Is 20grand a lot of money any more?
Submitted: Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 18:47
DukeAtty
Plenty of forumites have asked the question which car should i buy (a GU Patrol or a 100 series) and each and every person that owns one of these vehicles tells the question asker what they should buy....... BUT WHY??????? (diesel 4.2's i refer)
Why do 100series owners tell them the engines are far superior than the other??
Why do Patrol owners tell them the drivelines are stronger??
Patrols strip 5th gear, Landcruisers have crap front EFS which is crippling in certain situations, Landcruisers blow front diffs, Landcruisers have crap rear LSD, Both Vehicles are comfortable to drive, Landcruiser has 30 more kw of power.....
WHY would you spend 20 THOUSAND more dollars to drive a 100 series???...
Please tell me.....
Reply By: Willem - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 19:01
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 19:01
You would spend the 20 grand more because you either have it in the bank or you have the capability to borrow it. It must be an ego thing.
Cars,4bies and all things automotive are just Recycled Earth in my opinion.
Follow Up By: DukeAtty - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 19:28
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 19:28
Yes Ego.... Spot on Willem...
All recycled earth,, yes exactly...
Same alloy, cast iron, plastic, wiring etc etc....
But one seems to be preferred as a city car , being the 100series....
I can understand that part because you dont have to ask anything of the vehicle eg:: moms taxi, sahara for the suits etc.....
But WHY on GODS earth would you spend the extra 20 G's to take it off road with that front end and that rear LSD??...
Ok,, the arguement may be that a rear locker is fitted and a live front end,,, then we are talking 25 grand extra....
People are funny critters...
Follow Up By: Willem - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 19:49
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 19:49
I gave my 1978 truck away last year, to a mate. It had done 500,000plus.
Ended up buying another Nissan...94 model with high kays on it but affordable. Has gone even higher now. But it goes
well and goes where some of the others go and maybe beyond that.
Didn't cost an arm and a leg and is reasonably economical if I take it gently.
It isnt a fast truck with 85kw output and I watch as the rich fly past me on the road and tracks in their latest GU or 100 series' and muse that I hope they can afford it. lol
Follow Up By: DukeAtty - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 21:58
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 21:58
The luxury car tax threshold is $55 134.
Work out the amount to be subject to luxury car tax using the following formula: (luxury car tax value - luxury car tax threshold)
$88 000 - $55 134 = $32 866
As the $32 866 includes GST, the next step is to multiply this amount by 10/11 to exclude GST:
10/11 X $32 866 = $29 878.18
The effect of excluding GST is that the luxury car tax is payable on $29 878.18 not $32 866.
Multiply the amount that is left by the luxury car tax rate of 25 percent: $29 878.18 X 25% = $7469.55 luxury car tax payable
Another reason to stick to the Nissans...
Reply By: mfewster - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 19:39
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 19:39
I asked myself the same questions and came up with a different answer when I replaced my 4WD last year. I figured that fuel prices were about to go through the roof and that the depreciation on my toy of choice was about to become horrendous as the public demand for big fuel chewers dropped. So I figured it was better to buy an old solid 4WD where the depreciation would be as little as possible. Bought an old but good 60 series diesel. Its
tank like. had lots of good gear on it and I reckon will be going for another 15 years at least. Lots of cheap spare parts for the bits that don't keep going. Yep, it eats fuel, but, the depreciation is negligible; I calculate that I have saved so much that I can still afford to fuel the thing. If necessary I'll get a little fuel miser for around town and be able to keep the truck for the things I love.
Follow Up By: Member - Phil [Sunshine Coast] - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 20:14
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 20:14
Mfewster, Giday,
I'm with u there,I got a 60 series low ks. 7 yr. ago bin round the block once, a trip to the Cape & to the NT. & Gulf about 50000ks. all up & only $2200 in mech. reps. so far. 12.6l/100 fuel & 16.7L/100ks. towing a ctwith tinnie on top, so i,m happy! I think I might shout myself one of those ''you beaut seats'' Its a bit hard on the ass for this old bugga!!
spotya, Phil
Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 22:11
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 22:11
Mfewster ,methinks you got it in one ,spent 4 months looking for the vehicle that always wanted yet could not justify new ,,, new price in 93 was $73 thou ,, now 1/3 and will last for the next 15/20 yrs as is a real truck , not like the new soft tojo on offer ,,,,,,80series turbo diesel GXL Auto.
Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 20:09
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 20:09
Duke,
Some people are not mechanically minded and need the piece of mind that comes with a warranted vehicle, some more people would rather drive a new comfy vehicle rather than give their hard earned to Mr Costello (via tax), some more do it cause they can ect ect. That's the power of freedom of choice in a democratic society.
If you choose to drive one of these new vehicles and you do have a problem with it, from my experience you would be glad you payed the extra for a yota badge. Nissan wiped me as soon as they possibly could re warranty claims, but in a past vehicle toyota could not do enough for me on a number of occasions including warranting gearbox trouble outside the vehicles warranty period.
Am happy with the Nissan I have built at my own expense, but if I was to buy another newy it would NOT be a Nissan, even if they are stronger.
Just my experience and opinion of course.
Regards Trevor.
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 22:06
Wednesday, Sep 14, 2005 at 22:06
Personally I dont think I will ever buy a new car especially not a 4by. You say 20k difference in price
well I couldnt justify more than that in total for ANY vehicle especially a 4by. One decent trip In a new 4by could easily depreciate it by 20k in scratches - scrapes and the odd ding, No I think I will stick to my 94 80 series and if I sell it it will be for a mid to late 90s 75 series ute why Tojo?
well why not, Go ahead if you want to buy a late GQ or early GU its all around the same price 15-20k, Around a 3rd the price of a new one
Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 09:46
Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 09:46
Im with you davoe on this
who would wanna spend $50-100k on something your going to get $0 for since its been scratched to bleep , and lose $10k as soon as you roll out the door...
the money you save buying used, you can kit out your truck fully sick!
Reply By: cokeaddict - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 07:25
Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 07:25
Mate,
Just get the patrol and give me the 20 grand extra......Ill invest it for u :-)
Reply By: Well 55 - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 07:29
Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 07:29
Let's face it most people that but new 4WD's look after them. Let them loose the 20 grand after they drive it out the show room floor, sort out any problems in the first couple of years, and when its sold or traded in, it's worth buying as a good second hand vehicle.
I would find it hard top justify the 55 thousand + to buy a new 4WD these days and loose 20 as soon as you get the tyres dirty.
Follow Up By: Leroy - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 09:50
Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 09:50
$48k for new patrol - $20k for getting tyres dirty = $28k????
Hmm nope doesn't add up! When I was looking around for a 2nd hand 3.0 GU Patrol they were still
well above $40k. Obviously that has changed a bit now as they are a little older and there are more on the 2nd hand market but at the end of the day an extra $8k for a new beast with no kay's on the clock and 3yr warranty was a no brainer.
Leroy
Reply By: Wombat - Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 12:39
Thursday, Sep 15, 2005 at 12:39
I have but one word "DEPRECIATION"!
Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 07:40
Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 07:40
I think it may just come down to economics.
A friend told me years ago that we Aussies like to "live to the extent of our pay packet" and I think there is a lot of truth in that. So, naturally anyone in the market for a new car, or fourby or whatever, will likely look at how much they can afford per month. (I know I did!!)
So for the people who's per monthly payment can afford the extra 20K (On a 5 year HP, it's not a lot per week), that's what they get!
(We are paying off the Patrol and also my "Misty Express" work van, we'll own both in two years time. Playing "what-if" a couple of weeks back I mentioned to SWMBO that when we own both, maybe we should keep the GQ as a plaything and then for the lighter trips, finance a pre-loved more upmarket 4by..... perhaps even a live axle 100 series. But she isn't budging.... she wants a TD6 GU and doesn't look like giving in.)
It will obviously be dictated by what amount we can finance.
Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 09:44
Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 09:44
Why do Patrol owners tell them the drivelines are stronger??
Because it is