Injector cleaner...is it worth it
Submitted: Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:04
Patrick
My Patrol 3.0L T/D is coming up for its 40K service and I was thinking about running some injector cleaner through the fuel system. Is this something other more learned people would do to their vehicles and does it make any real differnce?
I used to do this to my Petrol Pathfinder but wondered whether it made any difference in my Patrol. What does everyone think?
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:16
Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:16
for 10 bucks or so what is the question???
Reply By: Graham56 - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:21
Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:21
If Nissan is doing your service they dump an addative in the
tank,
it is supposed to clean the lines and injectors, I can't say I noticed any
difference when they did
mine but it can't hurt.
Looking back through the receipts they have done it at every service.
Cheers Graham
Follow Up By: Patrick - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:25
Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:25
I gave Nissan servicing away a long time ago due to the huge costs and work being undertaken by apprentices. It now goes to a trained 4WD mechanic who knows his stuff.
Can;t say i have ever seen any additives on my invoice though.
Reply By: Rosco - Bris. - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:23
Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:23
Yep,
I'd agree with Davoe. I don't subscribe to a lot of the brahulla crap on offer, but do believe in the efficacy of fuel treatment every so often.
Follow Up By: Patrick - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:27
Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 19:27
Ah....so that was Davoe's saying, he lost me with his lenghty answer.
Reply By: ShnogDog - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 20:43
Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 20:43
I've only ever run PULP in my vehicle. I havent bothered about using a treatment at all. Premium is supposed to have additives that do all that all the time. So far, I havent had any reason to question it. Also found this article about 15,000km after I bought the vehicle, and can say that I would believe the results of this persons findings. Sorry, it doesnt necessarily answer your question but maybe it is food for thought. I believe that whilst the initial cost is greater by the litre, the advantages in fuel economy and lower emmisions etc has got to be better value. Just my personal opinion though.
Reply By: ShnogDog - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 20:45
Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 20:45
Geez... sorry mate, now that I have taken the trouble to actually read your post, my idea about PULP is pretty stupid. Dont know how your TD will go with PULP..sorry
Follow Up By: Longreach - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 13:12
Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 13:12
Just curious. Where do you get PULP when you go bush ? If you have only ever used PULP, you wouldn't be able to go very far from the big smoke would you ?
Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:01
Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:01
I've been able to get PULP at
Roma and
Charleville. I havent tried, but I believe I can also get it in
Longreach. With 180ltrs on board, I get close to 1500km range with my Prado and that gets me far enough from the big smoke. If I cant get PULP, then I just use regular. On the odd occasion I have a mate who travels with mi in his turbo diesel cruiser ute. He could carry more if I needed it, but so far hasnt been necessary.
Follow Up By: ShnogDog - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:34
Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:34
Even 1000-1200km past
Charleville or
Longreach is pretty far I'd think. BTW I live
Toowoomba, not a small place but not quite the big smoke either. I take it that for some reason you asume I live in the city?
Follow Up By: Longreach - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 08:28
Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 08:28
Sorry ShnogDog,
I didn't mean to offend or anything, and I didn't assume you lived in the city. Since you first said you only ever use PULP, I took it to mean you never use ULP. I appreciate that you can get PULP in major towns these days but it wasn't that long ago that it would be difficult to drive from Adeliade to
Darwin with a standard
tank and use PULP exclusively. Certainly you could get around that with a long range
tank. When I said go bush, I was thinking about the
Gibb River Road,
Cape York, the Simpson or similar where there are normally only 2 choices of fuel, diesel and ULP. Again, sorry if I offended, I guess my post was getting a bit off the question originally posted.
Reply By: Bootha - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 22:28
Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 22:28
G'day Patrick,
I use a product called Diesel power in my landcruiser 4.2. I was put onto it by a mate who has a small trucking company and he uses it all the time and reckons that is why his trucks have very few problems. He runs 4 semi's, 2 macks and 2 scanias. I don't think it really helps to improve fuel economy or anything but it does have additives that help to disperse any
water and kill any bacterea in the
tank as
well as clean out the system. I havenow done 150,000km in the cruiser and it still has no
sign of blowing smoke. You can get it in most servo's and for the price it lasts a long time as you only need to add about 20ml to a
tank of fuel which is much better value than most.
Hope this helps, Bootha.
Follow Up By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 22:54
Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 22:54
Hey Bootha, I used diesel power for years in my business great product proved it works but then I found FITCH????????
BILLS
Follow Up By: warthog - Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 22:59
Thursday, Sep 22, 2005 at 22:59
Is it just me or do others feel the urge to strangle this pelican?
Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 00:39
Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 00:39
ROTFLMAO....best laugh all day warthog....I owe you a beer mate.
Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 15:01
Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 15:01
Let's not feed the bloody troll
Reply By: Member - Davoe (Widgiemooltha) - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 01:21
Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 01:21
once again i am duty bound because Bill S doesnt put it on his moniker to tell everyone that he only spruiks Fitch because he sells it (ie he only says it works because he makes money from selling it to SUCKERS)
Follow Up By: Member - Ian W (NSW) - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 15:03
Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 15:03
Then someone else thread winds up being hijacked by his underhands advertising.
Follow Up By: Member - Bill S (NSW) - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 22:23
Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 22:23
This Is typical of the mentalaty of those uneducated personaltys out there and I feel it sad that they are so far behind findings of todays advancment in technology that I shall enter no further comment.UNTIL YOU ALL WAKE UP by by .
BILLS and thanks for your remarks be they so crude
Reply By: Fast_Patrol - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 16:21
Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 16:21
Now back to the original question - this is quite important.
I went to an information day run by
cooma diesel and denco diesel. Denco, who specialise in Nissan's strongly recommended that NO injector cleaner be used in any modern electronically controlled injection pump, especially the ZD30. The reason they gave was the cleaner can corrode quickly some of the plastic componentry found inside the pump and render it useless. That's all I know - I would suggest phoning them direct if you need more info.
Andrew O
Follow Up By: Patrick - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 20:32
Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 20:32
Thanks Andrew for your valued feedback. This is one of the reason I posted this question in the first place to obtain different opinions based on individual experiences. I will follow this up with Cooma/Denco for their comments.
Thanks.
Patrick
Follow Up By: spondo - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 01:53
Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 01:53
hey hey g'day
it does say on the container of these products (the ones i've seen anyways) add to a full
tank or 80 litres per little bottle then go for a run for at least a couple of hours and then, the punch line, change fuel filter(s) which would indicate they do have an adverse effect on the filter
Reply By: Bootha - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 23:01
Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 23:01
I am sorry that my comment caused such a fuss. I do not work for or sell this product. I genuinely do use it and as I said I don't think it does anything other than kill any bacteria in the tank and help to clean out any waxs or gums built up in the combustion chamber. If you think that todays technologies have prevented the bacteria growth in diesel then you need to think again. It is also a fact that the diesel sold here in Australia is not as good as in other countries and that is why for years most european manufacturers have not introduced their high performance diesel engines into this country. I also said it did nothing for fuel economy or power in my experience.
Again sorry that you fellas are such know it alls and so keen to take an honest reply down. Patrick asked a genuine question and I gave a genuine response given my personal experience. Again i do not work for or sell this stuff. I am obviously a little less mechanically minded than these other "gentlemen" but I have notappreciated the redicule given my genuine reply.
Follow Up By: warthog - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 00:23
Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 00:23
Bootha, the comments were in no way directed at you. Bill S is a regular spammer on this site who is a distributor for Fitch fuel catalysts. If you do a search on his posts you will read him continually using this
forum to plug his product. That is what is annoying people not your post, to which he was the first respondent with another of his spam replies.
Follow Up By: Bootha - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 07:54
Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 07:54
thanks for the follow up Warthog. I am new to this whole web site and it was a bit of a shock to get whatseemed at first to be an attack on my second reply. I can now see why all the users are a little tired of this fella. Thanks again, I had almost decided not to visit this
forum site again.
Regards Bootha.