Submitted: Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 12:03
Haza
I'm looking into purchasing a heat exchanger for
camping mainly weekends away though will be planning a trip around Aus later next year. I've come across 4 types The Twine, Glind, Helton and Glinds Little ripper.
At the moment I'm looking at the Helton and Glinds little ripper.
Wondering if on my travels up north if I'd be showering using saltwater and if either of these would cope. Also is the Little rippers flow rate satisfactory for a good scrub down.
Any further advice/feedback would be grateful.
Reply By: signman - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 12:15
Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 12:15
Ì suggest you check out what the heat exchangers are made from. Metal/copper/plastic etc. I think the pumps and plumbing would all be reasonably common. I'm not an authority on mobile showers, I don't have one but have seen some pretty shonky ones at 4WD shows etc.
Reply By: Member - Paul P (Bris) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 12:25
Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 12:25
G'day
I have a Glind. Works fine. The bigger pump allows for drawing
water good distances and up a decent slope. The Glind is isolated from the vehicles cooling system via a tap. IE unless the tap is turned on engine coolant does not flow through the Glind heat exchanger.
See the Glind web site if you have not already.
Reply By: Coyote - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 13:49
Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 13:49
If I may be so bold as to jump on this "bandwagon" to and ask my own question??
Is there a way to regulate the heat with these heat exchange showers? I don't have one but am interested but I haven't looked into how they actually work.. To my naive way of thinking I assue that if the engine is running hot then the
water may in fact be too hot to shower under?? or am I really showing how little I actually know by saying that.. Any advice?
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:07
Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:07
They are generally inefficient, worse for diesels, average is about 3-4 litres through the showerhead at around 40deg. Lot depends on operating temp of the engine, flow through the heatexchange, flow of the engines waterpump, incoming
water temp and windchill factor and engine revs to get the coolant circulating. Lots to consider. Michael
Follow Up By: Michael ( Moss Vale NSW) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:11
Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:11
Wind chill factor meaning the change in temperature from the showerhead to you with no showertent, Shower tent in cold climates makes a huge difference..
Follow Up By: Crackles - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 21:55
Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 21:55
Coyote. there are several ways to vary the temp depending on the flow rate of the pump & shower head.
1. You can restrict the flow with a tap to increase the temp.
2. Idle the motor up to about 1200 revs (diesel).
3. If drawing
water from a very cold
creek you can recirculate the warm
water back into a bucket until its hot enough. This can be done to heat
water up for doing the dishes.
4. Some petrol motors run hot so the temp needs to be reduced by closing the car heater down a little.
Cheers Craig..........
Reply By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 20:14
Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 20:14
Haza,
Have you thought of the coleman gas hot
water system, seems much better option for temp regulation in shower mode and other uses when
camping, washing up ect. I personally have a glind but that's cause it is 8 years old an no other options were readily available back then, but it still works fine so why replace it. I have not put salt
water through
mine, but I would think this would not be the best idea if you plan to keep it for any lenght of time (just my unqualified opinion). The manual throttle on my GU works a treat for adjusting flow of hot
water through heat exchanger to regulate
water temp, but on a petrol pajero I had years ago I did have great trouble with
water sometimes being too hot.
Cheers Trevor.
Follow Up By: Haza - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 21:01
Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 21:01
Thanks for the replies,
Yeah I've looked into the Coleman and Primus Gas systems. Still a option but like the idea of having the heat exchanger for a couple of reasons, one being space saving and another was I could never forget it and leave it at home. Unlike I did with my swag but thats another story.
Do you find that the temperture of the glind can get hot enough to wash dishes etc?.
My vechicle is a diesel with the manual throttle so thats a plus. Thanks Trev.
Follow Up By: Member - Trevor R (QLD) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:37
Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:37
Haza,
You can defineately get the
water hot enough for washing dishes by recylcling the
water out of the pump back into the
water in side of the pump for another run through the exchanger. This can be done numerous times until the
water is too hot to touch.
I know what you mean regarding forgetfulness, I went
camping 2 weeks ago and forgot my clothes and matches :-)))
Cheers Trevor.
Reply By: mattie - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 20:54
Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 20:54
Haza
i have a glind shower unit and am very happy with it. If
water is scarce we heat a enough
water as soon as we pull up a bit hotter than we would like (about 5mins to heat 20 litres) while the car is still hot. This way u can turn the shower rose on and off to minimise
water use and still mantain a constant temp. Where as if u are showering with the car running if u turn the shower rose off the next lot of
water to come through out of the heat exchanger will be nearly boiling!!! To answer the other question there is a flow control on the shower rose so if the
water coming through is to cold u slow the flow, if it is to hot u speed the flow. The chap at glind is quite helpful and will tell u how to set it up etc.
Mattie
Reply By: Tony F - Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 20:57
Friday, Sep 30, 2005 at 20:57
G'Day
the problem is not with the heat exchange running salt
water, but the pump is only designed for fresh
water use. Why you would think of showering in salt has got me beat but each to their own, you will not run out of hot
water with any of the commercial h/w systems. We run tags to the Cape and Gulf for up to 12 to 14 people and have not had a problem in 5 years of using a commercial system . Some just take a little more working out.
Happy
Camping