c/t mattress

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 18:04
ThreadID: 26621 Views:12113 Replies:13 FollowUps:4
Hi all, have a KK camper trailer and it has only the foam mattress fitted but can't quite work out why its uncomfortable(too hard too soft?) My question is would one of those egg shell overlays make much difference or do I go the whole hog and buy a new inner spring($450) , and how comfy are they given they are only as thick as the foam type(approx 200mm)

Reply By: Mainey (WA) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 18:36

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 18:36
I have a 6 inch foam queen mattress in camper and put one of those "egg-shell" foam overlays on top of it, made a big difference, use the dencer (expencive) brand as we used the elcrapo one on a single bed and it is a waste of money, too soft to be aware it's there where the dearer one you feel the difference, they are gr8.
AnswerID: 131047

Follow Up By: Vince NSW - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 08:03

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 08:03
Go the innersprung road. (Campercoil). My one set me back $395, but well worth the $.
FollowupID: 385494

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:50

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:50
I'll let you know in a few weeks.

I've just borrowed a mates camper - they did exactly what you are suggesting. It wasn't cheap but they were away 10 weeks and swore by it.

AnswerID: 131062

Reply By: Member - Kim and Doug (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 20:39

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 20:39
our kk foam matress is now just over 12 months old and with time it does settle down( foam has a memory and will lose a 1/3 of resistence in 3months of use (info from a mattress maker) )
AnswerID: 131069

Reply By: Alloy c/t - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 21:51

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 21:51
Not a cheap solution ,,, WENATEX ,,,ok so costs $3K for the mattress but why not ?? those who know will agree and those who have no idea will bag it ,, just remember that 1/3 of you life is spent in bed ,even when camping ,,{c/mon Truckster lets hear your penny pinching diatrabe } lol.
AnswerID: 131078

Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:56

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:56
$3K for a mattress eh? I reckon Jen will have to come over and try it out!! On second thoughts... how about we send up Truckster to sleep with you and see if you are worth it... um ...see if the matress is worth it.

FollowupID: 385457

Reply By: warthog - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:09

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:09
We put an eggshell foam overlay on our 4" foam matt in our camper after nearly falling over at the price of a high density foam matt at Clark rubber. We were impressed and bought one for the inner spring bed at home also.
AnswerID: 131081

Reply By: Brian B (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:11

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:11

We recently replaced our foam mattress in our camper trailer with an innerspring and it is great. We brought it from a Brisbane based company called Made to Measure Mattresses and we paid $399 I think. They supply them all around Australia.

The one we brought is especially made for camper trailers with it being a low profile style and is a full Queen size so it has heaps of space. It has a full five year warranty and is also supplied with vents in the side walls to help stop any condensation.

I weigh in at 110 kgs and it is really comfortable and we both certainly sleep a lot better since we brought it.

Hope this helps a bit.
AnswerID: 131084

Reply By: Member - Brian (Gold Coast) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:13

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:13
We put the egg carton style overelay in and it made a huge difference!
AnswerID: 131085

Reply By: Willb - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:03

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:03
Hi Gronk, we have a camper with a foam mattress which is only just does the job.
Because our camper is only very lightly built (and old) we hired a offroad c/t for our trip to Birdsville in July and it had a inner spring mattress.
It was like we had our bed from home with us.
I would go the way of an inner spring mattress in any future van or camper we would purchase.
Will
Always planning the next trip. VKS-737 mobile 1619

AnswerID: 131102

Reply By: Paul - OzRoamer Camper Trailer - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:24

Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:24
Hi Gronk
I agree with Brian B regarding "Made to Messure Mattress"

We have put a few in the hire CT's and the customers love them -Even to the extent of saying that they are as good as what they have at home!!

Paul from MTMM is easy to deal with and we highly recommend their product.
AnswerID: 131110

Reply By: Ted(Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 15:31

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 15:31
I have slept on a medium density foam mattress and found them really comfy. The normal density are the ones I understand are not too flash.

Problem with inner spring is more weight.
AnswerID: 131202

Reply By: Jodi - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 16:45

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 16:45
Hi Gronk,

I will answer your question without trying to self promote. I have a bit of knowledge on the foam issue as i work for the company that distributes Tempur mattresses in oz. Basically if your foam mattress is a low density you will find it compresses right down and you end up sleeping on the hard surface below. Obviously a viscoelastic matt is a bit extravagent for a camper, however a high density foam mattress with a lower density eggshell overlay should do the trick. A higher density foam will also have a far longer life than a low density one. Generally innerspring (particularly the cheaper ones) push back upwards and create pressure anyway. If you go innerspring make it a good quality one with a higher density foam overlay.

Jodi
AnswerID: 131204

Reply By: Jodi - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 16:48

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 16:48
Or you could buy Tempur - the best.
AnswerID: 131205

Follow Up By: Alloy c/t - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 17:13

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 17:13
Or even better thanTempur ,buy a WENATEX ,the absolute best.
FollowupID: 385570

Follow Up By: Jodi - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 17:18

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 17:18
I'm opting out of this conversation right now. We are all entitled to our opinions (and I have mine about Wenatex) and at then end of the day after trying in-store customers will be able to form their own opinion. I would prefer to keep this conversation away from this site, that's not what it is for.

Gronk - goodluck with your mattress for your camper and if you have any questions I'm happy to help if I can.
FollowupID: 385573

Reply By: Tony F - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 19:35

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 19:35
G'day Gronk.
There is another option and that is a latex mattress, they are lighter than innercoil and really comfy to sleep on. if in Bris try the Latex Foam mattress centre at Archerfield.
Happy Camping.
AnswerID: 131232