Plastic Ute Liners
Submitted: Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 10:54
pauls
Has anyone found any incidents of corrosion under the plastic ute liners in the tray. I had one installed in the tray on my new Rodeo but now I am starting to wonder if it might cause corrosion. As I have a fibreglass canopy with some shelves in the back its not just a 5 minute job to lift it and have a look.
Reply By: Utemad - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:01
Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 11:01
We have the plastic liners in our F250s. They are great as far as protecting from dents etc but I can assure you that an awful lot of crap collects under them. I would recommend taking it all out for a good clean at least every 6 months depending on where you take you vehicle to. Ours have been out a couple of times. Perhaps you could chemically rust proof the inside of your tray?
Our tray liners where they meet the tailgate all seem to rise up with age so there is a sizeable gap between the bed and the liner if nothing is sitting on it (2cm??). If you could glue or screw that down it would greatly reduce the ingress of crap.
Reply By: cokeaddict - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 12:23
Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 12:23
Agree with Utemad.
These things are there to help protect and minimise paint and body damage.
Condensation is something they cant stop. Sealed properly they will stop most problems, but with age and loads, they will warp around the top overhang and eventually dust, dirt, and
water will get in.
Thats when you need to remove them regularly and clean the area up. If you plan on keeping the vehicle for a few years, I would spend the time on your investment and check it. Remember, the cleaner it is, the better the resale value you will get when its time to sell.
Ange
Reply By: Member -Dodger - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 13:13
Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 13:13
If you are not hapy with the liner there is a spray on liner that does it all not cheap but good.
Do a google and you will find it
Or someone here may know of the firm that supplies the spray on.
Reply By: Member - Marquis - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 15:35
Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 15:35
I've had a rodeo with a liner.
Well worth pulling it out every 12 months, clean the area - then spray it with lanotec (get it at marine stores and some auto
places).
Reply By: sudsy - Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 23:26
Saturday, Sep 17, 2005 at 23:26
Gday Paul, Yes, after time it will cause corrosion if it's not pulled out and cleaned regularly but here is an option that will avoid the need to pull it all out everytime or even discard the liner altogether.
I've got a Rodeo duel cab and the previous owner had
the tub coated with spray on RUBBER by Rhino coatings. That was 5 n a half years ago and its not lifted a bit anywhere and it seems to take just about anything thrown at it.
Its not bitumised like underbody coatings, doesnt smell when cured, tough and durable etc etc.
I have no idea how much it costs to get it done but if you had or borrowed a compressor and an underbody gun I reckon you could do it cheaply enough yourself. Just clean and scour the surface first.
Hope this is of some help
Reply By: pauls - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 11:47
Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 11:47
Thanks everyone.
Looks like regular maintenance is the thing.