It's a bird, it's a plane, no it's Mrs Al

Submitted: Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 18:06
ThreadID: 26563 Views:2705 Replies:5 FollowUps:9
Lyn sent Al's newly converted 100 series ute up a serious incline today in a burst of flying dust and rocks that would make great viewing on 4wd TV.

Diamond Jim got up there yesterday in his Jack, in the wet, and wasn't that a show. He nearly slipped down sideways on his first attempt; scary stuff. Not to be outdone he had a second go and got there, very impressive.

Today in the dry Al sent the Cruiser ute up with a heavy right boot. He then did it a second time so Glenn could film him, and this time was an even better show. Then Lyn got conned into giving it a go and stole the show. She fairly blitzed her way to the top, engine screaming, wheels lifting and nary a thought of backing off.

Great weekend had by all.

Reply By: Redback - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 18:13

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 18:13
Yep that sounds like Lyn, i know i followed her one day, well tried to, definately a lead right foot, lol.

AnswerID: 130695

Reply By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 18:22

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 18:22
Hi Jimbo,

It was a great weekend, and the drive up the hill today was great fun, there was NO way I was going to stop..hahahha...

Thanks for some great laughs, and a fantastic fire.

Lyn
AnswerID: 130697

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 18:43

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 18:43
it certainly was an interesting way to tackle that hill.
FLAT OUT.
definutly the driver of the weekend award goes to mrs al.
once again thanks for a freat weekend to all.
cheers.
AnswerID: 130700

Follow Up By: timglobal - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 19:11

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 19:11
This thread would mean so much more to other users if we could see pictures or video.

Not wanting to be grumpy, but it has no relevance to the wider board otherwise.

Locations etc. would be nice too as Australia has a lot of hills you can gun up...

[/rant]

Tim
FollowupID: 385158

Follow Up By: Member - Steve (ACT) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 19:47

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 19:47
Personally I think you have no relevance.

Good on you Lyn good to see one of the girl showing the boys how it's done

Sandy
FollowupID: 385162

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:02

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:02
Tim,

Ever heard of things called books. They happen to sell in the billions every year. The written word, combined with an imaginative brain, is adequate for many.

Further, where it happened is irrelevant, it was WHAT happened that was spectacular.

TV has a lot to answer for. It has removed the ability of many to understand and enjoy a good yarn :(
FollowupID: 385163

Follow Up By: timglobal - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:03

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:03
That's not very forum-like. I'd like to see the gunning up the hill and share in your fun, but can't.

If you're not sharing your wisdom, fun and experience with other forum members in the shape of a trip report, photos, videos location or any kind of background, then why not use *email* to congratulate each other.

This is a *public* forum for sharing a common enjoyment of off-roading. I respectfully suggest that closed comments that exclude the rest of the board are a shameful waste.

Tim
FollowupID: 385164

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:29

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:29
Good Luck Tim.

You got it right, this is a public forum.

Everyone is entitled to post anything, within reason, not just according to your standards.

You may "respectfully" suggest whatever you like. There are no closed comments. Lyn has a lot of friends here who have personal (not too personal, Al's a big bloke) contact with her, who may be interested.

Get off your high horse, this is a forum, not a court of law.

FollowupID: 385180

Reply By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:36

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 20:36
Come on Jim, we need a better description of the hill than that, what made it difficult and why didn't the Terracan attempt it ??.
Anyway, good onya Lyn.
AnswerID: 130714

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:19

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:19
On my tyres Ray (and the influence of "her indoors") I piked.
FollowupID: 385178

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:30

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 21:30
Fair enough Jim. Sounds like lockers would have been handy on that one but then it wouldn't be so spectacular would it....kind to vehicle though
FollowupID: 385181

Reply By: Moggs - Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 22:00

Sunday, Sep 18, 2005 at 22:00
Hey Jimbo, when are you going to write that 12 volt oven cookbook to make a squillion so you can put some muddies on that terracan. I wanted to hear how it went up the hill!

BTW, check out this thread over at 4wdmonthly. about 1/2 way down there is a piccie of someone in your Gembrook boghole - check out the bullbar too.... I reckon you got off lightly compared to the guy in the piccie.

http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/index.php?board=1;action=display;threadid=12138
AnswerID: 130735

Follow Up By: Member - Crazie (VIC) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 08:29

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 08:29
Hey Moggs
Yep thats Jimbos hole, the bullbar is a ripper. hahahaha
FollowupID: 385208

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 09:52

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 09:52
Had a bbq with the relies a few weeks back up in the area. Took them on a soft spin on the bits we could safely go alone. I thought about having a crack at that hole again seeing as it didn't seem *that* soft or deep... commonsense prevailed very quickly of course, and very luckily so as it appears by those photos. Its a goodie alrright.
FollowupID: 385213