Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:28
Diamond (Vic)
did any one listen to lawsy today.
he was talking about a new hybrid lexus 4wd.
more powerfull than both the petrol and diesal versions.
aparently the over seas demand is so high it might not get here till late 06.
thats all i know does anyone know any more.
Reply By: Glowplugs - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:32
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:32
If it is a Lexus then you and I would have to mortgage our rented propertie to buy one lol
Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:54
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 19:54
Me thinks Willem is probably right.
Lets see.
Toyota Prius was nearly $50K wasn't it? For a car that had it not been hybrid, even with 'yota badges, which would have been about $20K
So will a hybrid Lexus be 2.5 times $100K??
Even if it's only 1.5 x the amount we won't see many in the bush.
Follow Up By: Willb - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:13
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:13
Hi Dave, i think that they were selling the Prius for $50k but the actual manufactoring cost was much higher. They subsidised the cost.
I think it would be a very expensive 4wd.
Not unussual to be hearing about a toyota product on the Lawsey show is it.
Will
Follow Up By: Member - Geoffrey C (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 00:09
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 00:09
The base model Prius can be bought for $38K plus on road costs.
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 01:53
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 01:53
Gee that's seriously good value when an Echo is how much?
An auto 4 door 1.5ltr (not base model) $18K.
Gee only double.
Car manufacturers have a lot of work to do if this is ever going to get off the ground in any sort of quantity.
I'm afraid I'm not going to be racing out to do my little bit for the environment for double or more of the money when the Federal Gov't couldn't give a rates and the State Gov'ts/Private Sector are still investing in coal fired power stations.
I think my contribution even if it were possible would be the equivalent of pi$$ing in the ocean.
I realise it all adds up but how many average Australians can afford to drop a house deposit or more in the difference on a depreciating item. You'd have to be stark raving mad. Maybe if you won tatts, were filthy rich and had one hell of a social conscience you'd think about it.
Until they are near enough the same price, in other words like choosing between TDi and ULP at present, you can forget it unless and even maybe then, if governments ban carbon fueled vehicles to CBD's of major cities. Even then the market will be for Prius's not Lexus's.
Reply By: Mike DiD - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 20:22
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 20:22
And if you think a Diesel overhaul is expensive, after six years you will need to buy a new battery for the Prius at $6,000.
Reply By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 20:29
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 20:29
Hey Diamond vic, Mate it is about time you got back to me regards our conversation I have something to prove to you so get intouch and let the challenge begin.
regards BILLS
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:07
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:07
This sounds good, challange eh, are spectators welcome. How about a "challange weekend" woo hoo lets the games begin.
Reply By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 20:47
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 20:47
Jim,
Listening to Laws?
Haven't you got something better to do? LOL
He spruiks about any product that he is paid to praise.
He'd flog sand to an Arab if there was a quid in it for him. Mr "Cash for Comments" has the integrity of.........
well I can't think of anything low enough.
Cheers Mate,
Follow Up By: Al & Mrs Al (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 20:53
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 20:53
whale poo perhaps?
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 20:55
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 20:55
or smegma maybe?
Follow Up By: Nudenut - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 21:00
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 21:00
he'd also sell ice to an eskimo....quinn the eskimo hahaha no, not this duck!!!
Follow Up By: Jimbo - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 21:16
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 21:16
Oh, we may all get sued by the "greatest broadcaster of all time".
He could make a quid out of all of us.
The poor sod needs the money after all.
Follow Up By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:48
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:48
Hey Bonz - where on earth did you learn about Smegma - denigrating it like that - I want a 1000 words on the good qualities of ....
Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:00
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:00
Listened to that human advertisement machine when He would get played by the local station. if I want talkback now I tune to the ABC - no ads and at least a bit of intelegence
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 07:17
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 07:17
In the bush Andrew, one has to know stuff. hahahaha
Refer also to Lucy's comment, and I quote "What's amazing is that you have heard of GSM/CDMA dual band aerials or was that compulsory unit/module when you were attending the Terang College of 'anything & everything' whilst undertaking that extremely difficult course of 'jack of all trades', that requires one to be 200yrs old before graduating."
There is a course.
Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 12:33
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 12:33
Didn't Dick Smith sell that stuff?
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 13:45
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 13:45
whale poo?
Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 15:11
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 15:11
No - smegma!
Follow Up By: Bonz (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 15:27
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 15:27
yes, they use it to get solder off joints
Follow Up By: Wombat - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 15:56
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 15:56
Really?????? . . . . Kinky!!!!!!
Reply By: Big Kidz (Andrew & Jen) - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:45
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 22:45
Was reading in the Royal Auto today about hybrids today. In that article they said that Mercedes last month was "trumpeting that its new ML SUV - using the latest diesel technology - beat a Lexus hybrid in an economy run across the US". Diesel Vs Hybrid
Also said that "Toyota has slashed the cost of its new 40% lighter battery for Prius". Apparently the size and cost is down by nearly half in the Mk2 Prius.
The diesel advances sound terrific. You would think that the government should be promoting increased use of diesel fuels.
Reply By: Blaze - Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:45
Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:45
Hey guys
check out Toyota USA www.toyota.com they have the Toyota Highlander Hybrid, basically a Kluger Petrol/Elect vehicle now available. 4WD version is $34,000 US that is $44,680.00 AUS but I bet if we ever do get it here in OZ it will be about $100,000 at least. Rememeber our government has to protect our local car industry (seen many 4X4's manufactured in OZ lately)... :-)
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 00:46
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 00:46
So how much excise or whatever it's called do you think there is on 4x4 imports ?
Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 02:00
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 02:00
Shhh. Don't let on we know. The government would love to bring 4x4 excise in line with passenger vehicles and then we'll all be seriously out of pocket.
Price of a 4x4 would go up heaps. It's a pittance at the moment - a throwback to the days when most 4x4 vehicles went to Primary Producers.
There are several O/S manufacturers who make modifications to their SUV's to get them across the line for the lower import duty. Subaru is/was one. The Outback here rides 5-10mm higher to meet ground clearance requirements for the lower duty.
Reply By: Member - Alan- Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 10:21
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 10:21
My sister in law and my brother who live in Switzerland have one of these Hybrid Lexus things. They really love it but the brother describes it as "soulless" compared to the dozen or so top of the range Range Rovers she's had over the last 25 years.
Cost about $US48K over there I think.
He reckons they are doing their bit for the environment ............ I'll start doing my bit when we put a stop to our myriad hordes of totally useless pollies constantly jetting overseas on "study tours" or "fact finding" trips!
Every time they take off and land in a jumbo puts more pollution in the air than anyone of us would do in a 100 years of driving what we drive.
Alan H.
Reply By: fatz - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 11:21
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 11:21
Imagine the size of the jenny to re charge the thing up the bush..............
Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 13:56
Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 13:56
you at least would save cash on not having to buy an after market dual battery setup.