Laptop/Nerd type question Re Incar Video Screens.
Submitted: Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 14:01
Coyote
Hi, I have a laptop but the screen is cactus. Apart from that it's pretty much OK. So I was thinking I'd mount it in the car ( under a
seat or behind the dash) and fit the GPS etc to it and then get one of those incar A/V Screens. (They are about 3-400) but I was wondering about resoloution.. Obviously if I'm just going to watch a DVD through the laptops DVD drive then it would be no different then watching a DVD on my TV at home, but I know that a TV doesn't have enough resoloution for a PC, so If I want to View Oziexplorer on the incar screen then can anyone tell me if it will work? or will it look the same as when I plug my computer in to tmy TV at home.. ie;; CACTUS
Reply By: Member -Peter (York 4x4) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 15:03
Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 15:03
Have a look at my rig photos I am running a lilliput screen from the laptop for moving maps and have a very clear picture , I also have used this to view DVD and was very happy . I got the screen on ebay from Hong Kong approx $400 do a search there is heaps of sellers , you need a AGV conections
Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 15:17
Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 15:17
Looks Good Peter. Where do you mount the lap top& do you have any probs with the hard drive over the rough stuff ?
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 15:47
Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 15:47
Hi Peter,
I like the look of your setup. Is the screen easy to remove if you want to??
Only one other question really. If the laptop is in the vehicle why do you still have CD's on the sunvisor?
MP3's on the laptop either direct wired into to inputs on the stereo if it has them or with a cheap ($50-70) FM modulator plugged in to the speaker/headphone out on the lappy and you have your own radio station.
Just hit shuffle and away you go.
Worked a treat on the CSR - only I was playing 10 albums off a 512meg card on the PDA. A 2 Gig card would have been better. With the lappy though you could fit heaps on.
Follow Up By: Member -Peter (York 4x4) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 16:13
Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 16:13
RE CD sunvisor , I have never got round to loading them into the laptop
Follow Up By: Member -Dodger - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 17:30
Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 17:30
Now ya dunnit mannnn.
I gotta get one for my laptop.
Bugger!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Reply By: Member -Peter (York 4x4) - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 15:25
Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 15:25
as I have a GU ute I have no back seats so I have the laptop mounted in its own cradle between the seats with the cables running via the overhead .I Have had no trouble at all and have just got back from 2 weeks outback on some rough tracks , it didnt miss a beat .If you want a photo of the laptop box let me know your email and I will send you one
Reply By: BenSpoon - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 17:18
Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 17:18
TV is a different format to your computer monitor which is why it looked crap From memory a TV can only handle 800x600. If you get a LCD it will look better than the TV as the screen size is smaller and the pixellation less obvious. If you get an LCD with VGA input (computer monitor plug) then it will be the same quality as a computer monitor. Most of the Liliputs come with VGA plugs, so there is no loss on resolution. If you go for a touchscreen, the extra membrane seems to diffuse the light so it is a little harder to see, but the resolution is just as good as a computer monitor.
Reply By: Bob of KAOS - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 22:04
Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 22:04
Coyote
the commonest cause of display failure is the fluorescent light and its power supply. Depending on brand this can be replaced pretty easily with parts from eBay.
I use an external 14" monitor that I got for about $200. Excellent resolution for OziExplorer and DVDs.
Follow Up By: Member - t0me (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 13:03
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 13:03
Just fyi, the main bit that lights the screen is called the "Backlight Inverter" that usually goes. I think it does pretty much the same job as a starter in a flouro setup, cranking up the voltage to get the starting arc. Anyways, if you can just see whats on the screen if you tilt it in the light just so, then its the backlight inverter thats gone. If your laptop's more than a couple of years old then second hand is gonna be the only place to get one. If the LCD is cracked, or colour is bleeding then forget repairing it.
Reply By: Blaze - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 00:57
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 00:57
Hi Coyote,
I run Oziexplorer through my Laptop and I have a Rear View mirror that is also a screen with 2 av input, so it can also be used for reversing camera etc. Just one thing everyone here should have a think about, I purchased a GPS Mouse, or at least thats whats it called. Its a full function tracking device (GPS) but has no screen or controls, it made to connect to a Laptop via USB. It can mount outside as it is magnetic (about the size of a Garmin ext antenna) or just be sat on the dash. Here is the good bit I can get them for around $140.00, I know leave the Garmin in the wifes car so she can use when travelling into the city, and just use this with laptop, rear view mirror screen and Oziexplorer. I have done the Simpson, Flinders and 13,000k's across the top including GRR with no probs and just use a cigerette lighter converter for Laptop Power. If you want any pics, msg me or conatc me at blazesport@tsn.cc
Follow Up By: Member - MrBitchi (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 13:17
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 13:17
$109 right here on Exploroz
GPS Mouse
Cheers.....
Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:54
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:54
Tx John,
Done some checking and they are coming down in price all the time, I think the cheapest i found today was about $69.00
Reply By: Coyote - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 08:59
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 08:59
Wow.. lots of great ideas. Ta for the info. Looks like the Lilliput Screen is the Beez Kneez. will have to get on enow. Cheers all.
Reply By: Member - Phil G (SA) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 18:16
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 18:16
I tried my computer thru the 7 inch composite video screen for my reversing camera. It was no good for maps - the 7 inch screen reduced the Windows screen to unreadable and the resolution was very poor.
Since then I've run the TabletPC with a 10.4 inch high res screen -
miles better, but a fairly expensive option.
Follow Up By: Blaze - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:57
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:57
I think it depends on the quality of the screen you buy. I have seen cheap screens on Ebay for about $160 but quality is very sus.
Mine is fine and a couple of friends have the small LCD TV's and they seem to be great, main thing is you need to be able to change it from 16.1 back to a format that suits your PC.
Reply By: S&N - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:39
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:39
dvd player and screen all in one, just looks like a screen, dvd goes in side, sold at ALDI for $299. also has aux audio/video inputs!!!!!! we have one in our rig, hooked up to stereo for suround sound! looks and sounds great