coleman dual fuel lantern usage issues

Submitted: Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 17:44
ThreadID: 26594 Views:8958 Replies:8 FollowUps:7
I recently purchased a coleman dual fuel lantern. I have a problem making it go. I pump the knob 30 times like it says but it's so hard to push it back in and after turning it to the close position and taking my finger off the hole there's a little puff of air and it doesn't go.

It's also hard to push i and out. Lots of pressure in it that doesn't like to let me push it back in again in I push and pull it the whole way in and out.

It worked ok the first time I used it. I took it to a camping shop when on a trip, and he pumped it and got it to work ok and says there's nothing wrong with it. I didn't have time to play with it myself but again when I tried later it still doesn't go. Any suggestions what I am doing wrong. Tips, trick etc.

I'll take it back to Rays where I got it from and get them to help me but thought i'd see what others had to say first.

Thanks.

Reply By: Nudenut - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 17:50

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 17:50
might be a dumb question but you have opened the valve...havent you?
AnswerID: 130851

Reply By: hoyks - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 18:18

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 18:18
How far do you turn the pump to open the valve? I turn mine about half to one turn to open the valve at the bottom of the pump.
Is the lantern new or 2nd hand? The valve at the bottom of the pump is replaceable if it fails. Mine wouldn't seal and I had pressurised fuel filling the pump. Not good when it is going.
You could also try a drop or two of oil on the pump. It might help free it up.
AnswerID: 130854

Follow Up By: ChrisGU - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 09:15

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 09:15
A guy at camping world told me to turn it so it's just off close so you don't have to turn it as far after pumping.

It's new. Only used it once (worked ok but had liquid help at the time so things just seem to work better then)

Will give the oil a go and see if it helps.
FollowupID: 385347

Reply By: ToyMotor - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 19:52

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 19:52
Tips:

1. Read the instructions, and follow them.

If this doesn't work;

2. Go to Ray's where you bought it, and ask them to try it, if it works OK, ask them to demonstrate, and then get them to check you are pumping correctly.

The pump could be faulty, but it's unlikely. Have you ever used this type of device before?

Good luck!
AnswerID: 130882

Reply By: Bega Photographer - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 20:03

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 20:03
Hi Chris.

Sounds like you've got the sequence for pumping mixed up. Here's the deal:

1) Undo the knob on the plunger about half a turn anti-clockwise.
2) Put your thumb over the hole in the knob and pump 30 times.
3) Slide your thumb to the side of the knob to let the air in the plunger escape through hole, and push the plunger effortlessly home.
4) Lightly tighten the knob by turning half a turn clockwise.
5) Light the lamp and cook a damper.

Nothing to it!

Laurie.
Visit Laurie's Photos
AnswerID: 130888

Follow Up By: Lone Wolf - Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 21:32

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 21:32
Laurie, doesn't that let out ALL the pressure we've just built up?

I understand his dilemma, because I have one of their small dual fuel stoves. On my Coleman lantern, there is NO little hole, just pump away, and light.... and RUN!!!

On my MSR Whisperlite Dragonfly, there is also no hole, just pump, preheat, and go.

I reckon the hole thingy in the plunger just SUCKS, real bad. As I said, my Coleman Northstar doesn't have it, but the other Colemans do.

Wolfie
FollowupID: 385308

Follow Up By: ChrisGU - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 09:19

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 09:19
I've tried letting go as sometimes after around the 30 pumps it's the only way to get the plunger back in. There's too much pressure to let it back in. Even when I do get it all the way back in and turn it till it is closed as soon as I take my finger off the hole the air goes out.

This is my first device like this. Have only used the lpg ones before. I've read the instructions over and over and do what they say, but it's just so hard to push the plunger in all the way at the end of pumping and close it off without the air comming out.

Will go to Rays and make them watch what I am doing. Hopefully they'll see the problem with my technique.

Agreed though. The hole in the end sucks.
FollowupID: 385348

Follow Up By: Bega Photographer - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 18:41

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 18:41
Well, G'day Woolfie. Thanks.

I've made another, seperate reply which explains it all.

Laurie.
FollowupID: 385411

Reply By: Lyds- Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 21:14

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 21:14
these things are a bit tricky to get going, but practice will take you a long way.

one thing to try is to not pump so many times before lighting the bugger.

Open the gas up a little; you'll probably have yellow flames (bad) and not blue, but don't fear. Pop it (the knob) out again and keep pumping until the pressure turns those yellow flames blue.

I find that using coleman fuel over ULP helps get a better flame sooner. you can always alternate.

AnswerID: 130909

Follow Up By: Lyds- Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 21:16

Monday, Sep 19, 2005 at 21:16
I just realised your heading says Lantern, I am referring to the cooker. The same rules should apply though.
FollowupID: 385303

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 09:32

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 09:32
Tip: make sure that you haven't overfilled it. If you have, then it becomes difficult to pressurise because you haven't enough air (vapour) volume sitting above the fuel to compress.
AnswerID: 130969

Reply By: Bega Photographer - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 17:33

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 17:33
Well, G'day again Chris,

The hole in the end doesn't suck. It's good. That's how the thing works. Coleman have been making and selling these lamps for generations.

Now, when you take your finger off the hole, there should be only a little air come out: the amount that is in the shaft, about 5mm diameter x 75 mm long.

If all the air that you've pumped into the tank of the Coleman lamp comes out, it will be rushing out of that little hole for a couple of minutes. If that much air comes out there is a malfunction with the valve at the bottom of the pump cylinder.

You will note that the bottom of the plunger extends about three quarters of the way down inside the fuel tank. If what is coming out of the little hole in the plunger was coming from the tank, it would be fuel under pressure, squirting you in the eye, so I think you can discount a malfunction of the valve on your Coleman lamp.

Note a previous post about not overfilling the tank of your Coleman lamp with fuel. This could be the reason you can't get any air in. Drain some fuel out so the level is an inch or so down. That will give some room for some air to be added under pressure. Sounds like you've left so little room for air that as you force the plunger down against the uncompressable fuel, that the air is pushing past the plunger rather than into the tank.

Just follow the advice: empty out some fuel and follow my previous instructions.

You'll need to accept two things about your Coleman lamp:

1) There is a valve at the bottom of the plunger tube. It works one way when you turn the knob anti-clockwise to open it and no way when you turn the knob clockwise to close it.

2) The hole in the knob is to release only the air in the plunger that hasn't gone through the valve, allowing you to push the plunger in when you move your thumb, so that the plunger doesn't hit you in the eye as you walk past.

Actually, I wouldn't mind a new Coleman lamp myself. Should you decide that the stupid, flamin' thing's no good, parcel it up and send it to me. I'll soon find a use for it.

Laurie.
Visit Laurie's Photos
AnswerID: 131029

Follow Up By: ChrisGU - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 08:53

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 08:53
Excellent. Thankyou for your time explaining it properly. The guy at camping world told me the little puff was all the air comming out so naturally i've been getting frustrated when the little puff comes out.

I'll try tipping some fuel out. I used the funnel that came with it, but will try it with the tank 1/2 full and see how I go. I must admit when I first used it I only had some fuel in it in case there was a problem didn't want to waste it.

I also notice that sometimes when I open the fuel filler that air pressure is released. I assume this is the pressure that is built up from the pump? and that's a good thing cause it means it's working.

Will have a play tonight. It's a challenge now, and I figure once I get it right that it'll be useful for years to come.

Thanks again for your help. Will let you know how I go.
FollowupID: 385498

Follow Up By: ChrisGU - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:12

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:12
OK. I was still having issues, so I went to Rays.

I found that the pump turna almost a full turn without actually opening the pump for air. I was turning it around until it wouldn't go any further, but in actual fact it hadn't reeleased anything yet cause when you get there if you put a but more effort in it goes around further, releasing the pump for use.

My fault, but thought that it didn't go around further. It's much easier now. Made the guy at Rays make it work but didn't notice he turned it around so far, so I had a go and with him watching me he discovered what I was doing wrong. Thanks all for your help.

It's my first fuel toy (not lpg) so don't judge me too harshly.
FollowupID: 385862

Reply By: Member - Pezza (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 21:13

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 21:13
G'day Chris,
Mate, Laurie is absolutely correct, follow his instructions and it will work perfectly.
We have the duel fuel stove, lantern and little single burner of colemans for over 8 years now, and they all work faultlessly using the above sequence.
He is also correct in that it is only the air in the plunger tube that escapes when releasing the thumb, hence the "little puff".

Avagoodn
Pezza
AnswerID: 131074