sidesteps anyone?

Submitted: Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:41
ThreadID: 26768 Views:2751 Replies:11 FollowUps:31
My sidestep now looks like a crinkle cut oven chip after the weekend just gone.

I can probably straighten it up a bit to be more functional, but still ugly. The boss isn't very happy, despite my assurance that she'll be the envy of all her friends when dropping the kids off at kindergarten. lol.

With $500+ new at Toyota, won't get done that way.

Does anyone know cheap 2nd hand 90 series Prado parts in Melbourne, wreckers included? Or aftermarket gear?

Or, does someone know someone who has 90 series bits for sale even?

Tone

Reply By: Member - Marquis - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:52

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 14:52
Make your own or get some built.
AnswerID: 131837

Follow Up By: sudsy - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 19:34

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 19:34
Check out the for sales on all the other forums:
Overlander
4WD Monthly
Outer Limits
etc
they always have 2nd side steps for sale for all sorts of makes
Trading post has a few too
FollowupID: 386215

Reply By: Exploder - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:05

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:05
I would go for some solid after market ones. I have got a set of the chromed steel round bar style on mine and they are fairly strong.

I have driven over a drop off and landed on a big rock that was sticking out on the left side, and the hole left side of the car’s weight smacked down onto the round bar and all it did was put a little dent on the bottom and some scratches where it slid off the rock.
AnswerID: 131843

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:03

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:03
How easy it is to be convinced to do a job properly... now I'm looking at whats available in steel.. I'm not going to be popular!! lol.
FollowupID: 386272

Reply By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:11

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:11
Thanks for responses fo far, but driver here is for CHEAP options. I know I can spend money and fix it.
AnswerID: 131845

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 22:38

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 22:38
there are no real "CHEAP" options.

Go for some sliders and rid yourself of the alloy sidesteps, you will straighten them, they will be weakened and bend easier.
FollowupID: 386252

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:58

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:58
Cheap = reason to keep the left one from castration. :-(
FollowupID: 386270

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 10:11

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 10:11
cheap will fail again and cost you again and again and again....
FollowupID: 386283

Reply By: Wombat - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:18

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:18
Can you take it off and place it on the ground between two pieces of timber of the same thickness then drive over it to straighten it out?
AnswerID: 131847

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:24

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:24
I hope you're not joking, cause that sounds like a fine idea to help straighten it up!!
FollowupID: 386182

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:38

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:38
I was just trying to imagine whate your options are Tone and the thought came to mind. I suppose a tidier alternative could be to take it to an alloy workshop and have them fix it. When we hit a 'roo I had the alloy bullbar repaired and it is better than new.
FollowupID: 386184

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:58

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:58
I'll check with a workshop, see what they have to say. Using the two boards sounds pretty good though. Glad you weren't taking the piss! B-in-law is a fitter & turner too, he can work wonders with anything metal.
FollowupID: 386189

Follow Up By: Wombat - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 16:03

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 16:03
Me - take the piss . . . . never!
FollowupID: 386191

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 16:08

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 16:08
LMAO...
FollowupID: 386193

Follow Up By: gramps - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 21:58

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 21:58
Hey Wombat,

What happened to your rig pic or did I miss something?
FollowupID: 386246

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 19:15

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 19:15
I took mine off, lay it against 2 trees, dug a small hole between and used a timber bar in it as a lever to bend it back into shape. Managed to get it pretty straight too. You may have some pains getting all the bolts back in though when you put it back on if you straighten it too well.... me being a lazy bastard I just used a drill and elongated the holes.
FollowupID: 386346

Reply By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:24

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:24
I would check on Prado forums for second hand ones

http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/90scool_aus/
or
http://autos.groups.yahoo.com/group/90series

Also Darren McRae does excellent steel side steps for the Prado.
There is a pic about 3/4 down the page of the side step being put on :)
http://www.lcool.org/trips/Easter05/buckland_valley.htm
AnswerID: 131849

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:51

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:51
Yeah, I was going to ask on the 90series list, but was waiting to see broader ideas on here first. Redundant otherwise.

If mine was as straight as the alloy one they are replacing in the photo, I would be too worried. lol
FollowupID: 386185

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:56

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:56
Which side are you after?

Right hand side available here:
http://www.geocities.com/prado_95/forsale/forsale.html
FollowupID: 386187

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:58

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 15:58
LHS...
FollowupID: 386190

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 16:03

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 16:03
Thanks Stan... Looking through those for sale lists now. I scrolled through them and came across the one you just mentioned; went yipeeeenaaaahsh1t. Melbourne too.
FollowupID: 386192

Reply By: Scubaroo - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 16:59

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 16:59
Try eBay for sidesteps - a lot of people pull them off their vehicles for a bit of extra clearance under the sills and don't bother replacing them.
AnswerID: 131861

Follow Up By: Mad Dog (Australia) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 19:51

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 19:51
I was one of those you refer to. Bent one on the old rodeo pulled it off and chucked it behind the shed with no intention of replacing it. Wasn't lucky enough to bend the other so it was still on when sold.
FollowupID: 386218

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:04

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 09:04
Yeah, tried ebay yesterday, wasn't much there. Will be keeping an eye out. Trading post online too, but that give me the craps cause of the million popup ads every mouse click.
FollowupID: 386273

Reply By: Member - Norm C (QLD) - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 18:45

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 18:45
Tonester, get steel ones. If you get alloy, you will just bend them again.
Bent the alloy steps on my new Hilux on my first off road trip. Put super strong steel ones on and have hit them a couple of times. Other than a couple of marks in the paint, no damage.
AnswerID: 131873

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:52

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:52
I can see where this will go for me.. Telling the missus, don't worry, just sidesteps, I'll bend em back (just to get out of the sh1t of course). Now, thinking I should fix them properly with steel. The money tree out back hasn't bloomed for spring though.
FollowupID: 386268

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 10:16

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 10:16
AFAIK Darren's slider go up in price from 1/10/05 cause price of steel gone up. (hint, hint :) )
FollowupID: 386284

Follow Up By: Truckster (Vic) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 19:56

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 19:56
Hey tone, if darrens steel is going up, have a word to andrew you met at the meeting, his price wont be :)
FollowupID: 386351

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 09:04

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 09:04
Darrens price appears good, and craps over the factory alloys. Will check with Andrew also, but neither would compare with $50 like the RHS alloy one in the 90series for sale site. Crystal ball would be handy, as I don't plan on often going places that imply damage, but sh1t does happen doesn't it.
FollowupID: 386409

Follow Up By: Member - Stan (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 15:53

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 15:53
Yuo might be in luck
$100 a pair on ebay
LINK
FollowupID: 386440

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:52

Thursday, Sep 29, 2005 at 08:52
Cool, thanks Stan. I look Mon, Tue, but not yesterday and it then appears. lol They're the same as mine current. The $120 ones from Lane Toyota are new and very suitable but are the generic version, had a look at them last night.
FollowupID: 386551

Reply By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 23:12

Monday, Sep 26, 2005 at 23:12

Sorry, but I seem to be missing something here. Why buy a 4WD 'off-road capable' vehicle - one that you actually intend to use on rough bush tracks, etc. - then degrade it's capabilities with side steps??

Husbands, wives, and even small kids, can actually get into and out of quite tall vehicles with practice. And if they (or you) don't wish to learn how - go buy a Falcon...
AnswerID: 131922

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:55

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 08:55
Forget the other climbing in, I like them cause they line up exactly with the lowest point on (I think) the transfer. I can visually see where the bottom of the underbody is.
FollowupID: 386269

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 19:18

Tuesday, Sep 27, 2005 at 19:18
Ian... you havent bogged your car in any mud holes, have you?
Try climbing out your window without using your sidesteps. You might want to wear a cricketers box as a precaution.
FollowupID: 386347

Follow Up By: Ian from Thermoguard Instruments - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 08:53

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 08:53
Tonester/Ben,

I have a Land Rover: All it's important bits are tucked up above chassis rail level. And it doesn't get bogged...

OK, ok, calm down - I'm just taking the pi55!

But I still question of the wisdom of taking a vehicle with a certain level of capability and adding expensive slabs of metal which can only increase the likelyhood of it getting hung up in rough ground or mud. Ben, even considered that without those two 'catamaran hulls', you might have gotten throught the mud hole first go?
FollowupID: 386406

Follow Up By: BenSpoon - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 10:09

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 10:09
Considered? no. I put it down to the fact I had pushed up piles of sloppy mud over the height of the wheels infront of each wheel, and then I got water in the dizzy and she stopped dead. I hadnt seen rain for 9 months prior, so I reckon I had an excuse.

I have sure seen some ridiculous sidesteps that lose you 2-3 inches clearance- generally the fat ali chequerplate ones, but for some reason it only seems to be nissan drivers that actually pay for that crap.
With modern technology (I know you have a landrover so I'll go slow for you on this one), believe it or not they can cut and bend steel so you actually get "what you want" not "what you are given" like most of the pommie tractors on the streets.

I know I'd rather bash up piece of sturdy steel than a sill which will kill any resale value or alternatively run away with your wallet to a panel beaters.
FollowupID: 386414

Reply By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 00:18

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 00:18
Tell the handbrake that you are putting the steel ones on to prevent seriously expensive sill and panel damage in future...

SO the money you WANT to spend now is to save many thousands of dollars that you would otherwise NEED to spend later, possibly enabling her to have a holiday next year rather than just repairing the truck.

Mine have saved me heaps of dough on damage that would have been done otherwise.

I fitted my steps the week I bought the ute. Just ordered them without permission though. I never tell the wife when I've ordered it, what I fit, or what it cost and she doesn't ask. It's a good arrangement and it's saved a lot of arguments.

Of course if castration is the issue you must be like the cat with nine lives. If you are happy to continue bending ally ones you must have a lot of balls...if she's gonna take one off each time you'll need them.

AnswerID: 132096

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 08:50

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 08:50
All meant a little more toungue in cheek than you would think
FollowupID: 386405

Follow Up By: geocacher (djcache) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 13:52

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 13:52
Phew, cos cutting them out with the jagged edge of a bent Prado sidestep wasn't going to tickle.

FollowupID: 386436

Reply By: toyota - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 09:24

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 09:24
got a set you can have $120- send me an email if interested
AnswerID: 132131

Follow Up By: Member - Tonester (VIC) - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 10:05

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 10:05
Thanks Steve, I'll get down to have a squiz at them sometime soon.
FollowupID: 386413

Reply By: toyota - Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 09:24

Wednesday, Sep 28, 2005 at 09:24
sorry stevet@lanetoyota.com.au
AnswerID: 132132