Battery Tray

Submitted: Thursday, Dec 19, 2002 at 01:00
ThreadID: 2658 Views:1522 Replies:6 FollowUps:4

Been pricing around recently for a dual battery system for our GU Patrol. I was horrified to learn the price of a battery tray $140 for the tray and brackets. Just can't see the value. Shopping around I can get one for $130. Every salesperson I spoke to, without fail, agreed the price was out there (some models cost even more apparently) but stated that in this case the consumer has no choice as there is no competition in this market.

Anyone got any suggestions?

:o) Melissa

Reply By: bruce.h - Thursday, Dec 19, 2002 at 01:00

Thursday, Dec 19, 2002 at 01:00
Gday Mellissa
grab your yellow pages look up sheet metal workshop & have one custom made & powder coated most metal workshop can organize powdercoating might work out cheeper plus you can get made as strong as you like
Regards Bruce
AnswerID: 9960

Reply By: diamond - Thursday, Dec 19, 2002 at 01:00

i just put duel battery in my gq i was also shocked at prices went to junk yard near home bought some 2x2 angle iron cut it to size drilled a few holes painted it and bolted it in easy steel$3 undercoat$2 a can paint$2 bolts and nylok nuts$3 total cost$10 if you dont know anyone who welds a small engineering place should be able to nock one up for i reckon $50-$60
AnswerID: 9965

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Dec 19, 2002 at 01:00

Thanks Diamond,

Got a mate who works for an engineering mob specialising in parts for mining industry. I'll have a talk to him.

:o) Melissa
FollowupID: 5193

Follow Up By: Truckster - Thursday, Dec 19, 2002 at 01:00

melissa he doesnt drive a 100 series does he??

Rohan?
FollowupID: 5201

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Friday, Dec 20, 2002 at 01:00

Friday, Dec 20, 2002 at 01:00
Nup, not him.

FollowupID: 5225

Reply By: Truckster - Thursday, Dec 19, 2002 at 01:00

Try the local nissan club magazine.

I know there were a few in ours for $20-50...
AnswerID: 9966

Reply By: Raymond Charlton - Thursday, Dec 19, 2002 at 01:00

Hi Melissa
ARB Pirahna TJM and Opposite lock all have their own trays, and each is priced different. If you decide to make one, see if you can find some one with the same GU and motor. I had a 3lt which we sold and upgraded to a 4.2TD, the trays are different, we first of all changed the 3lt tray over to the 4.2, but soon discovered that it did not quite fit. Rough roads soon put a strain on it and we changed it over to the right one for the 4.2. Nissan and Toyota take delight in putting little things different in each vehicle and this puts the cost up in manufacture
Ray
AnswerID: 9967

Reply By: Wayne - Thursday, Dec 19, 2002 at 01:00

Melissa

Have you tried a wrecking yard for a second hand one??

Rgds

AnswerID: 9982

Follow Up By: Member - Melissa - Thursday, Dec 19, 2002 at 01:00

Yep...no luck!

:o( Melissa
FollowupID: 5213

Reply By: Member - Cruiser1 - Friday, Dec 20, 2002 at 01:00

Friday, Dec 20, 2002 at 01:00
I made one some years ago, from 25mm angle iron. Made some braces and fitted it to our Jackaroo. Did many miles, including Gibb River Road, Tanami, etc. No problems and cost me less than $10.00.
AnswerID: 9990