gen set GMC

Submitted: Tuesday, Sep 20, 2005 at 23:59
ThreadID: 26629 Views:3412 Replies:7 FollowUps:4
I am thinking of getting one of those cheap gensets from Bunnings but am not to sure how my Engel fridge will cope with power spikes i hear they get.
Someone told me to run an inverter from the gen set and plug the fridge into that.
I know the GMC are cheap but we wouldnt use it that often and besides i have to use my fathers day gift voucher:)
Any advice would be much appreciated.

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 02:07

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 02:07
Stick to running the Engel off 12v. That's what they are for.

Why would you run a noisy generator all the time to run an Engel of 240v when it'll run for days of a 75Ah battery nearly silently? If you are somewhere more than 3 days run the 4wd for a couple of hours or go for a drive and sight see.

To run an inverter from the generator you would need to have the generator charging a 12v battery to which you would connect the inverter then plug the fridge into the inverter. Talk about making something really simple really complicated with no end benefit other than having spent your voucher.

Surely you need a drill, jigsaw or box of shiny new drill bits.

I reckon I know what will be more usefull. And non of them will have the camper next to you wanting to throttle you.

I've even seen gift vouchers for sale on Ebay. $100 voucher sold for $80 cash that you can spend in the 4wd shop? Better than buying stuff to collect dust.

AnswerID: 131123

Follow Up By: Jimbo - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 07:39

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 07:39
Dave,

Three days from a 75 amp battery?

You should not run a battery down to less than 50% if you want it to last. Therefore you have an effective 37.5 amps. Independent testing has shown the 40 to use an average of 1.6 amps per hour. Thus a little less than 24 hours running is available.

FollowupID: 385492

Reply By: Brew69(SA) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 06:27

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 06:27
fridge will be fine. put genny with exhaust facing away and behind a tree with a long extension cord and the noise will disappear.
AnswerID: 131128

Reply By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 10:05

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 10:05
If you are buying a generator, wouldn't you be better off using it to do top-up charges on a deep cycle battery, rather than continuously running the generator? How much fuel do they use an hour? About a litre at a guess? Not cheap.

If you're not able to charge your battery from the vehicle for whatever reason, see if using the generator as a charger makes sense instead. You would then wanting to be looking at a battery that could accept a fast charge, like an AGM.
AnswerID: 131157

Follow Up By: Well 55 - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 10:38

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 10:38
My Honda 350 will run for 7hrs on 2ltrs, cheap i think. I now use it to charge 2 AGM's via the battery charger in the camper. I have had a weeks running on less than 20ltrs.

Never had a complaint yet, but I've given some people dirty looks that run their vehicle for hours at a time.
FollowupID: 385509

Follow Up By: Scubaroo - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 11:35

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 11:35
Hey that's pretty good - last I looked at generators it was the EU20i which is about 4 hours from 4 litres - but a lot more $$$ than a Bunnings job.
FollowupID: 385517

Reply By: Spango - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 10:48

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 10:48
Bill i run a GMC Gennie when i go camping, run the Engel fridge off it and have no problems, the GMC is a relatively quite unit, having said that I dont camp around other campers normally, where i live you can still get away from the rest of the human race.

Spango
AnswerID: 131164

Reply By: Diamond (Vic) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 12:33

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 12:33
gday bill.
there a great little genny.
i use mine some times when away for a long weekend ect with no driving.
i use it during the hottest part of the day when the waeco is working the most.
the lid gets opened and closed so often with the beers being in there.
while im running the fridge from the genny i also use the battery charger on the genny to put a bit of charge into the battery.
as said by brew long lead and point away from every body(unless they annoy you)
you will hardly even notice its there.
dont forget to throw out the spark plug that comes with it and buy a good quality one.
AnswerID: 131173

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 13:31

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 13:31
I've also been told to change the location of the spring on the governor arm to one or two holes tighter to stop surging under heavy load... This was told to me by a bloke who had (not surprisingly) surging after loading up his engel, a flood light and a bank of 4x flood lights on his GMC cheapie, then his deep freezer kicked in and it surged. Mved the spring and she's apples.
FollowupID: 385534

Reply By: Member - Chrispy (NSW) - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 13:42

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 13:42
I've got one too. I use it on our property to power the onsite caravan at night. It runs from dusk till midnight and has done this for several months now. It's never missed a beat, and once we installed it inside a disused dog kennel (exhaust out the door) we can hardly hear it. It's a ripper. I've run our car fridge off it successfully (an EvaKool with Danfoss compressor), but have a gas fridge in the van anyway. It runs our inside and outside lights, TV, video, drills, saws, sanders, rechargers, etc, etc without complaint. This is all from the little 750-watter.

Would I buy a Honda now? No. It's not necessary for me to.
AnswerID: 131185

Reply By: angler - Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 22:03

Wednesday, Sep 21, 2005 at 22:03
These little gennies are quite OK for most jobs. Mine is a great little unit, I power my trailblazer and several lights with no problems. I use a battery charger to keep the battery well up in charge without having to put the gennie close to the battery to use the inbuilt 12V charge system.

checkout www.bycompass.com and select the "of interest" page for some wave shapes fo the GMC 750Watt gennie.
AnswerID: 131283