Truckies blockading

Submitted: Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 14:39
ThreadID: 26705 Views:2071 Replies:7 FollowUps:21
Nice to see this happening today in Queensland, like I said a while ago, only way to make em listen is cause a problem, and blocking a highway is a start on it.

It worked in UK, Toni Blair reduced fuel excise, your turn soon Johnie boy!

Reply By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 16:11

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 16:11
Macksville is a long way south of Queensland!!
GU RULES!!

AnswerID: 131529

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 16:37

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 16:37
Geography never was my strong point! LOL

I only saw a brief clip about it, dont matter where it is, its the attention it gets. I support them fully.
FollowupID: 385856

Reply By: stevesub - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 16:25

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 16:25
I will be coming north up the Newell in about a weeks time and will be really p***d off if the highway is blocked and there is no quick detour.

Do the truckies block the sides of the road as well - if not, maybe I will try to 4wd the Troopy around them????? Mind you I would get no help if I got stuck and probably end up with a heap of truckies trashing the Troopy as I went past so I will proba bly have to be flexible with the route I take and leave the CB on Ch 40.

I know the price of fuel is high but we are all just going to have the wear the costs incl extra costs for freight. ie the truckies are just going to have to charge more for their services in the long term if they are to stay in business, the airlines are good at doing that right now with their fuel surcharges.

Stevesub
AnswerID: 131531

Follow Up By: Dave(NSW) - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 16:46

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 16:46
I doubt they will block the Newell. The one up north they were letting cars through but it was slow They were only stopping trucks as the large companys don"t want to pay for rate increases!!
GU RULES!!

FollowupID: 385857

Follow Up By: Ron173 - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 16:48

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 16:48
I'm going up North tomorrow, I'll get thru somehow, I dont think its a total block, theres other roads anyhow, and truckies know that too, they are doing it to cause enough interference to be noted, I support their cause.

Its time the govt took notice and backed down on the excise. That A@#hole Howard said if he takes a cent off it costs so many billion, well what about the so many billion extra hes gettin now from the extra gst hes getting!! Thats the real reason hes not interested in helping.

The govt needs x amount of revenue from fuel, fair enough,

that should equal a figure in $, what they then should do, is cap that, so like now when its going up like crazy they can say, ok we have our x$ from the fuel so we really dont need the extra billions were getting at mo on gst and cut it back, then if fuel drops if need be add it on then.

I dont care what anyone says, at present, the govt is passing us the vaseline jar and spreading our cheeks, if you disagree you must be a politician!

Up the truckies! More Blockades
FollowupID: 385858

Follow Up By: SteveL - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:33

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:33
The vast majority of owner/drivers are sub-contractors and have little say in the rates they are paid.There won't be any "long term" for many of them without a substantial rate rise in the very near future.
FollowupID: 385865

Reply By: Member - ALLAN P (QLD) - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:27

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:27
Trouble is the transport industry has no balls, The coppers said leave and they all went home.WERE IS THAT GOING TO GET THEM?
AnswerID: 131542

Reply By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:29

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:29
the govt need to get their tax's somehow...if not on petrol what would you suggest.....more excise on beer and wine? or what else ?????

dont like the tax then dont run a thirsty car...it hurts me too , but what otherway can they get thier moolah....theyll get it one way or another
AnswerID: 131543

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:45

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 17:45
"the govt need to get their tax's somehow"...yep, couldnt strut the world stage telling everyone else what to do without money. Couldnt support all the pollies without money (did I count 147 of em in the Lower House ?). Good blood suckers are expensive.
Couldnt splash our taxes around if we didnt pay em could they ?
FollowupID: 385869

Follow Up By: spondo - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 18:52

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 18:52
hey hey g'day

"the govt need to get their tax's somehow".... lol.... lets just ignore the $14 billion surplus just announced, only $4 billion more than expected.... gimme a break....

regards robs
FollowupID: 385878

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 18:58

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 18:58
Ahh come on Spondo, they gave most of it back....to selected electorates of course....and what about the cost of our defence forces o/s ? And the cost of replacing the furniture at Govt house? ...geez mate, give Lil John a break (break anything you like, no waiting lists for the rich :)
FollowupID: 385881

Follow Up By: spondo - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 19:02

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 19:02
hey hey g'day

you forgot the $ 4million to indonesia (again) to help with their bird flu prob's........... sheeeeesh......

regards (again) robs
FollowupID: 385883

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 19:07

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 19:07
Yeah but that ones a direct swap. $4 mil for 20 years :)))))
FollowupID: 385885

Follow Up By: GOB & denny vic member - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 19:12

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 19:12
i will say this quietly so the little A2537398sole doesnt hear me at least with the gst and other sh^^ taxes ( i hurt too as my truck is on the road every day ) at least he has not put a levy on to pay for the forces overseas effort

FollowupID: 385887

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:10

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:10
footloose and spondo,
we have to have tax to pay for wankers retirements and support over seas aid.....go into politics ,become a wanker and fix our economy........
obviously you can do a better job!
FollowupID: 385921

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:17

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:17
Nudie, when you go into politics you have to accep not only 200, 000 lurks and perks, but also two facts.

1. No matter how good or bad you are, sooner or later everyone will hate you.

2. The fact that people pay taxes gives them an opinion that is as valid as yours. Sometimes more so.

Wankers retirements ? Please expand that one.

FollowupID: 385926

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:27

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:27
could have sworn you were talking about our pollies salary and retirement packages that none of us ordinary voters like
FollowupID: 385931

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:29

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:29
Oh I see...geez how did I miss them ? They have a thing called super super super annuation or the politicians revenge :)
FollowupID: 385932

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:32

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:32
hey I'm thinking of running next year...so think about supporting me eh?...i want a bloody good income too while in retirement
FollowupID: 385934

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:37

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:37
Sure I'll support you but remember I'm a one man lobby group. You know the way it works, I support you, you get in and from there on in its the old backhander routine.

Seriously, I know a politician and despite whay I say, he's a nice, hard working guy. And even I dont believe I said that :))
FollowupID: 385937

Follow Up By: Nudenut - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:39

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:39
i must've drunk too much...did you realy say that
FollowupID: 385938

Follow Up By: Footloose - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:42

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:42
Crikey, I think I did. BUT what about the other 50, 000 of em ?
FollowupID: 385939

Follow Up By: spondo - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 01:05

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 01:05
hey hey g'day

you're right there nudie, my cooks tax's pays for this wankers retirement.... she pays her taxes every week and i get it back every week + more.... lol... gotta love the lucky country...

regards robs
FollowupID: 385965

Reply By: spondo - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 19:09

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 19:09
hey hey........ i love it......... lol

AnswerID: 131556

Reply By: Ron173 - Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:48

Friday, Sep 23, 2005 at 21:48
All Political no matter how you look at it!

Root smokers I dont smoke!

Legalise dope n root them dosey dopey bastards too! I dont take that s#$t either

But get off the fuel which is a basic family need to survive in this country!!

Its nothin to do with thirsty vehicles, it hits the single mum with the laser as much as well to do with his new crappy yota! it hits us all, I cant believe there are so many govt supporters here who are willing to just lie down and absorp this b*&lsh*t for gawd sake stand up and be counted!

As long as folks are saying, 'just accept it' oil co's and govt STATE AND FED are going, 'you beauty' bring it on.

If you guys cant see that..... I rest my case.

And still.....

Up the truckies..... more blockades...... real ones........ stop the country........ and force Howard to intervene, like the spineless git knows he can but wont!

AnswerID: 131594

Follow Up By: spondo - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 01:21

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 01:21
hey hey g'day

wow...... seems to be a lot of rootin' goin' on there..... but on a more serious note i dont think any one is prepared to accept it...... by the way i smoke and its my choice and with all due respect root .... nah i wont be like that but i can afford to whack $150 of diesel in my u beaut 4by, and fill the cooks car as well, each and every week no matter what the price per litre so all i can say is root you...... bugga i said it and i was trying so hard to be a better person..... double bugga....

regards robs
FollowupID: 385966

Follow Up By: spondo - Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 01:25

Saturday, Sep 24, 2005 at 01:25
hey hey again

by the way i got a nissan

FollowupID: 385969

Reply By: Member - Bradley- Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 10:55

Sunday, Sep 25, 2005 at 10:55
yeah saw a bit of buisness sunday this morning where they were talking about the fuel costs, apart from the govt digging in, the refineries have just tripled their margins in the space of 2 weeks, and the accc only informally observes/monitors them.

Oh well, you cant expect the pollies to bite the hand that feeds their political donation fest.
AnswerID: 131700