am told full time 80s scrub the shoulders a little more than part timers, but apart from that there is bugger all difference.
I chased the price of full blown part time kit and thru marks it was $2500 or so all up. 4WD systems do a cheaper one for $600, but have not heard anything on the reliability or operation of that- I think 4wd systems only replace hubs, whereas marks do a t-case mod as well.

I have my MT/Rs on (clockwise from drivers) 12.2, 13.2, 13, 11.3, and that is after 7000km, but i drive a bit harder than most so I'd expect my wear to be higher than another full timer. My last set only served me a year but that was with alot of rock climbing and a few 3200km round trips from Karratha to Perth.
FollowupID: 384577

Follow Up By: Coops (Kalgoorlie) - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:18

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 22:18
70K would be the absolute minimum I would expect. Mine are 3+ years old now and 50 000 km's on them and still going strong. Around the 10mm depth mark now but I haven't got an exact measurement. Ben seems to have this sorted so I might catch up with him and measure them for curiosity's sake.
I reckon I'm about halfway through tyre life and couldn't be happier with performance or wear. I've veen stopped carrying the second spare.
FollowupID: 386114

Reply By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 08:34

Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 08:34
Thanks Roachie

I think i will make them my next set

Ads
AnswerID: 130192