Used 4.2 GU patrol versus 100 srs cruiser - some help please?

Submitted: Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 13:29
ThreadID: 26678 Views:4365 Replies:12 FollowUps:27
I'm in the market for a new truck and recently read that second hand, the nissy is a better buy. However, after looking at ads constantly for a few weeks, there are a lot of diesel 100 srs out therem, about the same age, with about the same kays as the 4.2 diesel Patrols, but for at least $5000 less, sometimes more. From the perspective of someone who has serious mods in mind, that makes the 100 srs a much more attractive proposition.

I know cruisers generally cop flack for being over priced, but from what I can see second hand they are cheaper than patrols of similar age and kms.

Does anyone know why? And more importantly is this to do with reliability?

Reply By: diesel dyke - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 13:34

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 13:34
Ooops, I just read the thread below. This is a serious question, I'm not S#!T stirring so some considered replies would be good. Especially from people who have just bought new trucks. What did you look for when buying? How many kms is too many kms on an engine? etc...
AnswerID: 131350

Follow Up By: MATT.D(WA) - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 17:54

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 17:54
Are you comparing the GXL to the ST and the standard yota to the DX and if so for serious mods you want to ensure that it has a live axle front. Think only the standard cruiser has live axle and not the GXL but all the nissans have live axle.
FollowupID: 385730

Follow Up By: diesel dyke - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 11:37

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 11:37
Nah not worried about st or dx or anything, just live front axle 4.2 D or TD in cruiser or patrol.
FollowupID: 385819

Reply By: Scoey - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 13:38

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 13:38
I'd say that with the current market, (mainly driven by fuel prices but also the 2nd hand car market in general has taken a slide) the price of used 'cruisers has been bought down to a more reasonable level. I would also say that the product being put out by the Nissan factory is getting markedly better (Geez that hurt to say!) hence their growing popularity (not to say they were never popular! :-S).

Just my thoughts, could be waaaaaaay off the mark tho'!

Scoey
AnswerID: 131351

Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 13:56

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 13:56
I recently was in the market for a 2nd hand vehicle and although after a tojo i did look in the nissan section of the ads. this combined with not being able to go past 4by ads stuck on windows etc has shown me that although it is sometimes hard making a direct comparison with used vehicles (motors extras etc) there is no significant price difference 2nd hand between the 2
AnswerID: 131353

Reply By: Member - Roachie (SA) - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 17:15

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 17:15
IMHO the Cruiser would be best choice if you value fit & finish, comfort, ash-tray positioning, gauge layout, sexy stereo etc etc.

Only get a Patrol if you're more interested in a bullet-proof drive-train, an engine that'll go all day and never say die and a beast that you can modify to your heart's content.

The Patrol is derived from a TRUCK.

The Cruiser is a CAR on steroids.

Quite simple really. ;-)))

AnswerID: 131378

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 18:33

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 18:33
Dont forget the ute/troopy damn good reason you wont see anything else on a minesite/exploration, can you get 5000rpm out of a nissan 4.2? without the complex plumbing of a turbo and intercooler. Having a tough drivetrain is one thing but having an industry approved acceptable overall package belongs to only one make and model
FollowupID: 385733

Follow Up By: Glowplugs - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 18:52

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 18:52
This looks like a competition between two one-eyed 4wheelers.

Roachie passionate about Nissans
Davoe passionate about Toyotas

But never the twain shall meet.....lol
FollowupID: 385737

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:12

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:12
Hey!! if it wasnt for this forum I wouldnt have even looked in the Nissan section!!. I just figured after crawling under so many work vehicles at least if I went tojo I would know where everything was!!
FollowupID: 385739

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 00:49

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 00:49
What surprises me is how anyone can get passionate over Japanense vehicles, most boring mundane hunks of earth ever.
FollowupID: 385781

Follow Up By: Wombat - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:48

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:48
Ever driven an early Mazda MX5 Ray?
FollowupID: 385870

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 00:40

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 00:40
Can't say I have Paul. I remember the old RX series with the rotary engine being a bit special though.
FollowupID: 385964

Reply By: Bonz (Vic) - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 17:19

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 17:19
well if you can get a live axle 100 series then go for it. I am amazed the prices for the yota are less than the patrol, but if thats so then take the yota and run

AnswerID: 131379

Follow Up By: diesel dyke - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 11:42

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 11:42
I guess it could be because all the live front axle cruisers are 4.2 D and the patrols I want are 4.2 TD which are pretty sought after by fourbie owners. All the 2.8/3.0 nissys are a bleep e load cheaper than the 4.2's for obvious reasons. Hopefully petrol prices will drive the cost down in the next 12 mths.
FollowupID: 385820

Reply By: ev700 - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 18:37

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 18:37
diesel dyke

I can't relate to your experience, maybe you have been looking at dealers advertising ex-govt Toyotas, which sell at a discount espec if they are Standards.

The Redbook is the best place to start comparing prices.

Frankly I don't think any of this agonising is worth it becvause they are both big, strong vehicles. Drive both and pick which make and model suits your driving.

Having done that, you can then set out to pick the best of that particular make and model.

Otherwise it ends up a hopeless mess comparing oranges with apples and with pears and with......

EV700
AnswerID: 131388

Follow Up By: diesel dyke - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 11:47

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 11:47
You're probably right. I'm looking in 4x4 trader and the trading post. 4.2TD patrols are most commonly thousands of dollars more than 4.2 cruisers. Maybe private sales are cheaper I dunno.

FollowupID: 385822

Reply By: Crackles - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 20:42

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 20:42
105 series: Better motor, smoother gearbox, better driving position, quieter, more elbow & storage room, better dust proofing, has a tailgate, better spare parts availability and drives like a car.
Pootrol: Narrower (better on a tight track), stonger running gear, easy access to spare tyre & cheaper $$. (Patrol drivers may be able to add to the list but thats all I could come up with;-)
Both can be modified to tackle serious tracks although the Patrol would be my choice for serious wheel lifting / deep bog hole driving as they are narrower & don't have a weak front diff.
For remote area desert travel a 105 series can't be beaten except possibly by a Prado. Quiet and smooth they soak up the KMs effortlessly.

Lets be honest here, the Toyota is more expensive cos it's a better all round 4x4. If Nissan had a better product & back up service they would charge more if they could but they don't.
Does that make the Toyota better value? NO WAY. For your dollar the Nissan wins hands down........
Cheers Craig...........
HZJ105 Vic.
PS. A 100 series is an independant front suspension model & the 105 is the solid axle version. I asume you were comparing the 105 with the GU?
AnswerID: 131408

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 21:47

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 21:47
since when have 105 standards have a tailgate?? and as for width i dont think there is much in it - If you want a tight track demon then a 75 -79 is the go and as for a prado being better for remote travel I cant see any IFS rubber cv boots lasting long in serios bush work
FollowupID: 385766

Follow Up By: Crackles - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 22:46

Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 22:46
Gaday Dave....The 4.2 diesel (non turbo) GXL & RV both came with a solid front axle so are 105s with a tailgate. I don't believe DD specified which models he was comparing.
As far as width goes there may only be a few inches in it but after driving a 105 for 5 years i can say it makes all the difference. Being the widest vehicle in the bush we make the tracks. I have more scratches on my current bus than all my previous vehicles together. We even had a case where a 105 got jammed in a Wonnangatta bog hole which just wasn't wide enough bending the front gaurd in. I agree the 75 series would make a far better bush pig but DD was just asking about stationwagons.
After travelling in & with many 120 Prado's I can only say they are the most under-rated outback touring bus currently available. As great as a Cruzer tray or troopy may be, if you want a quiet comfortable long distance drive a playdoe will eat up the Ks with ease & when you get home it will eat up the city traffic too for the 10+ months one doesn't go bush. The independant coil front suspension makes handling & ride so much superior to most other cars. As for cv boots I'm unaware of any common failures in that department but no doubt if one was to regually head cross country like yourself through virgin scrub it may become a problem. The majority who tour outback don't.
Cheers Craig..............
FollowupID: 385774

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 01:34

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 01:34
All i will say after just talking to another miner mate not 5 min ago it has confirmed my opinion that 100series dont cut it in rough stuff and there is daylight between tojo trybacks and the rest when it comes to the roughstuff. ( as a 4by laymen his opinion is the same as mine 100 series interiors fall apart and petrol prados are difficult to get off the line without stalling as well as struggling in low speed tuff stuff) the most stuffed vehicles on site are 100s with one being trailored off site with multiple driveline failures. This is in line with other posts I have made with 100series suffering major panel damage when following traybacks in country trybacks take on the way to actually getting somewhere.
FollowupID: 385783

Follow Up By: Crackles - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 08:55

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 08:55
Dave I agree completely that the 100 & 120's would be unlikely cut it in the mines or exploration work, that would be taking them beyond their design capability but for the majority who tour outback on remote roads like the Anne Beadell or Gunbarrell they handle the conditions well. When outback just getting there on main dirt roads is 90% of the trip. As someone who regually abuses a 105 on rough tracks I'm not sure what I'd need to do to get the interior to fall apart but cross fingers it will hold together. At nearly 100mm wider I could imagine the panel damage on a 100 trying to follow a 75 cross country but thankfully there is a network of tracks we can follow that saves the scratches ;-)
Cheers Craig......
FollowupID: 385794

Follow Up By: diesel dyke - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 12:00

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 12:00
Yep 105 with the GU. Thanks for the tech info.

I live way out west of boghole NSW and a lot of blokes have 75/8/9 series traybacks. Aweseome trucks. Why dont Toyota make a dual cab? Would solve all my problems... and the prado, again, why do Toyota go stuffing up great trucks with IFS? I dunno, us fourby nuts must be a dying breed when it comes to influencing little japanese blokes in white coats high above the skyline in tokyo... If there was a decent, new, live front axle 3.0TD truck on the market I'd take it home now... the fuel savings would be worth it.
FollowupID: 385826

Follow Up By: Crackles - Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 21:17

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 21:17
I agree DD that Toyota should build a twin cab 79 series like the 130 Landrover. I'd suggest it would be a huge seller especially in the mining industry. If you are keen on one there are a few places that do convert the troopy into a 5 seat ute if you've got the $$$$$$$$. Occationally a few come through the 4x4 trader mags.
As far as IFS goes I think too many old school drivers have little idea how good some of the current IFS front ends are. A bit like in the 80's when coil suspension took over leaf. The oldies all said........"It won't carry the weight" "it'll break if you go outback". Now leaf springs are almost a thing of the past.
I must say I was one who 'must have' a solid front axle but after travelling with many 90 & 120 series Prados both outback & up the high country over some fairly punishing tracks I'll admit I was wrong. In 95% of all the terrain we drove over the IFS was superior. Not only were they smoother with better ride & handling, rarely did they get stuck when they lifted a wheel anyway. If you are one who rock crawls regually, drives accross deep ruts or enters winch challenges then the solid front axle would have the advantage but many on this forum under estimate the abilty of IFS & over exaggerate the difficulty of the tracks they will drive on.
Why heck early this year I saw an IFS Jackeroo follow Mike Smith's Rangie up the "Sweaty Palms track" in the Tallarook forrest which is often used a stage on the winch challenges so how hard does a track need to get to require a solid front axle??
Cheers Craig................
FollowupID: 386106

Reply By: madCrow - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 02:34

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 02:34
Hi DD
Everyones talking this one or that one.
I just my Patrol 8 weeks ago after a lot (about 7 months) of research into what for would be the best truck to get, that was the 4.2 diesel, live akle vehicle. NO to IFS! it breaks, with or without modifications.
I looked at & drove toya's GXL 100 series 1Hrz the 105's & Patrol GU 4.2 TD's.
The Toya's were straight diesel, so I'd have to look at after market turbo if I wanted a little zing in its step.
Both were/are great vehicles., but I can tell you the Patrol a better value vehicle for the price, I even read a comment from a reviewer who said the toyato GXL was he thought a better vehicle, but NOT $12000 better.
A lot depends on what you want to do with the machine.
As a base the patrol GU is an excellent choice, a strong reliable motor, old design but no computer chips to go wrong if you are thrashing the machine.
The LSD is the best, the front diff is so strong that competion drivers who drive GQ's are putting GU's front diffs in their rigs (I got this detail from a 4wd wrecker who can't keep up with demand).
The GU's have less moving parts figuretivly speaking compared to the GXL; part-time 4wd compared to fulltime 4wd with it's extra central locking diff.
The GU will lend it's self to some serious modifications (fantastic wheel travel etc.) & the price of parts for the Patrols are cheaper than Toya's.
Re: cheap prices for trucks, 4WD's, keep away from fleet, ex-gov, ex-telstra, ex-mining industry, too many driver for the one vehicle, toomany k's for the vehicle & probably nit enough services for the vehicle.

Anyway all the best with you search for your rig!!!
madCrow
. (\,,,/)
. (0_0)
\\\\(-><-)///// The large shy cat with a hair hides in the grass.
AnswerID: 131454

Follow Up By: madCrow - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 02:39

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 02:39
too many drivers for the one vehicle, too many k's for the vehicle & probably not enough regular services for the vehicle.
Spelling error corrections!

......(\,,,/)
......(0_0)
\\\\(-><-)///// The large shy cat with a hair cut, hides in the grass.
The sound of rilfes firing make him sit up straight!
FollowupID: 385786

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 03:36

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 03:36
Re: cheap prices for trucks, 4WD's, keep away from fleet, ex-gov, ex-telstra, ex-mining industry, too many driver for the one vehicle, toomany k's for the vehicle & probably nit enough services for the vehicle.
You have just covered every Toyota dominated area (yea I know telstra uses Nissans......... for now but they aint for sale yet) Did you ever ask yourself why when a vehicle has to be thrashed to the extent no one else would buy it only one manafacturer is chosen????
FollowupID: 385788

Follow Up By: diesel dyke - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 12:05

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 12:05
Yeah. Actually the only cheap 4.2TD nissys I've seen are ex telstra ($30,000) but they have upwards of 150,000 kms, some 190,000 kms on the clock. Way too high for my liking.

Tahnks fro yuor resposnes fellas! ;)
FollowupID: 385828

Follow Up By: madCrow - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:29

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:29
Hi Davoe
Re: Did you ever ask yourself why when a vehicle has to be thrashed to the extent no one else would buy it only one manafacturer is chosen????
I don't say Toyas aren't good. I did say "Both were/are great vehicles., but I can tell you the Patrol a better value vehicle for the price, I even read a comment from a reviewer who said the toyato GXL was he thought a better vehicle, but NOT $12000 better."
And my comment "keep away from fleet, ex-gov, ex-telstra, ex-mining industry, too many drivers for the one vehicle, too many k's for the vehicle & probably not enough services for the vehicle" was an observation after having taken a test drive of an ex-mine Patrol from Broken Hill.
20 month old, with broken this & broken that, 140,000 k's on the clock with a service log that only went to 70,000 k's. It was cheap but it had no warrenty left for a 20 month old truck, & I wasn't going to play russian roullette with it as to whether it ran well or not!
This just a bewary of these type of vehicles, it wasn't aimed at one or the other.

madCrow

......(\,,,/)
......(0_0)
The sound of a truck backfiring makes him sit up straight!
FollowupID: 385864

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:50

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:50
fair enough. just some info for you on miners the main problem with them is that over here our groundwater is Hypersaline - meaning it is many times saltier than seawater (makes seawater appear drinkable) all roads are watered down with this water and the underside of your vehicle is coated 24/7 with mud created from this noxios stuff. As far as I have seen servicing usually isnt a problem as it falls under duty of care. Underground vehicles at some places are serviced every few weeks. we have a ute at work that has had 24000k yes twenty four thousand reciepted dollars spent on it in 12 months and it is currently minesite use only coz it needs more spent on it. Miners are often offloaded after 3 or so years and can have low km making them an attractive buy for dealers at auctions who can dolly them up and still make good cash - so yea dont buy them. Also i have worked many minesites but not one uses Nissans in the workfleet (have seen them as managers vehicles).
Also also you comented the ute you drove wouldnt have warranty left. If it was a miner it probably only had a 3 month warranty to start with - manafacturers arnt dumb enough to warrent miners for 2 years
FollowupID: 385871

Follow Up By: madCrow - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 18:33

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 18:33
Davoe
I should have said that the Patrol GU was a ST-L wagon with dual airbags & ABS, also when we started the truck in the show room it black fumed (smoked) out the place.
Anyway it's quality wasn't a 100% worry, it's low price helped when I negotiated the price for the GU ST TD6 I purchased from a better car dealer.

Davoe the 3 month warranty on utes does that also apply to mine wagons?

madCrow

......(\,,,/)
......(0_0)
The sound of a truck backfiring makes him sit up straight!
FollowupID: 385875

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 01:53

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 01:53
Dunno I only heard of it recently (you dont give a damn if a vehicle is in or out of warranty if it is for work) I might do some proper research on it . Ute at work first made mw ask it isnt that old and has had 24k spent on it in 12 months. When i asked if it was under warranty i was told they only had 3 month warranty.
FollowupID: 386392

Follow Up By: madCrow - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 02:05

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 02:05
Thanks Davoe
I've heard that 2nd hand vehicles have only a 3 month warrenty.
FollowupID: 386394

Reply By: Steve - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 08:24

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 08:24
in case it hasn't been mentioned before the 100 series has a live axle in the earlier 4.5 6cyl model.
AnswerID: 131464

Reply By: Coyote - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 10:46

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 10:46
Surley this argument will go on for days.. doesn't it really come down to horses for courses.. the cruiser ute 4b's are great for the workers etc cause the leaf springs are designed for varying weights blah blah.. the 100 series cruisers are good for on road and dirt tracks cause they are comfy, big and drive nice, and the Nissans are good for the hard grunt as they are built as a light truck and need less mods and are cheaper..
So what is it you want to do with your 4b? As someone above said.. You can't compare apples w oranges w pears etc.. they all have pros and cons.. isn't everyone sick of saying apples are better than oranges.. you want vitamin c or a crunchy taste.. you can't have both...
AnswerID: 131478

Follow Up By: diesel dyke - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 11:36

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 11:36
Thanks for those who have given considered responses. They've all been quite helpful.

Coyote mate, I honestly only wanted to get peoples opinions as I am trying to make up my own mind. I stated quite clearly that I wasn't trying to create an argument. Most of the responses were great.

You're right its horses for courses, but I haven't picked a horse yet and only wanted to know what other people have picked etc... if you or anyone else is sick of this topic, dont read it, but for people like me who are just asking a genuine question and want some helpful answers I cant see any other way to find out on a forum like this. As I said to start off with, I wasn't trying to cause trouble. Fair dinkum.

FollowupID: 385818

Reply By: Coyote - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 11:44

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 11:44
No worries DD.. Perhaps I came across a bit strong. I love the discussions like this. It is an excellent way to compare notes etc.. I am all for this kind of forum, but I guess I should have expresed being "sick of this argument" a little llighter it was only meant to be a light-hearted quip.. Goodon you for stepping past your ego and not pretending liek you know it all. No one does and we all need to be preapred to ask for help.
I am all for the addage: "Why learn from yourmistakes, when you can learn from someon elses instead... "
Cheers and good luck... it will be interesting to see what you get. Whatever it is I'm sure you'll have a blast..
AnswerID: 131493

Follow Up By: diesel dyke - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 11:51

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 11:51
Thanks mate. I haven't posted to this forum for ages.

I like the "bleep" function ;) that blocks out words like ...

I'm sacred bleep less of making my own mistakes again. I bought a hilux a few years ago for 17000 that was an absolute mistake. Cost me an extra 10000 to fix it up to a reliable state. So I guess I'm just trying to ask around. At the moment, a bog stock Nissy looks like a good buy, but thats my opinion...

Sorry to fire up b4.

FollowupID: 385823

Reply By: angler - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:19

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:19
I thought tojo changed manual gearboxes for a smaller one after about the 78 series.

My last tojo was a bit of a lemon, the previous ones were great. The HJ75 was the best they ever made. Mine had 285,000 on it as it drove out the gate and it's still going some ten years after that sad day. It would sure have some K's on by now.

My pick would be the patrol, they have the well deserved name of "bullet proof"
AnswerID: 131588

Follow Up By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 01:57

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 01:57
no doubt about it the newer 79s are real good but the difference btween them and earlier models is there are more lemons - rest are fine as long as you dont get a lemon
FollowupID: 386393