Defender Extreme

Submitted: Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 21:11
ThreadID: 26519 Views:5909 Replies:25 FollowUps:58
Gday all,

A freind of mine is considering buying a Defender Extreme. The vehicle will be used for some extended outback touring as well as the primary wheels for his young family. I have only driven one Defender tdi in the mid ninetees on Fraser Is. was fairly impressive then, but I have no idea what the Extreme is like and how it will be for this bloke in every day life. Does anyone have experience with these vehicles. Pro's & Cons encouraged.. Cheers

Reply By: ShnogDog - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 21:12

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 21:12
BTW, he is looking at the 110 not the 90...
AnswerID: 130471

Reply By: ACDC - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 21:28

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 21:28
If he is a good friend do him a favor and tell him not too.
They are the biggest pieces of sxxx put on this earth.
AnswerID: 130476

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 21:33

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 21:33
well, theres at least a start, but it would help if I could tell him why?
FollowupID: 384918

Follow Up By: ACDC - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:18

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:18
Problem's
transfercases,turbo's,flywheel's,roof cracks,water leak's,power steering pump's,corrosion problem's,back axle splines,oil leak's just to name a few!
FollowupID: 384925

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:37

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:37
ACDC YOUR A HALFWIT
FollowupID: 384928

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:49

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:49
what vehicle do you own ACDC?
FollowupID: 384930

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:54

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:54
I guess what I am trying to establish is what your own personal experience is with these vehicles, not so much your personal opinion, which you are of course well entitled to.. :)
FollowupID: 384931

Follow Up By: Member - RockyOne - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 09:23

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 09:23
Ever noticed in the 4x4 mags how,most of the good,outback photos are taken by drivers of Defenders,most often in very remote locations..These type of people,tend to travel alone,as with other people around,you can't just wait around for hours till the sun is in the right spot..Very rarely will you see one of them driving a 'Cruiser,as ,before you leave the blacktop,you have to shell out several hundred dollars,just to put the spare wheel where it should be,like a Patrol,Prado etc..The spare under the 'cruiser puts them into "school mum"class as on a Portmans High Country trip it did,our leader refused any rigs with spare underneath as we were going over lots of rocks etc.My next rig will be Defender,just don't expect "lounge room"comfort in the cab..Magic rigs..All the current brands available,with transfer boxes,will likely do the job you require if the driver has learnt"the ways of the bush" Three things to avoid "Brands of 4x4" Politics" "Religion";-)
FollowupID: 384960

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 13:23

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 13:23
I have owned about 5 landrovers,2 range rovers,2 toyota's and 4 nissan's, i currently have a gq patrol 4.2 t/d.
Oh also i forgot the defender back doors crack with the weight of the wheel.
Ask the SAS how many transmissions they had to change in Iraq out in the middle of the battlefield in these buckets of sxxx.
FollowupID: 384981

Follow Up By: RAGS AND DAGS - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 16:25

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 16:25
Totally agree with you. They are certainly the butt of many jokes inside the industry. THose who know and have owned them know them for the true buckets of s*** they are.

You forgot ignition problems in the diesel.

FollowupID: 384998

Follow Up By: Greggo - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:43

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:43
gee ACDC for someone who reckons defenders are a s### you sure have owned a lot of landies! :>
FollowupID: 385170

Follow Up By: ACDC - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:49

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:49
That's because i'm a HALFWIT.
FollowupID: 385171

Reply By: Martyn (WA) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 21:34

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 21:34
Shnogdog,
When I was looking to change I took a 110 Extreme out for a test drive, for me it was still a boxy as the same old Land Rover of old, Same trim a few extra lights and buttons, still had the old air vents in the front. The finish wasn't brilliant, had a lot of fruit, lekky windows etc. I'm a Rangie fan, a bit biased I s'pose. The passenger seats in the back where tight to the front seats, leg room wasn't there, wasn't to sure about the third row seating being the lenth of the vehicle rather than across. For me the off road perfomance will always be there, engine was smooth, the transmission was notchy but the vehicle had only done 158 k's, it was an ex demo and very competitively priced. Somethimes I wish I'd taken the plunge, but for 3 grand less I bought a 2000 GU with everthing I was looking for so I went with the Nissan. The paint job was pretty flash and it was different, the alloys also looked good.
My opinions etc
Keep the shiny side up

AnswerID: 130478

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 21:46

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 21:46
Thanks Martyn, will pass it on.
FollowupID: 384920

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:18

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:18
Hi ShnogDog

This is the wrong forum to be asking for an unbiased opinion on Landrovers. Most members of this forum are biased towards Japanese stuff.

If your friend wants a 4WD that will drive like a race car - go Japanese.

If he wants a pure 4WD that will always get you there and come back again - get a Landrover. So what - they are a bit retro and box shaped - maybe a tad louder than the other brands - but when it really counts they are brilliant.

I drive all sorts of vehicles at work - Patrol, Landcruiser, Navara, Triton, Mazda, Hilux, have owned a Cherokee and Lada and we still own a X-Trail - but I reckon our 110 is the best of the lot.

Jeff
AnswerID: 130486

Follow Up By: ACDC - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:21

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:21
Your dreaming!
FollowupID: 384926

Follow Up By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:23

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:23
NO - DEFINETLY NOT
FollowupID: 384927

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:48

Friday, Sep 16, 2005 at 22:48
Thanks Jay.

Nice to hear from someone who can back his response up with first hand experience. I was hoping this forum would be a little more "evenly distributed" as far as bias goes. This is why I havent posted it on a landrover owners site. I'm only going to pass this on. It's fairly typical though. Regardless of vehicle, almost always, the only Pro's one seems to hear are from owners themselves, whilst some owners will also give the Con's ... it seems mostly, the criticism comes from those whom dont appear to actually have owned them. I guess I'd pass on any feedback, positive or negative, provided it is coming from a qualified source. Not saying ACDC is not qualified at all, I just have nothing to show me that he is, unlike yourself, its pretty clear as you not only own one, but you also own a Jap softy as well.

FollowupID: 384929

Follow Up By: RAGS AND DAGS - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 16:29

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 16:29
Hay Jay Gee most members here are biased towards Jap cars as that is what the majority of OZ buy. Why you ask ? They are superior vehicles is the simple answer there and will continue to dominate the sales unless their quality was to drop.

Why don't people buy Defenders ?

They are rubbish to put it politely and bad news travels very fast.

FollowupID: 384999

Follow Up By: Exploder - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 17:48

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 17:48
“If your friend wants a 4WD that will drive like a race car - go Japanese.”
Nah, Go American.
FollowupID: 385008

Follow Up By: garrycol - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 19:49

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 19:49
Toyotas might dominate in Australia but no where else in the world.
FollowupID: 385030

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 20:11

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 20:11
I've only been a 4WD mechanic for 30 years now.
Ask any honest 4WD shop what there opinion is!

FollowupID: 385039

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 09:58

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 09:58
Thanks ACDC, no doubt in 30 years you will have seen plenty. I doubt there is any vehicle that has never hads it problems but I'm sure over time you get to see the ones that consistently do.
FollowupID: 385126

Reply By: Member - Blue (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 00:35

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 00:35
A mate of mine was leading finger in a ULR workshop here in Melbourne. He reckons the extreme was the only LR worth considering, don't go near a disco with anything shorter than a 50 foot pole and the new Rangie has too many computers for it's own/owners good... Of course he went out and bought himself a disco before he quit...??? He reckoned the Extreme was a good honest 4by, without some of the inherent problems of other models(I don't know what those probs are/were though)
AnswerID: 130497

Reply By: lindsay - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 10:00

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 10:00
Had 3 defenders currently a td5 extreme due to trade/sell at 115,000 ks had only a fly wheel replaced under warranty ,another did a bearing in the water pump at 75 thousand Ks. Will buy another one. Some people should wipe their mouth with toilet paper after they talk as they don't know what they are talking about and more crap comes out of their mouths than their a**** . Been to most places in defenders that a lot of these people only dream about.
AnswerID: 130523

Reply By: Glenno - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 10:34

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 10:34
My mate has the Defender Ute (I think its called a Defender) and apart from the leg room issues and old stye dash as others have pointed he loves it. His only complaint is the turbo lag.

I noticed it when we were "chugging" up a dirt road on a good size hill, my TD Hilux easily held third, he couldnt get the rev's high enough in 2nd to hold it in third.

I certainly dont think anyone could question their "toughness" as a truck.

Glenn.
AnswerID: 130529

Reply By: hoyks - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 10:37

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 10:37
They are shaped like a box with a body designed in the 50's and inside is an ergonomic nightmare; to wind down the window if you are over 6' you need to be a contortionist and the hand brake isn’t much better. They have a reputation for poor finish and oil leaks and if used off road in conditions that test the articulation or on lots of corrugations, the rivets in the roof can ‘work’ becoming loose and leaking and contrary to popular belief, aluminium panels Do corrode. The gear boxes in the army ones also had a reputation for self distructing too.

That said, if I won Lotto tonight I would go out and buy one. They are the best real four wheel drives around, straight out of the box.
AnswerID: 130530

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:21

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:21
cheers, This bloke is the last one to worry about asthetics and ergonomics. So that wont phase him in the least. Function over Form. Thanks for the honest input
FollowupID: 384970

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:12

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:12
A tad away from honest .... e.g. there's no window winder ... all leccie now. WOW!!!

Tends to give an indication of the knowledge of the poster.

True, the handbrake is a PITA when it's on ... but one doesn't usually drive with it in that position.

As for the rivets popping .. that's a new one on me.

Corrosion .. hah .. how many 20+ year old Jap models do you see still pottering around.

BAH !! .... HUMBUG !!!

FollowupID: 385087

Follow Up By: hoyks - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 08:26

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 08:26
I will admit to not having driven an Extreme, but have spent 7 years driving green soft tops (with their poxy sliding windows), have mates in the workshops and I used to do accessory work for a dealer.

You obviously didn’t read the last line. ;-)

and I didn’t win Lotto, so next week………
FollowupID: 385124

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:42

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:42
Quite true ... overcome by the grog, hard work or the consumate drivel offered up by some idiots .. (and I certainly don't suggest you should be included). My apologies.

FollowupID: 385182

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 10:45

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 10:45
Tongue in cheek mode on:
Wasn't there a Defender owner who had to get an axle airlifted to him on the Canning not more than a few weeks ago? I think there was - a guy I know organised it for him via VKS737.

OR

Should this post come under the heading Friday Funny?
TIC mode off:

Having said that we ran into an engineer from Mudgee at Georgia Bore who was travelling on his own in a Defender heading west who swore by his.

Having a serious case of Ambo's back I won't ever own one, a trip down the street in those seats would be enough.

From a professional point of view there are far safer fourbies that your mate could put his family in. They are probably his most important assets and I'll bet it'll still spend more time transporting them on bitumen surrounded by other morons (sorry - meant to say road users) than off road touring.

Far more money has been spent on safety engineering and reduced agressivity by the japs than the poms in the last 10 years. And we are far more likely to survive in our late model jap fourbies as a result.

AnswerID: 130532

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:25

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:25
Your point RE safety is a very valid one. Thankyou geocacher, I will put that one on the table also.
FollowupID: 384971

Follow Up By: garrycol - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 12:20

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 12:20
Dave you are right about the axles being flown iin the Canning but what you did fail to mention was that it was not the cars fault - I do believe an aftermarket supplier did some work (welding) on the axle housing and didn't de-stress the weld - hence metal fatigue set in the and the welds broke. Not really the cars fault.

ShnogDog - I am a fan of Landrovers and believe that for offroad road work they are the most capable you can buy off the show room floor - however a few $$ on modifications and accessories on the opposition and the gap narrows. In my family we have/had 80 series TD, 100 series v8, Patrol 4.2 TD, a Triton TD, my disco and my Freelander - all are great vehicles with their own strengths and weaknesses - unfortunately you get the w$%kers on this forum who carry on like a pork chop and will never acknowledge another vehicle other than their own.

For my use I wouldn't buy an Extreme because I would prefer a bit more luxury but for 4wd use it is spot on. If your friend wants an Extreme then he should go for it. If he would prefer the equivalent Toyota or Patrol then go for it but if I wanted this car to also be my family car I wouldn't be looking at these - something like a Disco, Prado, Pajero, upspec Patrol or 100 series Toyo would be the go.

However on the issue of reliability and problems - how many Toyota/Patrol "i have a problem posts' to you get on this forum vs the number of Landrover problems. You will see very few Landrover problems being posted but then there are less of them on the road.

Garry
FollowupID: 384973

Follow Up By: Alex H - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 19:43

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 19:43
Bad seats? I agree they look basic, but after years of bad backs htey are the only ones I can drive for long periods without crippling myself. As a comparison - AU Falcon - 30 minutes tops before it hurts; VT Commodore - 90 minutes; Series 3 Landrover - 8 hours; Defender 110 - 10 hours plus.

Not tried many other brands of 4wd - so maybe I'm biased, but from personal experience they're not nearly as bad as they're painted. (BTW I'm not a midget)
Alex
FollowupID: 385029

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:17

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:17
Interesting thing seats.

I can't stand the seats in my wifes Forester on a long trip. My base model courier wasn't great but it was better. I looked at Paratus seats but in the end added a bladder from a sphygmomanometer and bulb to adjust it to my courier seats between the factory padding and cover and now have great adjustable lumbar support. Now the original seats are fantastic.

Only vehicle I can do big kms in now without discomfort in the standard seats is either a GQ Patrol or a GMC with the lumbar support pumped up.

Seats in our Mercedes Sprinters are crap despite being infinitely adjustable in almost every way.

Commodore and Falcon are both ordinary.

So I have no trouble believing that you find the most unlikely seats comfortable. Every back is individual.

FollowupID: 385088

Follow Up By: gramps - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:09

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:09
"bladder from a sphygmomanometer"

Geocacher, I did'nt think we were allowed to mention that sort of stuff in mixed/polite company :)
FollowupID: 385174

Follow Up By: warthog - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:28

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:28
I like that B.P cuff idea. Just wondering how you hold it in place. Have you stuck some velcro on the ends or something? Seems a problem as it has to expand.
I would go further re the sprinters and say not only are the seats crap but it seems to be impossible to get the distance to the sterring wheel correct if your feet are comfortably distanced on the pedals (although you need a right foot that can hyperflex }:-( to comfortably use the accelerator pedal) . Good thing they at least have a good cruise control.
FollowupID: 385179

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 23:02

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 23:02
At the moment until I get the position spot on the bladder insert from the cuff is just held in place by the fact that the cover over the cushion is tight enough to do it.

I'm going to fix it in place with a couple of dobs of contact adhesive to the cushion. Alternatives I have considered include self adhesive velcro hook side on bladder and I reckon this would grip the back of the factory seat upholstery quite well.

Expansion isn't an issue for either method as it's under compression either from my back or the cover.

Don't get me started on the faults with the drivers compartment in the sprinter. Might start to make the Defender look ergonomically designed - can't have that. What about the fact that you feel as if you are going to get blown off the road sideways in the slightest cross wind or the body roll in corners and harshness of ride over even the best kerb crossings...

And our GMC 2500's & 3500's have cruise so that's not a plus in the Merc either.

The seating position is just a matter of distancing yourself far enough from your hyperflexed ankles on the peddles, then folding yourself at about L3-L5 to reach the wheel - two hours from Shep down to Melb on a job and you can barely walk.

You in the job, Warthog??
FollowupID: 385192

Follow Up By: warthog - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 22:46

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 22:46
Yes, in Alice Springs since early 2002. One of our fellas, Craig, is headed down to Shep shortly. You'll be able to show him the good 4wd tracks/treks, he has a GUiv patrol.
We don't have to sit in our sprinters as long as you do, the majority of our transports are very short, most remote incidents are retrieved by the RFDS. 2hrs behind the wheel in a merc is unkind.
Cheers Chris.
FollowupID: 385318

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 23:03

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 23:03
Hey Chris,

2 hours would be unpleasant but there's still the drive home - a further 2 hours. That's why I take a GMC on those trips.

Can you email me - got a trip to let your mate know about in November and another in December. Both high country trips with guys from work and the one in Nov is with a few smokeys too.

If he's going to be down in time I'll talk to the rostering officer on his behalf - I think he's ultimately going to end up at Numurkah isn't he? Let him know there is a group of RAV Paramedics and a few ring ins from the hospital who are doing a couple of 4-5 day trips a year plus a few short ones.

davejones at iprimus dot com dot au
FollowupID: 385327

Reply By: age - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 12:02

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 12:02
We trialled 2 Defenders (well Offenders we used to call them) as replacements for some Toyotas in our fleet a few years back. They were the only vehicles in 20 years to actually have broken down in the field where we had to go and recover them with other vehicles. This is a list of the hassles we had. We could not wait until their leases expired and were disposed of (used in the field for mineral exploration)

Backed off the truck at delivery and put straight back on as axle seals were weeping. Seels replaced at least twice a year from then on.
Speedometer calibration 15% out (standard wheels) on both at delivery.
Air con on one worked only periodically for the 3 years we had it - the other back under warranty 6 times
Stereo fell out of the dash on one, came loose on the other (were held in from factory with 2 self tappers (has been modified in later models)
Both had interior trim panels fall off
Both blew turbo pipes multiple times
Door locks collapsed on both
Roll pin on gear stick broke on one - stuck in 3 rd gear
Front steering rods bent on both anytime we left formed roads
Shock mount broke on one
I became good friends with the local Landrover dealer as I was there that often
Forget the ergonomics
Killed the Toyotas through rocky creeks, but offroad otherwise the Toyats did it a gear easier, at easier revs (turbo lag). Off boost they were dogs.
Leasing agent flew up Landrover management to inspect as they wanted to get refund against investement as they were lemons. Landrover reps took away vehicles for 4 weeks and returned them with the promise they were "fixed". Same issues the next week.
These vehicles ended up becoming expensive "town" trucks as none of our staff would take them out on survey.

These vehicle were not abused and serviced per log book

Sorry, but they were just heaps of junk !!!
AnswerID: 130543

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 13:42

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 13:42
Thankyou.
Yes i agree they are capable off road, but for the amount they sell in Australia, which is only a couple of hundred a year.
The problems thery have is a joke!
FollowupID: 384982

Follow Up By: RAGS AND DAGS - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 16:32

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 16:32
Your story is reminiscent of many many others in this country.

Your company will not make the same mistake again.

FollowupID: 385000

Follow Up By: kesh - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 17:27

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 17:27
Dont suppose ACDC/n/Rags/dags are one and the same? - No, couldnt be!
As many have said, this is the wrong forum to ask this question.
I have a 76 s111 2.25 diesel tray back(only real difference to the new unit is coils, engine and transmission) Also have a 97 hzj75 tray back. Now strangely the old landy, with bu@@er all power by comparison, goes much further when the going does get tough than the Tojo ever will or could. And it also gets you back. (and thats with a 1000kg. payload)
But if noise, slower on the blacktop, water leaks upset you then forget it. Its always going to be horses for courses.
I nearly forgot to mention the fuel economy. Try getting 10/12.l/100km. out of any other comparable unit.
If I needed that sort of vehicle configuration,(extreme) would be my first choice
the kesh
FollowupID: 385003

Reply By: Member - Andrew L (VIC) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 12:38

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 12:38
G'day Shnogdog, maybe it would be worth your while tracking down a landrover club and asking their opinion.
AnswerID: 130547

Reply By: bob - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 15:50

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 15:50
ShnogDog
Post this question on http://www.aulro.com (Australian Landrover Online) so you can get your answer from defender owners not toyota owners.
AnswerID: 130563

Reply By: Shawn - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 16:57

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 16:57
G'Day Shnogdog,
First of all let me say that I hate landrovers, but I am biased as I have been driving them as part of my work for the last 26 years.
However a mate of mine owns a 110 Defender Extreme and wouldn't trade it for anything, admittedly he has done a lot of after market work to it, such a shipping a larger intercool over from the UK, chipping it up, wheel spacers,lockers front and rear, heavier duty drive shafts, the list just goes on. In his opinion they are the most capable 4WD out of the box!! BUT he has spent 10-15k getting up to scratch.
I reakon he could have spent the extra dollars and went for a Patrol.
Shawn
AnswerID: 130565

Reply By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 17:47

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 17:47
the only thing extreme is the pricetag for the worst finished vehicle anywhere on the planet. if your bigger than 4ft 0 you will hate it
AnswerID: 130568

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 21:14

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 21:14
Do you know why they have heated back window's.
To keep your hands warm when you pushing them home.
FollowupID: 385054

Follow Up By: Cannon - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 21:46

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 21:46
Most, if not all vehicles have heated rear windows, tool. Is a rear demister a novelty for you, ACDC?
FollowupID: 385070

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 21:52

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 21:52
I love this forum! ..^_^..
FollowupID: 385074

Follow Up By: garrycol - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:32

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:32
Yeah better than a full moon to bring out the loonies and tossers like ACDC - that name should give forumites a clue shouldn't it?
FollowupID: 385093

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:32

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:32
its true that 98% of landrovers every built are still on the road today, something to be proud of.... Outstanding figures.

... the other 2% made it home.
FollowupID: 385094

Follow Up By: ACDC - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 23:03

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 23:03
Some people just have no sense of humor ..^_^....^_^..
FollowupID: 385097

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 23:05

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 23:05
I know of at least 2 that arnt still on the road. both belonged to the same mate
Landrover1 - He was in the andamooka pub when someone ran in saying "your 4bys on fire" he ran out to see some people trying to put it out RUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUUN he shouted, it was full of ammo and everyone had to take cover while it burned and the ammo went off.
Landrover 2 - was stored in a 1/2 full hayshed when he had a mishap when trying to start a valiant 318 motor - Aluminimum may not rust but it sure burns!!!
FollowupID: 385098

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 10:12

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 10:12
LMAO... I'm going to have to let my mate read all this.. I find it hilarious that the one bloke who seems most adamant that they are crap, also says he owned 5 of them and 2 rangies !!! if they were that bad, why would you buy another one, let alone another 4? Did it really take that long to come to that conclusion. Especially funny considering that essentially the vehicle has changed very little in over 50 years... but I guess that does make him more qualified than others too, and thats what I came here to find .. qualified opinions, although I underestimated how biased we can become...LMAO.. CHEERS !!!
FollowupID: 385128

Reply By: Member - Jay Gee (WA) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 18:53

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 18:53
Hi ShnogDog

What we have here is - I believe - what would be the normal ration of fors and againsts as you would get for any model of vehicle. If you substituted "Jeep" or "Patrol" or "Humvee" instead you would still have the same ratio of passionate for, passioniate against, reasoned responses, etc etc etc.

Your friend just has to decide for himself.

AnswerID: 130579

Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 19:48

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 19:48
G'Day Shnogdog

May as well throw in my tupence ... many tossers have.

I'm biased .. have owned four Landies. The current Fender would have to be the best without question. In a much earlier life I also owned a Suzi and an MQ Patroool, I've been around fourbies for a while.

Check out the official Landrover site ... they state there that the Defender is their most capable offroad vehicle, over the Rangie and the Disco. True they are not for everyone, I'd be the first to agree there, but you don't need to spend a motza on aftermarket crap to get them to perform. They do it off the showroom floor. But change the track rod for a heavy duty aftermarket job as the OEM is crap. Other than that I have not had the need to do anything on the vehicle to get it up to scratch.

There is noticeable turbo lag, but you can learn how to drive it to overcome the lapse. I don't intend to rechip as I remain unconvinced as to the long term effects.

The finish is a wee tad less than pleasing, but if that's what you're after you don't need one. Contrary to many statements, the ride and seating is surprisingly good over long distances. We did the Cape and back towing a CT with no probs, not even a flat. The only vehicles we encountered that had come to grief were toy trucks ... a 100 series with a broken front diff, another with a stuffed radiator and a Hilux with a stuffed rear axle ... funny that hey??

AnswerID: 130586

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 21:31

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 21:31
ACDC posted this followup

I've only been a 4WD mechanic for 30 years now.
Ask any honest 4WD shop what there opinion is!

With statements like that it surely couldnt be J1 back and bold could it?
FollowupID: 385064

Follow Up By: Rosco - Bris. - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:01

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:01
Damn good chance Davoe

FollowupID: 385080

Reply By: Ted (Cairns) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 21:02

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 21:02
I never had one, so can't (shouldn't;-)) really comment. So just 2nd hand observations:

1, Land Rover Owner Magazine seems to be full of "how do we fix a broken ____ " type articles.

2, I read on a German globetrotters forum that anecdotally when overlanders meet in Africa, then: Toyo drivers talk about all the places they went to, Mercedes G (or M or something else, sorry ain't sure) drivers talk about all the places they could NOT get to, and Landrover drivers talk about all the places where you can find spare parts;-)

3, Decades ago almost all vehicles (cars and trucks) in Commonwealth countries were British - now there are as good as none (or very few) around. When did you last see a Bedford truck? A Vauxhall? A Morris? Sad really, but surely there must be a reason for this...

Just my $0.02 worth...

Ted
AnswerID: 130592

Reply By: warthog - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:10

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:10
Don't know what they're like, I've never even driven one. I've enjoyed reading the controversy a simple question has stirred up though.
AnswerID: 130611

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:24

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:24
Maybe he was just trolling and we all fell for it.

:o)

FollowupID: 385090

Reply By: bob - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:21

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:21
Shnogdog
Im the owner of a 05 defender, which I purchased for the same basic reasons as your self -- extended touring, work and family. Sure these vehicles have their little niggling problems, mines got a dash leak, little sound insulation, a hand brake that belts you on the knee, .....the list goes on. But in the end the positives far outweigh the negative. The defender has an excellent payload (remember that when touring), excellent on fuel and a weapon off road.....
I do suggest visting landrover websites. Most landie owners will give you a honest rundown of their vehicles - good and bad. We dont pretend their perfect.
and that they are for every one. Dont let your friend be guided by the tripe that often associates landrover. Last time I checked Nissan/Toyotas weren't with out their faults either.
AnswerID: 130613

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:31

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 22:31
how do you find sitting to the right of the wheel, and no room between you and the door?
FollowupID: 385092

Follow Up By: bob - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 23:17

Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 23:17
Truckster,
I actually enjoy it. Its easy to stick your head out the window and watch your wheel placement when off roading'n. You can also use the door to brace yourself too. The missus did comment that it felt strange to have the front seats as far apart as possible, another plus I say .
FollowupID: 385101

Reply By: ShnogDog - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 10:18

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 10:18
THANKYOU ALL FOR ADDING TO THIS RAGING INFERNO !!!! I have told my mate that having read all this, and considered all that has been put before us, the simple solution will be .. PAPER<SCISSORS<ROCK !!!
AnswerID: 130650

Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 10:22

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 10:22
PAPER, SCISSORS, ROCK !!!
FollowupID: 385130

Reply By: Discorob - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 14:18

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 14:18
Hey all

Last year we changed from our 100% reliable Disco TDi to a 2003 Defender TD5. Why? The disco was getting old, and we needed the carrying capacity for a family of four's camping needs. The Disco was just a little too small.

Check the payload of almost any other stock 4WD, and mostly once you put the adults and kids on board, plus full tank, recovery gear, some water tanks, a bull bar and fridge, and there's bugger all left if you want to be legal and insured! In fact some big name 4Wd's couldn't take that gear and the passengers and stay within their GVM at all...!

Our Defender is used as daily driver, camper towing and general duties. Now done nearly 30,000km. No mechanical problems beyond a sticking clutch, fixed under warranty. No dash board leaks - and it has now rained on it (at last). Water does get in around the door seals when going through deeper creeks, but that's not a unique landie problem!

Good bits: - easy to pick it out amongst the masses! Off road amazing. Carrying capacity as above. Visibility for driver and passengers great. Power is adequate, and like all vehicles, driven within its limits it's fine. The off road excellence comes at the price of some on-road behaviour, but I'm probably too old to be a Boy racer now (and the wrong gerenartion too. I actually wear my caps to keep the sun off my nose, rather than off the back of my neck...). Re-sale value should be excellent. Old body disguises the ABS and capable engine.

Bad bits: Aircon flat out is not all that effective. (But the opening flaps below the windscreen are the best way ever to quickly empty hot air out of a car!). Foot room in back seat is poor... Our son will eventually grow to be 6 foot plus and won't fit comfortably in the back seat. Ours will go on sale by then... By the way, I'm 6ft2in tall and not much less wide, and find the seating and comfort fine... Not as good as the old disco, but still fine. Ergonomics are for pansies... Turning circle is not small, but others can be worse. Economy is wonderful, but it needs a bigger fuel tank (70-something litres is not enough). Family safety is a concern, so it is driven as carefully as reasonably possible, recognising the inherent limitations of a tall 4WD.

Wife drives it and loves it too. Not as much as the Disco, but she's happy to wander around in it.

Each to their own...and we like ours. Our mechanic says that a LR that is serviced on time every time will be very reliable...even that anti-LR mag 4WD Monthly says as much about used Defenders this month!

Rob
AnswerID: 130668

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:34

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:34
Never owned one but they seem to be worth the gamble. If everyone drove the best then we'd all be driving Fords wouldn't we :)
AnswerID: 130726

Follow Up By: Redback - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 09:22

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 09:22
I had a Ford, and you bagged it Ray, now you like them ;-)

I lurve my Disco !!!!!!!!

FollowupID: 385211

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 10:04

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 10:04
Can't remember Baz but it's not a thing I'd usually do as the Ford Motor Company pay my bills.

Yes the Disco, another happy owner eh!
FollowupID: 385214

Follow Up By: Member - Rob D (QLD) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 16:02

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 16:02
UUUmmm Mad Dog,
Err, if you have bought a new Landrover over the last couple of years,,,,,, you do drive a Ford......TIC

To answer the original post.
I have just run a thread that highlights my frustration at Landrover dealers. Keep in mind the LR dealers are usually also the Holden, Volvo, ford, hyundai, jag, etc, etc. dealers as well.
I hate with a passion the dealers.

But the TD5 discovery I have owned for the last 3 yrs has been an absolute dream vehicle off and on the road. It has been operated over 96,000kms, about 20,000km's has been on bitumen the remaining has been off road(most the mapped touristy Cape tracks). and quite often up here on the Cape ,,, No roading.
The GRR, the OTL, the CREB, the Tanami, the birdsville track/Diamantena, the Kennedy development, the Gulf track, The plenty/urandangi.
Most of the time the thing has been forced to drag 1600kg van behind it. It has never left me stranded, It has never even looked like it was trying.

It has carried a few small problems home at the end of the trips, and has had the lock up clutches start to shudder on a return leg( mind, a clutch by design has to wear)(and you cant blame it wearing in 96,000Kms towing the van across some horrendous tracks)

My employer operates 2 x 100 series Landcruisers, 2 x Ford Couriers, 1 x Hilux, 1 x 2001 Patrol trayback, and the odd 110 Landrover. All of these vehicles display problems, All of these vehicles display strengths, But all of them have reassured me that my Disco is a bloody good vehicle. Bloody comfortable, bloody capable, and bloody reliable. I have access to the work vehicles. But to be completely honest, after getting over the novelty off useing someone else's truck, the wife and I choose to go out in the Disco. To play on the Cape, to go shopping or to go on the longer runs down to Cairns.
To make it clear, I am not knocking the work vehicles, I just can't praise them as highly as the Disco.

CHEERS
FollowupID: 385563

Reply By: Member - Alan- Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 13:10

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 13:10
I love reading all the crap about Landies and how bad they are.
It used to upset me until I realised most of it was bar room bull from people who'd heard something from a mate who'd got from his mate, then I stopped getting worried what others think about what I drive.
Yes they are badly put together and tend to leak around the seals, but this is well thought out design 'cos when it rains, it'll wash the dust out.
I've owned a Diso 300 Tdi which was comfortable and reliable, good in the rough but needed a bit more power in sand.
It was also economical and only leaked around the rocker cover and the axle seals where the Pakis in England had put them in the wrong way round!
As my elder brother said about his wife's Range Rovers (about 14 new top of the Rangies over 20 odd years) "Maybe the best 4 wheel drive in the world but they're put together by monkeys!"
I've got an 2003 Extreme now and we've been along the GRR recently, did around 7000klms altogether without a hint of trouble apart from a wrongly installed Smart Solenoid which allowed the starting battery to be flattened.
The seats are comfortable over long distances for both the cook and me, for those who complain of not enough room, try sitting further back from the steering wheel not like a dog begging for a bone with their arms bent and legs tucked up under the dash.
I like it, the cook likes it and that's all we're concerned about!
Happy motoring whatever you drive.
Alan H
AnswerID: 130805

Follow Up By: RAGS AND DAGS - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 13:46

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 13:46
Very true Alan ,

you sound very experienced in this game ? I guess you would need to be to get around in one of those and keep it on the road. For others who are trying to give themselves every possible head start when heading off the tarmac , STEER WELL CLEAR OF ANYTHING PUT TOGETHER IN THE UK !!!
FollowupID: 385232

Follow Up By: ACDC - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 18:34

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 18:34
If they gave them to the Japs to build they would be great!!
FollowupID: 385269

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 23:07

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 23:07
maybe but the Japs would soon destroy the great design with something more suited to school pickups.
FollowupID: 385328

Follow Up By: RAGS AND DAGS - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 13:08

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 13:08
NO.

As ACDC said if the Japs built them they would be reliable and last.

FollowupID: 385984

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 13:17

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 13:17
yep, reliable, long lasting and great for school pickups.
FollowupID: 385985

Reply By: BryanW - Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 01:45

Monday, Oct 03, 2005 at 01:45
Here is my opinion. Defenders even here in Africa are trash. I have owned 2 td5's all spent many hours in the workshops. DONT BUY ONE!!! I admire the LR owners who defend them to the end, but deep down they all know what rubbish they actually are. ( I was one of them) If they dont, thier time is comming, they will sit broken down or live in the workshop sooner or later.

In the end drive what you want to drive, the defender is most certainly very capable but not reliable. If you plan not venturing far from a dealer and want a LR, go for it.

AnswerID: 132760

Follow Up By: Redback - Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 09:21

Friday, Oct 07, 2005 at 09:21
Whats the W stand for Bryan :-)))
FollowupID: 387642

Reply By: snailbait - Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:55

Thursday, Oct 06, 2005 at 21:55
acdc
is just like its name acdc
Does not know what it wants
i hope you do not think past 2 years old
Life MEMBER snailbait Oberon HF RADIO CLUB VKE237 mobile 7661